Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Hill Country MS

Travis County · Region 13: Austin · 944 students

Current score
95/1002025-26
Change
±0 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+2.9 ptsvs 92.1 average · 289 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
29 of 289tied with 39 others
A95

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is flat; under the rules in force back then it scored 97 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 92.1 average for 289 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
86%vs 77.6% avg · +8.4 pts
Masters
62%vs 48.9% avg · +13.1 pts

Among 284 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
85%vs 74.9% avg · +10.1 pts
Masters
55%vs 45.3% avg · +9.7 pts

Among 282 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
90%vs 82.1% avg · +7.9 pts
Masters
70%vs 52.6% avg · +17.4 pts

Among 284 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Hill Country MS is rated A by TEA, scoring 95 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 92.1 average for 289 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is unchanged since 2021-22.

Ranks 29th of 289 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 39 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHill Country MS 9595969595 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 97 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9592.1 289 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9592.6 281 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9691.7 275 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9592.2 266 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9592.7 259 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement95 A+2.0 vs similar economic context · 284 reporting
  • School Progress93 A+4.6 vs similar economic context · 282 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps94 A+3.9 vs similar economic context · 280 reporting
  • Academic Growth93 A+5.8 vs similar economic context · 280 reporting
  • Relative Performance85 B+7.0 vs similar economic context · 282 reporting
  • Hill Country MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (289 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement95A—
School Progress93A—
Closing the Gaps94A—
Academic Growth93A—
Relative Performance85B5

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (95), so School Progress (93) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 95.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level95%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 284 reporting
  • Meets grade level86%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 284 reporting
  • Masters grade level62%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 284 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level97%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 284 reporting
  • Meets grade level90%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 284 reporting
  • Masters grade level70%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 284 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 282 reporting
  • Meets grade level85%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 282 reporting
  • Masters grade level55%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 282 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level97%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 255 reporting
  • Meets grade level91%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 255 reporting
  • Masters grade level73%+29 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 255 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level89%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 89 reporting
  • Meets grade level72%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 89 reporting
  • Masters grade level52%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 89 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (289 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
944
Economically disadvantaged
1.8%−5.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
1.9%−9.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.7%−1.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.7%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
6.7%+0.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Hill Country MS

African American: 0.8%Hispanic: 15.4%White: 63.7%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 11.9%Pacific Islander: 0.3%Two or More Races: 7.7%
  • African American 0.8%
  • Hispanic 15.4%
  • White 63.7%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 11.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 7.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 289 reporting for every category shown · 289 in full cohort

African American: 4.2%Hispanic: 15.2%White: 48.7%American Indian: 0.5%Asian: 25.5%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.8%
  • African American 4.2%
  • Hispanic 15.2%
  • White 48.7%
  • American Indian 0.5%
  • Asian 25.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
944
Economically disadvantaged students
17
Emergent bilingual students
18
Special education students
129

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
30
Students in TEA mobility denominator
962
TEA-published mobility rate
3.1%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 944 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 2 (0.2%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
944

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−2

Decrease · −0.2%

Change since 2021–22
−66

Decrease · −6.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
944
Selected comparison
826.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 285 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Hill Country MS
School yearStudents enrolledHill Country MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,010 First available year 835.8
2022–23 975 Decrease of 35 (3.5%) 853
2023–24 968 Decrease of 7 (0.7%) 835.8
2024–25 946 Decrease of 22 (2.3%) 834.8
2025–26 944 Decrease of 2 (0.2%) 826.9

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
49

5.1% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
108

11.23 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
962

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
5.1%
Selected comparison
4.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 147 rated schools reporting

+0.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
11.23
Selected comparison
6.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 178 rated schools reporting

+4.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Hill Country MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,069 37 3.5% 58 5.43 3.1% 4.8
2021–22 1,026 72 7.0% 111 10.82 4.4% 7.1
2022–23 1,010 62 6.1% 98 9.70 4.3% 6.6
2023–24 997 57 5.7% 80 8.02 4.3% 6.8
2024–25 962 49 5.1% 108 11.23 4.4% 6.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Hill Country MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 49 5.1% 108 11.23 4.4% 6.9
In-school suspensions 40 4.2% 66 6.86 4.2% 5.7
Out-of-school suspensions 22 2.3% 26 2.70 1.7% 2.2
DAEP placements 15 1.6% 16 1.66 1.3% 1.4
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$14k$22k20182020202220242025
  • Hill Country MS
  • Parent district: Eanes ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,807
Selected comparison
$10,773

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 280 rated schools reporting

+$34 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,807 per student for this campus, $21,384 per student for its parent district, Eanes ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHill Country MSParent district: Eanes ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,260$14,877$13,054$7,124 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 234 rated schools reporting
2019$7,027$13,673$13,108$7,311 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 240 rated schools reporting
2020$7,436$14,632$14,058$7,614 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 247 rated schools reporting
2021$7,069$16,630$14,797$8,050 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 255 rated schools reporting
2022$8,366$16,404$15,708$9,289 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 260 rated schools reporting
2023$8,749$17,030$16,792$9,208 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 265 rated schools reporting
2024$9,155$19,737$18,125$10,133 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 274 rated schools reporting
2025$10,807$21,384$18,972$10,773 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 280 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,718−$3,914 vs similar economic context
Teachers
67+12.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.1−0.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Hill Country MS

Beginning: 4.5%1 to 5 years: 29.4%6 to 10 years: 19.7%11 to 20 years: 30%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 1.5%
  • Beginning 4.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 29.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 30%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 1.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 289 reporting for every category shown · 289 in full cohort

Beginning: 4%1 to 5 years: 24.3%6 to 10 years: 19.8%11 to 20 years: 31.2%21 to 30 years: 17%Over 30 years: 2.3%
  • Beginning 4%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 17%
  • Over 30 years 2.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Hill Country MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHill Country MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 619.318.3
Secondary English20.318.7
Secondary languages other than English21.322
Secondary math20.818.5
Secondary science21.121.3
Secondary social studies24.121.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

3 measures

  • 2of 192

    All Subjects — Masters

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure

  • 3of 192

    Reading — Meets

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure

  • 3of 192

    Reading — Masters

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

9 measures

  • 4of 192

    All Subjects — Meets

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 4of 192

    Math — Meets

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure

  • 4of 192

    Math — Masters

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure

  • 4of 191

    Science — Meets

    Travis County · of the 191 that report this measure

  • 4of 191

    Science — Masters

    Travis County · of the 191 that report this measure

  • 5of 192

    Reading — Approaches

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 6of 192

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 6of 192

    Math — Approaches

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure

  • 8of 192

    Closing the Gaps

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure · tied with 3

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

6 measures

  • 11of 191

    Science — Approaches

    Travis County · of the 191 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 16of 506

    Student Achievement

    Region 13: Austin · of the 506 that report this measure · tied with 9

  • 16of 491

    Academic Growth

    Region 13: Austin · of the 491 that report this measure · tied with 9

  • 24of 504

    School Progress

    Region 13: Austin · of the 504 that report this measure · tied with 9

  • 38of 1,180

    Social Studies — Masters

    Similar size · of the 1,180 that report this measure · tied with 8

  • 51of 2,908

    Overall score

    Similar size · of the 2,908 that report this measure · tied with 50

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 227909041.