Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Hood-Case Elem

Brazoria County · Region 04: Houston · 651 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
82/1002025-26
Change
+7 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.0 ptsvs 79 average · 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
799 of 2,019tied with 81 others
B82

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 74 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79 average for 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Relative Performance rose 4 points

79 to 83 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 83 is 4.5 points above the 78.5 average among 1,890 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
53%vs 45.9% avg · +7.1 pts
Masters
22%vs 18.4% avg · +3.6 pts

Among 1,897 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
50%vs 40.5% avg · +9.5 pts
Masters
20%vs 15.3% avg · +4.7 pts

Among 1,887 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Hood-Case Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 82 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79 average for 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 7 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 799th of 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 81 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHood-Case Elem 7577708382 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 74 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8279.0 2,019 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8378.8 2,000 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7076.7 1,985 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7777.2 1,958 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7581.9 1,939 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement77 C+1.1 vs similar economic context · 1,897 reporting
  • School Progress83 B+2.9 vs similar economic context · 1,890 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps78 C+1.7 vs similar economic context · 1,878 reporting
  • Academic Growth80 B+6.8 vs similar economic context · 1,833 reporting
  • Relative Performance83 B+4.5 vs similar economic context · 1,890 reporting
  • Hood-Case Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,019 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement77C3
School Progress83B7
Closing the Gaps78C2
Academic Growth80B10
Relative Performance83B7

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 2 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (83), so Student Achievement (77) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 83.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level76%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
  • Meets grade level53%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,895 reporting
  • Meets grade level56%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,895 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,895 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 reporting
  • Masters grade level20%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,746 reporting
  • Meets grade level56%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,746 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,746 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,019 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
651
Economically disadvantaged
70.2%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
31.5%+10.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.2%+2.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.8%+0.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
14.3%−3.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Hood-Case Elem

African American: 2.3%Hispanic: 65.7%White: 29.1%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.8%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 1.9%
  • African American 2.3%
  • Hispanic 65.7%
  • White 29.1%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 1.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,019 reporting for every category shown · 2,019 in full cohort

African American: 12.4%Hispanic: 56.8%White: 24.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.4%
  • African American 12.4%
  • Hispanic 56.8%
  • White 24.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
647
Economically disadvantaged students
454
Emergent bilingual students
204
Special education students
137

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
53
Students in TEA mobility denominator
580
TEA-published mobility rate
9.1%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 651 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 47 (6.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
651

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−47

Decrease · −6.7%

Change since 2021–22
−31

Decrease · −4.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
651
Selected comparison
636.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,981 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Hood-Case Elem
School yearStudents enrolledHood-Case ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 682 First available year 647
2022–23 718 Increase of 36 (5.3%) 654.1
2023–24 688 Decrease of 30 (4.2%) 653.3
2024–25 698 Increase of 10 (1.5%) 651.5
2025–26 651 Decrease of 47 (6.7%) 636.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
24

3.3% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
41

5.65 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
726

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
3.3%
Selected comparison
13.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,542 rated schools reporting

−9.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
5.65
Selected comparison
30.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,655 rated schools reporting

−25.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Hood-Case Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 735 13 1.8% 16 2.18 9.6% 19.1
2021–22 719 44 6.1% 79 10.99 12.9% 30.3
2022–23 737 47 6.4% 142 19.27 13.5% 32.5
2023–24 722 50 6.9% 83 11.50 13.3% 32.3
2024–25 726 24 3.3% 41 5.65 13.0% 30.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Hood-Case Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 24 3.3% 41 5.65 13.0% 30.8
In-school suspensions 21 2.9% 36 4.96 11.7% 23.4
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Hood-Case Elem
  • Parent district: Alvin ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,842
Selected comparison
$13,204

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 rated schools reporting

−$2,362 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,842 per student for this campus, $15,428 per student for its parent district, Alvin ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHood-Case ElemParent district: Alvin ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,916$16,497$13,054$8,023 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,864 rated schools reporting
2019$9,153$15,630$13,108$8,184 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,881 rated schools reporting
2020$8,439$15,244$14,058$8,741 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 rated schools reporting
2021$8,960$16,183$14,797$9,235 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,916 rated schools reporting
2022$8,922$16,478$15,708$10,496 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,940 rated schools reporting
2023$9,576$17,598$16,792$11,198 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,960 rated schools reporting
2024$11,208$17,232$18,125$12,434 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,984 rated schools reporting
2025$10,842$15,428$18,972$13,204 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$72,412+$5,982 vs similar economic context
Teachers
48+5.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.4−0.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Hood-Case Elem

Beginning: 12%1 to 5 years: 33.1%6 to 10 years: 7.2%11 to 20 years: 41.3%21 to 30 years: 6.2%
  • Beginning 12%
  • 1 to 5 years 33.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 7.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 41.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 6.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,019 reporting for every category shown · 2,019 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.6%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.4%21 to 30 years: 15.4%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.4%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Hood-Case Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHood-Case Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1918
Grade 117.518.2
Grade 218.318.3
Grade 321.318.6
Grade 41918.9
Grade 520.419.8
Grade 63317.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 020901109.