Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Garcia MS

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 910 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
79/1002025-26
Change
−4 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+1.6 ptsvs 77.4 average · 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,111 of 2,391tied with 114 others
C79

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 79 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.4 average for 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Relative Performance rose 4 points

77 to 81 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 81 is 4.3 points above the 76.7 average among 2,223 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
46%vs 44.6% avg · +1.4 pts
Masters
19%vs 17.5% avg · +1.5 pts

Among 2,228 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Garcia MS is rated C by TEA, scoring 79 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.4 average for 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 4 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,111th of 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 114 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageGarcia MS 8367767779 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 79 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7977.4 2,391 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7777.1 2,378 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7673.9 2,360 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6774.1 2,348 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8381.6 2,318 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement71 C+0.2 vs similar economic context · 2,229 reporting
  • School Progress81 B+2.5 vs similar economic context · 2,223 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps74 C−0.5 vs similar economic context · 2,209 reporting
  • Academic Growth73 C+0.6 vs similar economic context · 2,180 reporting
  • Relative Performance81 B+4.3 vs similar economic context · 2,223 reporting
  • Garcia MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,391 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement71C9
School Progress81B9
Closing the Gaps74C6
Academic Growth73C7
Relative Performance81B9

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 6 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (81), so Student Achievement (71) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 81.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level63%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,229 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,229 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,229 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,228 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,228 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,228 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,219 reporting
  • Meets grade level37%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,219 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,219 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 reporting
  • Meets grade level32%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level42%−22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 785 reporting
  • Meets grade level18%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 785 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 785 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,391 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
910
Economically disadvantaged
86.7%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
46.9%+10.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.1%−3.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
91.9%−1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
28.2%+5.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Garcia MS

African American: 19.6%Hispanic: 74.8%White: 2.5%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 1.5%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • African American 19.6%
  • Hispanic 74.8%
  • White 2.5%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 1.5%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,391 reporting for every category shown · 2,391 in full cohort

African American: 14.2%Hispanic: 73.9%White: 8.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.9%
  • African American 14.2%
  • Hispanic 73.9%
  • White 8.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
908
Economically disadvantaged students
787
Emergent bilingual students
426
Special education students
137

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
230
Students in TEA mobility denominator
1,105
TEA-published mobility rate
20.8%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 910 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 56 (5.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
910

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−56

Decrease · −5.8%

Change since 2021–22
−241

Decrease · −20.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
910
Selected comparison
602.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,362 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Garcia MS
School yearStudents enrolledGarcia MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,151 First available year 637.6
2022–23 1,054 Decrease of 97 (8.4%) 635.3
2023–24 965 Decrease of 89 (8.4%) 627.3
2024–25 966 Increase of 1 (0.1%) 623.7
2025–26 910 Decrease of 56 (5.8%) 602.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
271

25.0% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
701

64.67 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,084

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
25.0%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,599 rated schools reporting

+11.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
64.67
Selected comparison
31.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,718 rated schools reporting

+32.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Garcia MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,358 88 6.5% 169 12.44 7.6% 14.8
2021–22 1,246 309 24.8% 1,130 90.69 12.7% 30.4
2022–23 1,160 321 27.7% 989 85.26 13.7% 33.8
2023–24 1,090 313 28.7% 822 75.41 13.8% 33.9
2024–25 1,084 271 25.0% 701 64.67 13.3% 31.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Garcia MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 271 25.0% 701 64.67 13.3% 31.9
In-school suspensions 213 19.6% 373 34.41 11.7% 23
Out-of-school suspensions 131 12.1% 254 23.43 8.9% 14.3
DAEP placements 41 3.8% 57 5.26 5.2% 6.3
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k2019202120232025
  • Garcia MS
  • Parent district: Aldine ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,556
Selected comparison
$13,294

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,376 rated schools reporting

−$1,738 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,556 per student for this campus, $17,481 per student for its parent district, Aldine ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearGarcia MSParent district: Aldine ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2019$6,596$11,964$13,108$8,324 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,279 rated schools reporting
2020$7,398$11,579$14,058$8,846 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,290 rated schools reporting
2021$7,175$13,398$14,797$9,563 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,296 rated schools reporting
2022$8,320$13,566$15,708$11,071 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,318 rated schools reporting
2023$9,661$15,592$16,792$11,588 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,346 rated schools reporting
2024$10,569$17,695$18,125$12,579 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,361 rated schools reporting
2025$11,556$17,481$18,972$13,294 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,376 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$72,528+$4,764 vs similar economic context
Teachers
72+30.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.7−1.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Garcia MS

Beginning: 5.7%1 to 5 years: 17.2%6 to 10 years: 28%11 to 20 years: 31.7%21 to 30 years: 16%Over 30 years: 1.4%
  • Beginning 5.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 17.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 28%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 16%
  • Over 30 years 1.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,391 reporting for every category shown · 2,391 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.2%1 to 5 years: 27.4%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Garcia MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classGarcia MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 62017.6
Secondary English14.115.3
Secondary languages other than English13.418.4
Secondary math2216.7
Secondary science17.817.9
Secondary social studies18.417.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101902053.