Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

John Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes

Dallas County · Region 10: Richardson · 295 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
83/1002025-26
Change
+17 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+5.2 ptsvs 77.8 average · 1,200 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
421 of 1,200tied with 35 others
B83

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 67 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.8 average for 1,200 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 7 points

76 to 83 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 83 is 5.2 points above the 77.8 average among 1,200 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 14 points

68 to 82 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 82 is 6.7 points above the 75.3 average among 1,104 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

School Progress above the similar-context average

83 +4.1 pts vs 78.9

  • 83 is 4.1 points above the 78.9 average among 1,111 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

John Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes is rated B by TEA, scoring 83 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.8 average for 1,200 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 17 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 421st of 1,200 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 35 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageJohn Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes 6675837683 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 67 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8377.8 1,200 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7677.4 1,186 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8373.7 1,174 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7572.6 1,172 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6681.8 1,162 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement67 D−2.8 vs similar economic context · 1,112 reporting
  • School Progress83 B+4.1 vs similar economic context · 1,111 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps82 B+6.7 vs similar economic context · 1,104 reporting
  • Academic Growth83 B+9.3 vs similar economic context · 1,096 reporting
  • Relative Performance80 B+3.4 vs similar economic context · 1,110 reporting
  • John Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,200 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement67D3
School Progress83B7
Closing the Gaps82B8
Academic Growth83B7
Relative Performance80B10

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 7 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (83), so Student Achievement (67) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 83.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level63%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
  • Meets grade level33%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level68%±0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,111 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,111 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,111 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level61%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,058 reporting
  • Meets grade level22%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,058 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,058 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level48%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 328 reporting
  • Meets grade level17%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 328 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 328 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,200 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
295
Economically disadvantaged
100.0%+5.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
44.4%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.2%−2.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.8%+0.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
20.5%−3.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

John Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes

African American: 42%Hispanic: 54.2%White: 1.7%American Indian: 0.7%Two or More Races: 1.4%
  • African American 42%
  • Hispanic 54.2%
  • White 1.7%
  • American Indian 0.7%
  • Two or More Races 1.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,200 reporting for every category shown · 1,200 in full cohort

African American: 15.5%Hispanic: 77.8%White: 4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.1%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • African American 15.5%
  • Hispanic 77.8%
  • White 4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
295
Economically disadvantaged students
295
Emergent bilingual students
131
Special education students
42

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
132
Students in TEA mobility denominator
417
TEA-published mobility rate
31.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 295 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 29 (9.0%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
295

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−29

Decrease · −9.0%

Change since 2021–22
−306

Decrease · −50.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
295
Selected comparison
539.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,186 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for John Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes
School yearStudents enrolledJohn Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W HolmesChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 601 First available year 592.1
2022–23 581 Decrease of 20 (3.3%) 585.3
2023–24 348 Decrease of 233 (40.1%) 575.7
2024–25 324 Decrease of 24 (6.9%) 568.8
2025–26 295 Decrease of 29 (9.0%) 539.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
64

16.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
79

20.00 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
395

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
16.2%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 640 rated schools reporting

+3.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
20
Selected comparison
30.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 696 rated schools reporting

−10.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for John Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 756 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 744 24 3.2% 27 3.63 13.0% 30.6
2022–23 676 20 3.0% 37 5.47 13.7% 32.3
2023–24 434 20 4.6% 26 5.99 14.0% 33.2
2024–25 395 64 16.2% 79 20.00 13.2% 30.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for John Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 64 16.2% 79 20.00 13.2% 30.9
In-school suspensions 39 9.9% 42 10.63 11.6% 22.3
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements 30 7.6% 37 9.37 4.9% 6
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$117k$228k20182020202220242025
  • John Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes
  • Parent district: Dallas ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$216,722
Selected comparison
$13,706

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,185 rated schools reporting

+$203,016 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $216,722 per student for this campus, $23,271 per student for its parent district, Dallas ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearJohn Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W HolmesParent district: Dallas ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,194$13,363$13,054$8,427 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,133 rated schools reporting
2019$8,411$13,990$13,108$8,365 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,147 rated schools reporting
2020$8,694$14,981$14,058$8,876 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,150 rated schools reporting
2021$10,761$17,075$14,797$9,811 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,150 rated schools reporting
2022$11,748$18,716$15,708$11,209 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,162 rated schools reporting
2023$13,269$20,932$16,792$11,893 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,172 rated schools reporting
2024$59,098$22,990$18,125$13,008 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,178 rated schools reporting
2025$216,722$23,271$18,972$13,706 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,185 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$74,556+$5,712 vs similar economic context
Teachers
22−16.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.4−1.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

John Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes

1 to 5 years: 40.9%6 to 10 years: 18.2%11 to 20 years: 36.4%Over 30 years: 4.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 40.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 36.4%
  • Over 30 years 4.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,200 reporting for every category shown · 1,200 in full cohort

Beginning: 8%1 to 5 years: 26.9%6 to 10 years: 18.5%11 to 20 years: 26.8%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 8%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for John Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classJohn Lewis Social Justice Academy at O W Holmes · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English21.415
Secondary languages other than English3317.9
Secondary math19.716.7
Secondary science15.717.6
Secondary social studies15.817.5

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 2,637

    Per-student spending

    Similar size · of the 2,637 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057905051.