Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Karen Wagner HS

Bexar County · Region 20: San Antonio · 2,210 students

Current score
71/1002025-26
Change
+6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−7.2 ptsvs 78.2 average · 2,089 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,577 of 2,089tied with 37 others
C71

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 74 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 78.2 average for 2,089 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

No academic result met this site’s published threshold for a selected positive signal against Similar economic-disadvantage rate.

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Karen Wagner HS is rated C by TEA, scoring 71 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 78.2 average for 2,089 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,577th of 2,089 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 37 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageKaren Wagner HS 6569787671 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 74 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7178.2 2,089 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7677.8 2,078 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7875.5 2,066 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6976.0 2,043 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6581.8 2,025 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement70 C−3.8 vs similar economic context · 1,936 reporting
  • School Progress78 C−1.4 vs similar economic context · 1,931 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps56 F−19.5 vs similar economic context · 1,917 reporting
  • Academic Growth62 D−10.6 vs similar economic context · 1,877 reporting
  • Relative Performance78 C+0.2 vs similar economic context · 1,931 reporting
  • Karen Wagner HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,089 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement70C10
School Progress78C2
Closing the Gaps56F4
Academic Growth62D8
Relative Performance78C2

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 2 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (78), so Student Achievement (70) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 78.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level71%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level59%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,926 reporting
  • Meets grade level25%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,926 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,926 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,782 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,782 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,782 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level92%+23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 816 reporting
  • Meets grade level65%+24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 816 reporting
  • Masters grade level31%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 816 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,089 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
83.9%−9.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 355 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
82.3%−11.1 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 355 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
82.8%−9.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 354 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
4.3%+3.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
77.0%−9.0 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria77.0%86.0%−9.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 395 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course58.9%58.5%+0.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA22.2%25.2%−3.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)15.1%11.7%+3.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course8.5%31.8%−23.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification14.9%36.9%−22.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate1.2%2.5%−1.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%7.5%−7.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit2.3%4.9%−2.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness5.8%3.3%+2.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student11.2%8.3%+2.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces6.6%2.9%+3.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
495

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
213

43.0% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
266

53.7% of graduates

Not trackable
16

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
495
Selected comparison
261.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 339 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
213
Selected comparison
109.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 339 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
43.0%
Selected comparison
41.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 339 rated schools reporting

+1.3 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
53.7%
Selected comparison
52.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 339 rated schools reporting

+1.4 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
3.2%
Selected comparison
6.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 339 rated schools reporting

−2.8 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. ALAMO CCD ST. PHILIPS COLLEGE (003608)50
  2. ALAMO CCD NE LAKEVIEW COLLEGE (000309)47
  3. ALAMO CCD SAN ANTONIO COLLEGE (009163)39

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
2,210
Economically disadvantaged
76.2%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
14.2%−11.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.6%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
90.2%−3.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
36.6%+17.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Karen Wagner HS

African American: 26%Hispanic: 61.7%White: 7.2%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 2.1%Pacific Islander: 0.3%Two or More Races: 2.7%
  • African American 26%
  • Hispanic 61.7%
  • White 7.2%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 2.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 2.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,089 reporting for every category shown · 2,089 in full cohort

African American: 13.4%Hispanic: 63.4%White: 17.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.8%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3%
  • African American 13.4%
  • Hispanic 63.4%
  • White 17.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
2,206
Economically disadvantaged students
1,682
Emergent bilingual students
313
Special education students
410

Early college pathways

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
205

TEA-published share: 9.3%

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
629
Students in TEA mobility denominator
2,759
TEA-published mobility rate
22.8%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 2,210 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 213 (8.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
2,210

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−213

Decrease · −8.8%

Change since 2021–22
+3

Increase · +0.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
2,210
Selected comparison
636.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,062 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Karen Wagner HS
School yearStudents enrolledKaren Wagner HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 2,207 First available year 654.1
2022–23 2,366 Increase of 159 (7.2%) 657.3
2023–24 2,224 Decrease of 142 (6.0%) 654.5
2024–25 2,423 Increase of 199 (8.9%) 652.3
2025–26 2,210 Decrease of 213 (8.8%) 636.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
656

24.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
1,927

71.11 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
2,710

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
24.2%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,566 rated schools reporting

+11.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
71.11
Selected comparison
31.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,672 rated schools reporting

+39.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Karen Wagner HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 2,577 149 5.8% 259 10.05 9.0% 17.9
2021–22 2,725 526 19.3% 1,000 36.70 12.9% 30.8
2022–23 2,681 577 21.5% 1,338 49.91 13.6% 33.4
2023–24 2,715 556 20.5% 1,425 52.49 13.5% 33.2
2024–25 2,710 656 24.2% 1,927 71.11 13.2% 31.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Karen Wagner HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 656 24.2% 1,927 71.11 13.2% 31.8
In-school suspensions 471 17.4% 927 34.21 11.6% 23.3
Out-of-school suspensions 454 16.8% 816 30.11 7.9% 12.3
DAEP placements 159 5.9% 177 6.53 5.3% 6.4
Mandatory DAEP placements 146 5.4% 160 5.90 3.8% 4.4
Discretionary DAEP placements 16 0.6% 17 0.63 3.2% 3.7
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$14k$21k20182020202220242025
  • Karen Wagner HS
  • Parent district: Judson ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,540
Selected comparison
$13,053

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 rated schools reporting

−$2,513 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,540 per student for this campus, $20,187 per student for its parent district, Judson ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearKaren Wagner HSParent district: Judson ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,572$14,148$13,054$8,041 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,959 rated schools reporting
2019$7,958$14,361$13,108$8,199 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,978 rated schools reporting
2020$8,029$13,321$14,058$8,738 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,996 rated schools reporting
2021$7,218$12,723$14,797$9,312 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,008 rated schools reporting
2022$9,223$13,121$15,708$10,608 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,025 rated schools reporting
2023$12,163$13,432$16,792$11,253 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,043 rated schools reporting
2024$13,809$19,194$18,125$12,278 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,064 rated schools reporting
2025$10,540$20,187$18,972$13,053 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$68,840+$2,092 vs similar economic context
Teachers
148+105.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.9+0.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Karen Wagner HS

Beginning: 4%1 to 5 years: 36.9%6 to 10 years: 23.5%11 to 20 years: 23.5%21 to 30 years: 9.4%Over 30 years: 2.7%
  • Beginning 4%
  • 1 to 5 years 36.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 23.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 9.4%
  • Over 30 years 2.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,089 reporting for every category shown · 2,089 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.8%1 to 5 years: 27.5%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15.2%Over 30 years: 3.7%
  • Beginning 6.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.2%
  • Over 30 years 3.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Karen Wagner HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classKaren Wagner HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English16.415.4
Secondary languages other than English27.818.1
Secondary math18.116.4
Secondary science19.117.7
Secondary social studies16.417.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 2of 65

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Bexar County · of the 65 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 6of 65

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Bexar County · of the 65 that report this measure

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

1 measure

  • 23of 458

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Similar size · of the 458 that report this measure · tied with 2

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 015916008.