Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Lockhart Elem

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 262 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
72/1002025-26
Change
−16 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−5.6 ptsvs 77.6 average · 2,302 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,638 of 2,302tied with 43 others
C72

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 87 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.6 average for 2,302 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
47%vs 44.3% avg · +2.7 pts
Masters
23%vs 17.6% avg · +5.4 pts

Among 2,132 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Lockhart Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 72 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.6 average for 2,302 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 16 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,638th of 2,302 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 43 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageLockhart Elem 8867828472 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 87 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7277.6 2,302 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8477.2 2,283 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8273.9 2,265 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6773.5 2,255 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8881.8 2,228 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement64 D−6.5 vs similar economic context · 2,133 reporting
  • School Progress71 C−7.8 vs similar economic context · 2,128 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps73 C−1.9 vs similar economic context · 2,112 reporting
  • Academic Growth71 C−2.0 vs similar economic context · 2,093 reporting
  • Relative Performance70 C−6.8 vs similar economic context · 2,127 reporting
  • Lockhart Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,302 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement64D6
School Progress71C9
Closing the Gaps73C7
Academic Growth71C9
Relative Performance70C10

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 7 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (71), so Student Achievement (64) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 71.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level62%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,133 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,133 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,133 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,132 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,132 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,132 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level56%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,124 reporting
  • Meets grade level30%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,124 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,124 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level48%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,003 reporting
  • Meets grade level11%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,003 reporting
  • Masters grade level0%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,003 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,302 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
262
Economically disadvantaged
90.7%+0.5 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
2.3%−37.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
19.5%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
91.1%−1.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
32.5%+9.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Lockhart Elem

African American: 91.4%Hispanic: 7.4%White: 0.8%Two or More Races: 0.4%
  • African American 91.4%
  • Hispanic 7.4%
  • White 0.8%
  • Two or More Races 0.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,302 reporting for every category shown · 2,302 in full cohort

African American: 14.8%Hispanic: 75.8%White: 6.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.7%
  • African American 14.8%
  • Hispanic 75.8%
  • White 6.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
257
Economically disadvantaged students
233
Emergent bilingual students
6
Special education students
50

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
63
Students in TEA mobility denominator
243
TEA-published mobility rate
25.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 262 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 44 (14.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
262

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−44

Decrease · −14.4%

Change since 2021–22
−146

Decrease · −35.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
262
Selected comparison
576.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,279 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Lockhart Elem
School yearStudents enrolledLockhart ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 408 First available year 621.7
2022–23 379 Decrease of 29 (7.1%) 617.8
2023–24 338 Decrease of 41 (10.8%) 608.2
2024–25 306 Decrease of 32 (9.5%) 601.8
2025–26 262 Decrease of 44 (14.4%) 576.9

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
10

2.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
23

6.74 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
341

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
2.9%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,417 rated schools reporting

−10.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
6.74
Selected comparison
31.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,527 rated schools reporting

−24.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Lockhart Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 509 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 436 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 425 15 3.5% 18 4.24 13.6% 33.4
2023–24 399 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 341 10 2.9% 23 6.74 13.2% 31.6
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Lockhart Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 10 2.9% 23 6.74 13.2% 31.6
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 10 2.9% 20 5.87 9.3% 15.2
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Lockhart Elem
  • Parent district: Houston ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$14,933
Selected comparison
$13,186

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,281 rated schools reporting

+$1,748 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $14,933 per student for this campus, $17,026 per student for its parent district, Houston ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearLockhart ElemParent district: Houston ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,075$14,470$13,054$8,307 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,172 rated schools reporting
2019$6,801$13,643$13,108$8,319 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,201 rated schools reporting
2020$7,037$13,627$14,058$8,822 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,207 rated schools reporting
2021$7,800$13,515$14,797$9,630 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,211 rated schools reporting
2022$10,112$14,985$15,708$11,169 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,228 rated schools reporting
2023$10,786$16,350$16,792$11,699 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,254 rated schools reporting
2024$19,369$18,150$18,125$12,581 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,268 rated schools reporting
2025$14,933$17,026$18,972$13,186 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,281 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$74,513+$6,359 vs similar economic context
Teachers
21−19.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.2−2.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Lockhart Elem

Beginning: 4.8%1 to 5 years: 33.3%6 to 10 years: 14.3%11 to 20 years: 38.1%21 to 30 years: 9.5%
  • Beginning 4.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 33.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 14.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 38.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 9.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,302 reporting for every category shown · 2,302 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.2%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Lockhart Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classLockhart Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten18.818.1
Grade 120.318.3
Grade 219.218.3
Grade 313.718.5
Grade 414.218.5
Grade 516.119.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101912195.