Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Hilliard Elem

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 586 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
73/1002025-26
Change
−21 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−4.8 ptsvs 77.8 average · 1,465 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,014 of 1,465tied with 26 others
C73

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 89 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.8 average for 1,465 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Read the full rating context and placement

Hilliard Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 73 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.8 average for 1,465 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 21 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,014th of 1,465 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 26 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHilliard Elem 9457928873 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 89 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7377.8 1,465 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8877.5 1,450 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9273.8 1,436 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23F5773.0 1,432 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9482.0 1,419 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement65 D−5.1 vs similar economic context · 1,359 reporting
  • School Progress74 C−4.9 vs similar economic context · 1,356 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps72 C−3.1 vs similar economic context · 1,348 reporting
  • Academic Growth70 C−3.5 vs similar economic context · 1,337 reporting
  • Relative Performance74 C−2.8 vs similar economic context · 1,355 reporting
  • Hilliard Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,465 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement65D5
School Progress74C6
Closing the Gaps72C8
Academic Growth70C10
Relative Performance74C6

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 6 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (74), so Student Achievement (65) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 74.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level69%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,359 reporting
  • Meets grade level33%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,359 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,359 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,359 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,359 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,359 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,356 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,356 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,356 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level61%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,286 reporting
  • Meets grade level19%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,286 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,286 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,465 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
586
Economically disadvantaged
97.9%+4.3 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
15.6%−28.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.7%−3.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.0%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
26.5%+2.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Hilliard Elem

African American: 68.6%Hispanic: 28.5%White: 0.5%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.5%Two or More Races: 1.7%
  • African American 68.6%
  • Hispanic 28.5%
  • White 0.5%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.5%
  • Two or More Races 1.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,465 reporting for every category shown · 1,465 in full cohort

African American: 15%Hispanic: 77.8%White: 4.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • African American 15%
  • Hispanic 77.8%
  • White 4.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
582
Economically disadvantaged students
570
Emergent bilingual students
91
Special education students
80

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
222
Students in TEA mobility denominator
552
TEA-published mobility rate
40.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 586 students in 2025–26, an increase of 41 (7.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
586

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+41

Increase · +7.5%

Change since 2021–22
+47

Increase · +8.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
586
Selected comparison
548.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,447 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Hilliard Elem
School yearStudents enrolledHilliard ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 539 First available year 597.8
2022–23 546 Increase of 7 (1.3%) 592.9
2023–24 592 Increase of 46 (8.4%) 583.2
2024–25 545 Decrease of 47 (7.9%) 575.3
2025–26 586 Increase of 41 (7.5%) 548.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
24

3.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
45

6.58 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
684

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
3.5%
Selected comparison
13.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 812 rated schools reporting

−9.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
6.58
Selected comparison
31.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 882 rated schools reporting

−24.5 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Hilliard Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 608 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 591 32 5.4% 44 7.45 12.7% 30
2022–23 626 44 7.0% 56 8.95 13.6% 32.3
2023–24 683 27 4.0% 39 5.71 13.8% 32.8
2024–25 684 24 3.5% 45 6.58 13.1% 31.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Hilliard Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 24 3.5% 45 6.58 13.1% 31.1
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 24 3.5% 45 6.58 9.9% 16.4
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Hilliard Elem
  • Parent district: Houston ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$13,573
Selected comparison
$13,542

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,449 rated schools reporting

+$31 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $13,573 per student for this campus, $17,026 per student for its parent district, Houston ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHilliard ElemParent district: Houston ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$14,529$14,470$13,054$8,401 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,386 rated schools reporting
2019$9,038$13,643$13,108$8,372 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,401 rated schools reporting
2020$7,739$13,627$14,058$8,890 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,404 rated schools reporting
2021$7,935$13,515$14,797$9,787 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,406 rated schools reporting
2022$8,375$14,985$15,708$11,247 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,419 rated schools reporting
2023$9,284$16,350$16,792$11,814 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,432 rated schools reporting
2024$15,444$18,150$18,125$12,887 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,439 rated schools reporting
2025$13,573$17,026$18,972$13,542 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,449 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$71,292+$2,530 vs similar economic context
Teachers
34−4.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
17.2+2.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Hilliard Elem

Beginning: 17.5%1 to 5 years: 47%6 to 10 years: 14.8%11 to 20 years: 11.8%21 to 30 years: 5.9%Over 30 years: 3%
  • Beginning 17.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 47%
  • 6 to 10 years 14.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 11.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 5.9%
  • Over 30 years 3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,465 reporting for every category shown · 1,465 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.7%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 18.5%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Hilliard Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHilliard Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten24.718.1
Grade 121.918.3
Grade 214.518.2
Grade 321.218.3
Grade 417.618.1
Grade 515.218.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101912473.