Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Henderson Elem

Midland County · Region 18: Midland · 792 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
59/1002025-26
Change
−20 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−19.9 ptsvs 78.9 average · 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,930 of 2,022tied with 34 others
F59

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 78 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 78.9 average for 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Read the full rating context and placement

Henderson Elem is rated F by TEA, scoring 59 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 78.9 average for 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 20 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,930th of 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 34 others).

1 consecutive year rated unacceptable.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Comprehensive Support and Improvement

Official support label: Comprehensive Identified

Identification reason: CSI Low Performance

TEA track year 1 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
30.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,022 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
4.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,022 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHenderson Elem 7957597659 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 78 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26F5978.9 2,022 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7678.7 2,004 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24F5976.6 1,988 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23F5777.1 1,964 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7981.9 1,945 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement56 F−19.7 vs similar economic context · 1,893 reporting
  • School Progress63 D−17.1 vs similar economic context · 1,886 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps56 F−20.2 vs similar economic context · 1,875 reporting
  • Academic Growth63 D−10.2 vs similar economic context · 1,830 reporting
  • Relative Performance56 F−22.4 vs similar economic context · 1,886 reporting
  • Henderson Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,022 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement56F4
School Progress63D7
Closing the Gaps56F4
Academic Growth63D7
Relative Performance56F4

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 4 points below D in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (63), so Student Achievement (56) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 63.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level53%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,893 reporting
  • Meets grade level30%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,893 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,893 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level57%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,891 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,891 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,891 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level55%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,883 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,883 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,883 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level30%−41 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,738 reporting
  • Meets grade level12%−31 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,738 reporting
  • Masters grade level2%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,738 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,022 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
792
Economically disadvantaged
71.1%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
27.2%+6.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
16.6%−2.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.5%−1.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
25.1%+7.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Henderson Elem

African American: 6%Hispanic: 80.8%White: 8.2%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 3.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1%
  • African American 6%
  • Hispanic 80.8%
  • White 8.2%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 3.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,022 reporting for every category shown · 2,022 in full cohort

African American: 12.5%Hispanic: 57.8%White: 23.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.4%
  • African American 12.5%
  • Hispanic 57.8%
  • White 23.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
788
Economically disadvantaged students
560
Emergent bilingual students
214
Special education students
131

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
97
Students in TEA mobility denominator
593
TEA-published mobility rate
16.4%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 792 students in 2025–26, an increase of 159 (25.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
792

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+159

Increase · +25.1%

Change since 2021–22
+427

Increase · +117.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
792
Selected comparison
629.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,987 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Henderson Elem
School yearStudents enrolledHenderson ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 365 First available year 642.2
2022–23 491 Increase of 126 (34.5%) 648.2
2023–24 615 Increase of 124 (25.3%) 646.4
2024–25 633 Increase of 18 (2.9%) 645.4
2025–26 792 Increase of 159 (25.1%) 629.9

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
24

3.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
32

4.62 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
692

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
3.5%
Selected comparison
13.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,548 rated schools reporting

−9.5 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
4.62
Selected comparison
30.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,658 rated schools reporting

−26.2 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Henderson Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 366 21 5.7% 29 7.92 9.5% 18.9
2021–22 409 35 8.6% 60 14.67 13.0% 30.5
2022–23 540 65 12.0% 171 31.67 13.5% 32.6
2023–24 678 71 10.5% 124 18.29 13.3% 32.3
2024–25 692 24 3.5% 32 4.62 13.0% 30.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Henderson Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 24 3.5% 32 4.62 13.0% 30.8
In-school suspensions 12 1.7% 12 1.73 11.6% 23.2
Out-of-school suspensions 11 1.6% 13 1.88 7.4% 11.2
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Henderson Elem
  • Parent district: Midland ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$7,770
Selected comparison
$13,142

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,003 rated schools reporting

−$5,372 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $7,770 per student for this campus, $18,529 per student for its parent district, Midland ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHenderson ElemParent district: Midland ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,733$8,732$13,054$8,036 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,870 rated schools reporting
2019$7,347$9,076$13,108$8,195 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,889 rated schools reporting
2020$7,377$10,668$14,058$8,738 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,909 rated schools reporting
2021$9,571$12,683$14,797$9,251 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,922 rated schools reporting
2022$9,967$12,705$15,708$10,509 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,946 rated schools reporting
2023$7,800$13,012$16,792$11,212 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,966 rated schools reporting
2024$8,351$14,999$18,125$12,414 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,987 rated schools reporting
2025$7,770$18,529$18,972$13,142 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,003 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,799−$622 vs similar economic context
Teachers
31−11.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
25.4+11.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Henderson Elem

Beginning: 12.9%1 to 5 years: 41.6%6 to 10 years: 18.7%11 to 20 years: 23.9%21 to 30 years: 3.2%
  • Beginning 12.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 41.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 3.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,022 reporting for every category shown · 2,022 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.6%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.4%21 to 30 years: 15.3%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.3%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Henderson Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHenderson Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten17.518
Grade 119.318.2
Grade 220.618.3
Grade 321.518.7
Grade 423.518.9
Grade 53119.8
Grade 628.717.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 165901108.