Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

George Herbert Walker Bush Elem

Dallas County · Region 10: Richardson · 774 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
76/1002025-26
Change
−17 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−3.0 ptsvs 79 average · 2,011 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,271 of 2,011tied with 56 others
C76

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 87 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 79 average for 2,011 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 50.6% avg · +4.4 pts
Masters
28%vs 19.8% avg · +8.2 pts

Among 1,884 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

George Herbert Walker Bush Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 76 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79 average for 2,011 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 17 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,271st of 2,011 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 56 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageGeorge Herbert Walker Bush Elem 9381747876 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 87 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7679.0 2,011 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7878.8 1,993 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7476.7 1,977 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8177.2 1,952 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9382.0 1,933 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement73 C−2.8 vs similar economic context · 1,886 reporting
  • School Progress77 C−3.1 vs similar economic context · 1,879 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps74 C−2.2 vs similar economic context · 1,868 reporting
  • Academic Growth75 C+1.9 vs similar economic context · 1,824 reporting
  • Relative Performance77 C−1.5 vs similar economic context · 1,879 reporting
  • George Herbert Walker Bush Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,011 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement73C7
School Progress77C3
Closing the Gaps74C6
Academic Growth75C5
Relative Performance77C3

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 3 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (77), so Student Achievement (73) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 77.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level71%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,886 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,886 reporting
  • Masters grade level20%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,886 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,884 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,884 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,884 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,876 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,876 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,876 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,733 reporting
  • Meets grade level24%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,733 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,733 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,011 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
774
Economically disadvantaged
70.8%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
58.1%+37.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
9.3%−9.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.1%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
19.0%+1.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

George Herbert Walker Bush Elem

African American: 19.5%Hispanic: 66.9%White: 6.2%American Indian: 1.2%Asian: 1.6%Two or More Races: 4.7%
  • African American 19.5%
  • Hispanic 66.9%
  • White 6.2%
  • American Indian 1.2%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Two or More Races 4.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,011 reporting for every category shown · 2,011 in full cohort

African American: 12.5%Hispanic: 57.4%White: 24.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.4%
  • African American 12.5%
  • Hispanic 57.4%
  • White 24.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
774
Economically disadvantaged students
548
Emergent bilingual students
450
Special education students
72

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
220
Students in TEA mobility denominator
768
TEA-published mobility rate
28.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 774 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 60 (7.2%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
774

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−60

Decrease · −7.2%

Change since 2021–22
+118

Increase · +18.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
774
Selected comparison
634.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,975 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for George Herbert Walker Bush Elem
School yearStudents enrolledGeorge Herbert Walker Bush ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 656 First available year 646.3
2022–23 624 Decrease of 32 (4.9%) 653
2023–24 688 Increase of 64 (10.3%) 651.3
2024–25 834 Increase of 146 (21.2%) 649.9
2025–26 774 Decrease of 60 (7.2%) 634.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
980

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for George Herbert Walker Bush Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 696 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 772 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 750 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 848 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 980 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for George Herbert Walker Bush Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$15k$24k20182020202220242025
  • George Herbert Walker Bush Elem
  • Parent district: Dallas ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,440
Selected comparison
$13,190

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,992 rated schools reporting

−$2,750 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,440 per student for this campus, $23,271 per student for its parent district, Dallas ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearGeorge Herbert Walker Bush ElemParent district: Dallas ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,828$13,363$13,054$8,039 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,855 rated schools reporting
2019$7,027$13,990$13,108$8,202 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,874 rated schools reporting
2020$7,339$14,981$14,058$8,742 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 rated schools reporting
2021$9,001$17,075$14,797$9,250 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,910 rated schools reporting
2022$7,816$18,716$15,708$10,511 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 rated schools reporting
2023$9,246$20,932$16,792$11,220 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,954 rated schools reporting
2024$13,261$22,990$18,125$12,420 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,976 rated schools reporting
2025$10,440$23,271$18,972$13,190 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,992 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$70,116+$3,668 vs similar economic context
Teachers
44+1.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
17.6+3.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

George Herbert Walker Bush Elem

Beginning: 11.4%1 to 5 years: 43.2%6 to 10 years: 13.6%11 to 20 years: 23.9%21 to 30 years: 2.3%Over 30 years: 5.7%
  • Beginning 11.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 43.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 13.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 2.3%
  • Over 30 years 5.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,011 reporting for every category shown · 2,011 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.6%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 18.9%11 to 20 years: 27.4%21 to 30 years: 15.4%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.4%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for George Herbert Walker Bush Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classGeorge Herbert Walker Bush Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten20.517.9
Grade 118.318.2
Grade 22018.3
Grade 316.918.6
Grade 423.618.8
Grade 520.319.8
Grade 627.917.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057905304.