Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Iowa Colony HS

Brazoria County · Region 04: Houston · 1,858 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
87/1002025-26
Change
+9 ptssince 2022-23
Score vs similar economic context
+5.1 ptsvs 81.9 average · 1,731 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
493 of 1,731tied with 91 others
B87

At a glance

The available rating history is moving up. The current score is above the 81.9 average for 1,731 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 3 points

84 to 87 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 87 is 5.1 points above the 81.9 average among 1,731 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Student Achievement rose 9 points

79 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 6.5 points above the 81.5 average among 1,667 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
76%vs 51.8% avg · +24.2 pts
Masters
34%vs 24.5% avg · +9.5 pts

Among 1,542 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Iowa Colony HS is rated B by TEA, scoring 87 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.9 average for 1,731 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 9 points since 2022-23.

Ranks 493rd of 1,731 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 91 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 4 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

4 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageIowa Colony HS 78798487 2022-232023-242024-252025-26

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8781.9 1,731 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8482.1 1,706 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7980.0 1,682 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7880.7 1,658 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement88 B+6.5 vs similar economic context · 1,667 reporting
  • School Progress87 B+5.5 vs similar economic context · 1,662 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps86 B+6.8 vs similar economic context · 1,647 reporting
  • Academic Growth81 B+5.4 vs similar economic context · 1,626 reporting
  • Relative Performance87 B+7.7 vs similar economic context · 1,662 reporting
  • Iowa Colony HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,731 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement88B2
School Progress87B3
Closing the Gaps86B4
Academic Growth81B9
Relative Performance87B3

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (88), so School Progress (87) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 88.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level85%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,667 reporting
  • Meets grade level62%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,667 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,667 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,665 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,665 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,665 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level85%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,659 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,659 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,659 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level96%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,542 reporting
  • Meets grade level76%+24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,542 reporting
  • Masters grade level34%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,542 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 869 reporting
  • Meets grade level72%+23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 869 reporting
  • Masters grade level34%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 869 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,731 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
0.0%−93.5 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 447 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
0.0%−93.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 444 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
0.0%−92.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 445 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.1%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 449 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
87.0%−1.2 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria87.0%88.2%−1.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 470 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course57.5%59.3%−1.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 472 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA25.6%29.4%−3.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 472 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)18.4%10.6%+7.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 472 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course23.9%33.4%−9.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 472 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification37.6%38.1%−0.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 472 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.5%1.5%−1.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 472 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree3.5%4.6%−1.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 472 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%4.4%−4.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 472 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness3.7%3.1%+0.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 472 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student7.7%7.5%+0.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 472 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces3.5%3.5%+0.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 472 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,858
Economically disadvantaged
50.9%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
12.7%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
11.9%−6.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.6%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
14.7%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Iowa Colony HS

African American: 42.8%Hispanic: 37.3%White: 9.7%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 6.8%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.8%
  • African American 42.8%
  • Hispanic 37.3%
  • White 9.7%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 6.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,731 reporting for every category shown · 1,731 in full cohort

African American: 9.5%Hispanic: 41.4%White: 41.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.2%
  • African American 9.5%
  • Hispanic 41.4%
  • White 41.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,856
Economically disadvantaged students
945
Emergent bilingual students
235
Special education students
220

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
243
Students in TEA mobility denominator
1,908
TEA-published mobility rate
12.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,858 students in 2025–26, an increase of 77 (4.3%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,858

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+77

Increase · +4.3%

Change since 2022–23
+1,066

Increase · +134.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
1,858
Selected comparison
650.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,690 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Iowa Colony HS
School yearStudents enrolledIowa Colony HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2022–23 792 First available year 660.1
2023–24 1,312 Increase of 520 (65.7%) 659.4
2024–25 1,781 Increase of 469 (35.7%) 654.4
2025–26 1,858 Increase of 77 (4.3%) 650.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
469

24.8% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
1,467

77.41 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,895

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
24.8%
Selected comparison
12.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,340 rated schools reporting

+12.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
77.41
Selected comparison
27.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,440 rated schools reporting

+50.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Iowa Colony HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2022–23 858 208 24.2% 535 62.35 12.6% 28.9
2023–24 1,394 352 25.3% 968 69.44 12.6% 29.1
2024–25 1,895 469 24.8% 1,467 77.41 12.2% 27.4
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Iowa Colony HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 469 24.8% 1,467 77.41 12.2% 27.4
In-school suspensions 455 24.0% 1,228 64.80 11.0% 21.1
Out-of-school suspensions 101 5.3% 126 6.65 6.1% 8.7
DAEP placements 91 4.8% 112 5.91 4.6% 5.4
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$8k$14k$21k20232025
  • Iowa Colony HS
  • Parent district: Alvin ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,014
Selected comparison
$12,089

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,704 rated schools reporting

−$3,075 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,014 per student for this campus, $15,428 per student for its parent district, Alvin ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearIowa Colony HSParent district: Alvin ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2023$19,569$17,598$16,792$10,726 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,657 rated schools reporting
2024$9,926$17,232$18,125$11,569 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,680 rated schools reporting
2025$9,014$15,428$18,972$12,089 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,704 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$71,978+$5,134 vs similar economic context
Teachers
122+79.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.3−4.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Iowa Colony HS

Beginning: 6.2%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 29.7%11 to 20 years: 28.1%21 to 30 years: 9%
  • Beginning 6.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 29.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,731 reporting for every category shown · 1,731 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.6%1 to 5 years: 24.4%6 to 10 years: 19.3%11 to 20 years: 29.3%21 to 30 years: 16.7%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 5.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.7%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Iowa Colony HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classIowa Colony HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English14.115
Secondary languages other than English25.917.5
Secondary math14.816
Secondary science1617.4
Secondary social studies15.717.5

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

2 measures

  • 2of 16

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Brazoria County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 16

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Brazoria County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 1

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

11 measures

  • 4of 16

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Brazoria County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 5of 16

    Earned a level I or level II certificate

    Brazoria County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 6of 75

    Science — Approaches

    Brazoria County · of the 75 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 6of 16

    Earned an associate degree

    Brazoria County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 7of 13

    Dropout Rate (lowest is best)

    Brazoria County (standard accountability only) · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 38

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Brazoria County · of the 38 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 16

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA

    Brazoria County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 8of 16

    Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)

    Brazoria County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 9of 38

    Social Studies — Meets

    Brazoria County · of the 38 that report this measure

  • 9of 16

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Brazoria County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 10of 75

    Science — Meets

    Brazoria County · of the 75 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 020901007.