Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Hunters Creek Elem

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 537 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
93/1002025-26
Change
±0 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.4 ptsvs 89.6 average · 784 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
156 of 784tied with 88 others
A93

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is flat; under the rules in force back then it scored 95 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 89.6 average for 784 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 2 points

91 to 93 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 93 is 3.4 points above the 89.6 average among 784 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 2 points

90 to 92 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 92 is 5 points above the 87 average among 768 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
74%vs 70.2% avg · +3.8 pts
Masters
45%vs 39.5% avg · +5.5 pts

Among 773 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Hunters Creek Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 89.6 average for 784 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is unchanged since 2021-22.

Ranks 156th of 784 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 88 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHunters Creek Elem 9393929193 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 95 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9389.6 784 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9189.8 779 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9288.7 763 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9389.1 746 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9390.0 731 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement93 A+2.4 vs similar economic context · 773 reporting
  • School Progress93 A+7.1 vs similar economic context · 771 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps92 A+5.0 vs similar economic context · 768 reporting
  • Academic Growth93 A+9.4 vs similar economic context · 762 reporting
  • Relative Performance84 B+4.6 vs similar economic context · 771 reporting
  • Hunters Creek Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (784 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement93A—
School Progress93A—
Closing the Gaps92A—
Academic Growth93A—
Relative Performance84B6

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level90%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 773 reporting
  • Meets grade level74%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 773 reporting
  • Masters grade level45%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 773 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level92%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 773 reporting
  • Meets grade level82%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 773 reporting
  • Masters grade level53%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 773 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 771 reporting
  • Meets grade level74%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 771 reporting
  • Masters grade level43%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 771 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 716 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 716 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 716 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (784 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
537
Economically disadvantaged
20.1%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
9.5%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
22.7%+6.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.0%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
5.2%−3.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Hunters Creek Elem

African American: 6.3%Hispanic: 21.6%White: 55.3%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 11.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 5%
  • African American 6.3%
  • Hispanic 21.6%
  • White 55.3%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 11.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 784 reporting for every category shown · 784 in full cohort

African American: 7.6%Hispanic: 24.4%White: 48.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 13.9%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.4%
  • African American 7.6%
  • Hispanic 24.4%
  • White 48.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 13.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
537
Economically disadvantaged students
108
Emergent bilingual students
51
Special education students
122

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
39
Students in TEA mobility denominator
522
TEA-published mobility rate
7.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 537 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 38 (6.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
537

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−38

Decrease · −6.6%

Change since 2021–22
−81

Decrease · −13.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
537
Selected comparison
872.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 778 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Hunters Creek Elem
School yearStudents enrolledHunters Creek ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 618 First available year 892.3
2022–23 604 Decrease of 14 (2.3%) 900
2023–24 611 Increase of 7 (1.2%) 891
2024–25 575 Decrease of 36 (5.9%) 883.2
2025–26 537 Decrease of 38 (6.6%) 872.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
13

2.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
21

3.54 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
594

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
2.2%
Selected comparison
6.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 543 rated schools reporting

−4.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
3.54
Selected comparison
13.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 624 rated schools reporting

−9.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Hunters Creek Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 629 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 664 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 620 Suppressed — 13 2.10 — 14.1
2023–24 632 Suppressed — 14 2.22 — 13.7
2024–25 594 13 2.2% 21 3.54 6.9% 13.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Hunters Creek Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 13 2.2% 21 3.54 6.9% 13.1
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 12 2.0% 18 3.03 3.3% 4.4
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$14k$22k20182020202220242025
  • Hunters Creek Elem
  • Parent district: Spring Branch ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,155
Selected comparison
$11,067

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 778 rated schools reporting

−$912 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,155 per student for this campus, $21,125 per student for its parent district, Spring Branch ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHunters Creek ElemParent district: Spring Branch ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,421$12,780$13,054$7,382 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 684 rated schools reporting
2019$7,009$13,329$13,108$7,467 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 700 rated schools reporting
2020$7,392$16,243$14,058$7,766 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 711 rated schools reporting
2021$8,315$21,382$14,797$8,318 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 717 rated schools reporting
2022$10,046$18,728$15,708$9,407 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 731 rated schools reporting
2023$9,013$19,038$16,792$9,950 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 747 rated schools reporting
2024$9,254$20,245$18,125$10,926 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 763 rated schools reporting
2025$10,155$21,125$18,972$11,067 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 778 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$72,645+$3,716 vs similar economic context
Teachers
47−8.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
11.3−3.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Hunters Creek Elem

Beginning: 10.5%1 to 5 years: 19.4%6 to 10 years: 28.7%11 to 20 years: 30.6%21 to 30 years: 10.8%
  • Beginning 10.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 19.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 28.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 30.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 10.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 784 reporting for every category shown · 784 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.5%1 to 5 years: 22.9%6 to 10 years: 19.9%11 to 20 years: 32.5%21 to 30 years: 17.2%Over 30 years: 2.9%
  • Beginning 4.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.2%
  • Over 30 years 2.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Hunters Creek Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHunters Creek Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten14.618.8
Grade 120.219.1
Grade 219.419.7
Grade 323.321.2
Grade 420.920.4
Grade 520.721.9
Grade 6519.6

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

4 measures

  • 93of 4,504

    Academic Growth

    Similar size · of the 4,504 that report this measure · tied with 55

  • 214of 4,554

    School Progress

    Similar size · of the 4,554 that report this measure · tied with 81

  • 232of 4,554

    Reading — Meets

    Similar size · of the 4,554 that report this measure · tied with 26

  • 238of 4,554

    Reading — Masters

    Similar size · of the 4,554 that report this measure · tied with 22

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101920107.