Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Jack C Hays HS

Hays County · Region 13: Austin · 2,322 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
89/1002025-26
Change
+3 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.4 ptsvs 85.6 average · 1,223 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
466 of 1,223tied with 58 others
B89

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 90 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 85.6 average for 1,223 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 3 points

86 to 89 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 89 is 3.4 points above the 85.6 average among 1,223 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 5 points

85 to 90 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 90 is 7 points above the 83 average among 1,179 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
74%vs 59.4% avg · +14.6 pts
Masters
41%vs 31.3% avg · +9.7 pts

Among 1,099 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Jack C Hays HS is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 85.6 average for 1,223 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 3 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 466th of 1,223 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 58 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageJack C Hays HS 8686908689 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 90 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8985.6 1,223 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8685.6 1,198 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9084.1 1,181 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8684.4 1,167 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8686.3 1,150 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement88 B+1.9 vs similar economic context · 1,192 reporting
  • School Progress86 B+2.8 vs similar economic context · 1,189 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps90 A+7.0 vs similar economic context · 1,179 reporting
  • Academic Growth72 C−6.9 vs similar economic context · 1,170 reporting
  • Relative Performance86 B+6.3 vs similar economic context · 1,189 reporting
  • Jack C Hays HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,223 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement88B2
School Progress86B4
Closing the Gaps90A—
Academic Growth72C8
Relative Performance86B4

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (88), so School Progress (86) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 88.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level86%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,192 reporting
  • Meets grade level66%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,192 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,192 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,191 reporting
  • Meets grade level65%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,191 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,191 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,188 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,188 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,188 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level95%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,099 reporting
  • Meets grade level74%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,099 reporting
  • Masters grade level41%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,099 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 620 reporting
  • Meets grade level73%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 620 reporting
  • Masters grade level37%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 620 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,223 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
96.0%+2.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
96.0%+3.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 347 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
93.5%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.5%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
91.0%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria91.0%89.2%+1.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course78.4%63.0%+15.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA44.8%38.2%+6.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)25.3%16.4%+8.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course25.1%37.4%−12.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification33.6%36.3%−2.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.0%−1.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%4.2%−4.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit23.4%6.2%+17.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%2.7%−2.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student7.4%7.1%+0.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces3.1%3.2%−0.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 348 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
448

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
212

47.3% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
209

46.7% of graduates

Not trackable
27

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
448
Selected comparison
266

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
212
Selected comparison
127.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
47.3%
Selected comparison
49.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated schools reporting

−1.7 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
46.7%
Selected comparison
45.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated schools reporting

+0.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
6.0%
Selected comparison
5.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated schools reporting

+0.8 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. AUSTIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE (012015)102
  2. TEXAS STATE UNIVERSITY (003615)41
  3. U. OF TEXAS AT AUSTIN (003658)12

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
2,322
Economically disadvantaged
36.0%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
9.6%−1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.1%−2.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.8%−2.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
24.0%+12.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Jack C Hays HS

African American: 4.6%Hispanic: 60.6%White: 28.2%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 2.1%Pacific Islander: 0.3%Two or More Races: 4.1%
  • African American 4.6%
  • Hispanic 60.6%
  • White 28.2%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 2.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 4.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,223 reporting for every category shown · 1,223 in full cohort

African American: 9.2%Hispanic: 32.7%White: 47.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 5.7%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.6%
  • African American 9.2%
  • Hispanic 32.7%
  • White 47.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 5.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
2,314
Economically disadvantaged students
834
Emergent bilingual students
223
Special education students
350

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
313
Students in TEA mobility denominator
2,456
TEA-published mobility rate
12.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 2,322 students in 2025–26, an increase of 18 (0.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
2,322

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+18

Increase · +0.8%

Change since 2021–22
+382

Increase · +19.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
2,322
Selected comparison
746.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,198 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Jack C Hays HS
School yearStudents enrolledJack C Hays HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,940 First available year 759.4
2022–23 2,062 Increase of 122 (6.3%) 759.9
2023–24 2,191 Increase of 129 (6.3%) 760.2
2024–25 2,304 Increase of 113 (5.2%) 755.2
2025–26 2,322 Increase of 18 (0.8%) 746.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
312

13.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
863

36.38 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
2,372

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
13.2%
Selected comparison
10.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 942 rated schools reporting

+3.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
36.38
Selected comparison
21.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,022 rated schools reporting

+15.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Jack C Hays HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 2,299 116 5.0% 177 7.70 8.3% 15.4
2021–22 2,038 235 11.5% 720 35.33 10.3% 21.5
2022–23 2,130 225 10.6% 666 31.27 10.7% 22.7
2023–24 2,265 219 9.7% 663 29.27 10.4% 22.9
2024–25 2,372 312 13.2% 863 36.38 10.1% 21.4
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Jack C Hays HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 312 13.2% 863 36.38 10.1% 21.4
In-school suspensions 249 10.5% 540 22.77 9.0% 16.5
Out-of-school suspensions 112 4.7% 154 6.49 4.9% 6.8
DAEP placements 126 5.3% 166 7.00 3.7% 4.3
Mandatory DAEP placements 106 4.5% 129 5.44 2.9% 3.3
Discretionary DAEP placements 31 1.3% 37 1.56 1.9% 2.2
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$15k$24k20182020202220242025
  • Jack C Hays HS
  • Parent district: Hays CISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$13,166
Selected comparison
$11,879

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,198 rated schools reporting

+$1,287 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $13,166 per student for this campus, $22,838 per student for its parent district, Hays CISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearJack C Hays HSParent district: Hays CISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$5,848$17,264$13,054$7,674 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,093 rated schools reporting
2019$5,699$12,654$13,108$7,810 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,110 rated schools reporting
2020$6,943$11,919$14,058$8,144 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,117 rated schools reporting
2021$7,724$13,235$14,797$8,616 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,132 rated schools reporting
2022$10,604$17,669$15,708$9,801 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,149 rated schools reporting
2023$14,893$17,636$16,792$10,431 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,168 rated schools reporting
2024$14,016$22,264$18,125$11,558 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,181 rated schools reporting
2025$13,166$22,838$18,972$11,879 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,198 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$69,741+$1,981 vs similar economic context
Teachers
125+75.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
18.6+4.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Jack C Hays HS

Beginning: 5.6%1 to 5 years: 20%6 to 10 years: 13.2%11 to 20 years: 30.1%21 to 30 years: 28.5%Over 30 years: 2.6%
  • Beginning 5.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 20%
  • 6 to 10 years 13.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 30.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 28.5%
  • Over 30 years 2.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,223 reporting for every category shown · 1,223 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.1%1 to 5 years: 22.9%6 to 10 years: 19.5%11 to 20 years: 31.6%21 to 30 years: 17.2%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 5.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.2%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Jack C Hays HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classJack C Hays HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English19.416.2
Secondary languages other than English25.118.5
Secondary math22.317.2
Secondary science22.718.6
Secondary social studies23.518.5

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 184 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 3of 19

    Social Studies — Meets

    Hays County · of the 19 that report this measure · tied with 1

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

7 measures

  • 5of 50

    Relative Performance

    Hays County · of the 50 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 19

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Hays County · of the 19 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 19

    Social Studies — Masters

    Hays County · of the 19 that report this measure

  • 6of 49

    Science — Approaches

    Hays County · of the 49 that report this measure

  • 7of 49

    Closing the Gaps

    Hays County · of the 49 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 7of 49

    Science — Meets

    Hays County · of the 49 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 49

    Science — Masters

    Hays County · of the 49 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 105906001.