Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Laurenzo Early Childhood Ctr

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 244 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
85/1002025-26
Change
−13 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+7.4 ptsvs 77.6 average · 2,037 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
535 of 2,037tied with 75 others
B85

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 95 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.6 average for 2,037 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 16 points

69 to 85 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 85 is 7.4 points above the 77.6 average among 2,037 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Laurenzo Early Childhood Ctr is rated B by TEA, scoring 85 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.6 average for 2,037 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 13 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 535th of 2,037 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 75 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Who this school serves
  5. Student counts behind the percentages
  6. Enrollment over time
  7. Discipline and removal from class
  8. Spending per student
  9. Teachers and actual class size
  10. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageLaurenzo Early Childhood Ctr 9875716985 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 95 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8577.6 2,037 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6977.3 2,019 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7173.8 2,001 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7573.3 1,995 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9881.9 1,970 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 70.2 · 1,889 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 78.8 · 1,886 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 74.9 · 1,875 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 73.1 · 1,859 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 76.7 · 1,885 reporting
  • Laurenzo Early Childhood Ctr
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,037 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
244
Economically disadvantaged
93.0%+1.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
50.4%+9.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
6.6%−11.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
—
Chronically absent
—

Student demographics

Laurenzo Early Childhood Ctr

African American: 5.7%Hispanic: 93%White: 0.8%Asian: 0.4%
  • African American 5.7%
  • Hispanic 93%
  • White 0.8%
  • Asian 0.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,037 reporting for every category shown · 2,037 in full cohort

African American: 15%Hispanic: 76.5%White: 5.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 15%
  • Hispanic 76.5%
  • White 5.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
244
Economically disadvantaged students
227
Emergent bilingual students
123
Special education students
16

TEA context labels

  • Highest grade is early education, pre-K or kindergarten

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
Not reported
Students in TEA mobility denominator
Not reported
TEA-published mobility rate
Not reported

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 244 students in 2025–26, an increase of 4 (1.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
244

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+4

Increase · +1.7%

Change since 2021–22
+57

Increase · +30.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
244
Selected comparison
569.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,016 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Laurenzo Early Childhood Ctr
School yearStudents enrolledLaurenzo Early Childhood CtrChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 187 First available year 615.1
2022–23 207 Increase of 20 (10.7%) 611.2
2023–24 229 Increase of 22 (10.6%) 601.3
2024–25 240 Increase of 11 (4.8%) 594.7
2025–26 244 Increase of 4 (1.7%) 569.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
247

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Laurenzo Early Childhood Ctr
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 208 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 194 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 219 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 237 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 247 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Laurenzo Early Childhood Ctr in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Laurenzo Early Childhood Ctr
  • Parent district: Houston ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$12,056
Selected comparison
$13,181

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,017 rated schools reporting

−$1,125 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $12,056 per student for this campus, $17,026 per student for its parent district, Houston ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearLaurenzo Early Childhood CtrParent district: Houston ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,149$14,470$13,054$8,326 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,922 rated schools reporting
2019$6,832$13,643$13,108$8,344 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,947 rated schools reporting
2020$7,612$13,627$14,058$8,841 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,951 rated schools reporting
2021$10,994$13,515$14,797$9,658 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,953 rated schools reporting
2022$10,258$14,985$15,708$11,246 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,970 rated schools reporting
2023$11,726$16,350$16,792$11,772 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,994 rated schools reporting
2024$10,262$18,150$18,125$12,646 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,004 rated schools reporting
2025$12,056$17,026$18,972$13,181 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,017 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$54,228−$14,117 vs similar economic context
Teachers
12−28.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
20.7+6.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Laurenzo Early Childhood Ctr

Beginning: 15.3%6 to 10 years: 33.9%11 to 20 years: 16.9%21 to 30 years: 33.9%
  • Beginning 15.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 33.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 16.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 33.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,037 reporting for every category shown · 2,037 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 14.8%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.8%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Laurenzo Early Childhood Ctr in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classLaurenzo Early Childhood Ctr · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten718

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 1 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101912357.