Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Harpool MS

Denton County · Region 11: Fort Worth · 938 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
88/1002025-26
Change
−5 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−2.0 ptsvs 90 average · 736 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
527 of 736tied with 46 others
B88

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 95 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 90 average for 736 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
78%vs 75.9% avg · +2.1 pts
Masters
52%vs 43.2% avg · +8.8 pts

Among 724 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
81%vs 67.1% avg · +13.9 pts
Masters
58%vs 40.7% avg · +17.3 pts

Among 675 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Harpool MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 88 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 90 average for 736 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 5 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 527th of 736 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 46 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHarpool MS 9393899288 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 95 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8890.0 736 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9290.3 730 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8989.2 713 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9389.5 696 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9390.4 680 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement92 A+1.0 vs similar economic context · 724 reporting
  • School Progress85 B−1.2 vs similar economic context · 722 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps77 C−10.5 vs similar economic context · 719 reporting
  • Academic Growth85 B+1.0 vs similar economic context · 715 reporting
  • Relative Performance79 C±0.0 vs similar economic context · 722 reporting
  • Harpool MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (736 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement92A—
School Progress85B5
Closing the Gaps77C3
Academic Growth85B5
Relative Performance79C1

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 3 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (92), so School Progress (85) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 92.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level87%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 724 reporting
  • Meets grade level69%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 724 reporting
  • Masters grade level41%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 724 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level91%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 724 reporting
  • Meets grade level78%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 724 reporting
  • Masters grade level52%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 724 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 722 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 722 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 722 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level89%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 675 reporting
  • Meets grade level81%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 675 reporting
  • Masters grade level58%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 675 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 reporting
  • Masters grade level34%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (736 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
938
Economically disadvantaged
17.9%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
4.3%−6.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.9%−2.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.7%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
7.8%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Harpool MS

African American: 9.4%Hispanic: 19.5%White: 61.4%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 5.9%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 3.5%
  • African American 9.4%
  • Hispanic 19.5%
  • White 61.4%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 5.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 3.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 736 reporting for every category shown · 736 in full cohort

African American: 7.2%Hispanic: 22.7%White: 48.4%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 15.7%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.5%
  • African American 7.2%
  • Hispanic 22.7%
  • White 48.4%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 15.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
938
Economically disadvantaged students
168
Emergent bilingual students
40
Special education students
130

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
60
Students in TEA mobility denominator
892
TEA-published mobility rate
6.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 938 students in 2025–26, an increase of 78 (9.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
938

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+78

Increase · +9.1%

Change since 2021–22
+70

Increase · +8.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
938
Selected comparison
862

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 731 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Harpool MS
School yearStudents enrolledHarpool MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 868 First available year 880.7
2022–23 820 Decrease of 48 (5.5%) 893.6
2023–24 778 Decrease of 42 (5.1%) 881.7
2024–25 860 Increase of 82 (10.5%) 871.1
2025–26 938 Increase of 78 (9.1%) 862

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
115

12.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
219

24.61 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
890

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
12.9%
Selected comparison
6.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 492 rated schools reporting

+6.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
24.61
Selected comparison
11.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 566 rated schools reporting

+13.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Harpool MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 911 62 6.8% 102 11.20 4.8% 7.9
2021–22 901 81 9.0% 150 16.65 6.5% 12.2
2022–23 843 71 8.4% 144 17.08 6.7% 12.3
2023–24 812 88 10.8% 156 19.21 6.4% 12.1
2024–25 890 115 12.9% 219 24.61 6.2% 11.6
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Harpool MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 115 12.9% 219 24.61 6.2% 11.6
In-school suspensions 105 11.8% 169 18.99 5.8% 9.3
Out-of-school suspensions 37 4.2% 47 5.28 3.0% 3.9
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$17k$28k20182020202220242025
  • Harpool MS
  • Parent district: Denton ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$15,289
Selected comparison
$10,975

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 729 rated schools reporting

+$4,315 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $15,289 per student for this campus, $26,904 per student for its parent district, Denton ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHarpool MSParent district: Denton ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,549$14,175$13,054$7,358 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 634 rated schools reporting
2019$7,866$14,042$13,108$7,440 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 651 rated schools reporting
2020$8,283$19,314$14,058$7,734 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 663 rated schools reporting
2021$9,017$22,233$14,797$8,290 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 669 rated schools reporting
2022$10,922$21,473$15,708$9,497 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 680 rated schools reporting
2023$10,223$22,155$16,792$9,958 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 697 rated schools reporting
2024$10,838$23,301$18,125$10,816 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 713 rated schools reporting
2025$15,289$26,904$18,972$10,975 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 729 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,215−$4,908 vs similar economic context
Teachers
58+2.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.3+1.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Harpool MS

Beginning: 7.3%1 to 5 years: 19.1%6 to 10 years: 15.3%11 to 20 years: 33.7%21 to 30 years: 24.5%
  • Beginning 7.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 19.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 15.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 33.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 24.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 736 reporting for every category shown · 736 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.4%1 to 5 years: 22.8%6 to 10 years: 19.9%11 to 20 years: 32.6%21 to 30 years: 17.2%Over 30 years: 2.8%
  • Beginning 4.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.2%
  • Over 30 years 2.8%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Harpool MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHarpool MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 623.919.5
Secondary English22.318
Secondary languages other than English20.720.3
Secondary math21.418.2
Secondary science25.620.6
Secondary social studies26.920.7

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

2 measures

  • 25of 730

    Science — Masters

    Region 11: Fort Worth · of the 730 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 148of 2,733

    Science — Meets

    Similar size · of the 2,733 that report this measure · tied with 15

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 061901048.