Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Freeman Elem

Dallas County · Region 10: Richardson · 594 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
85/1002025-26
Change
−4 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−2.2 ptsvs 87.2 average · 1,030 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
694 of 1,030tied with 33 others
B85

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 88 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 87.2 average for 1,030 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
63%vs 58.1% avg · +4.9 pts
Masters
41%vs 26.9% avg · +14.1 pts

Among 1,008 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Academic Growth above the similar-context average

86 +5.8 pts vs 80.2

  • 86 is 5.8 points above the 80.2 average among 991 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Freeman Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 85 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 87.2 average for 1,030 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 4 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 694th of 1,030 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 33 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageFreeman Elem 8987908585 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 88 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8587.2 1,030 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8587.1 1,011 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9085.8 996 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8786.2 980 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8987.4 966 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement85 B−2.9 vs similar economic context · 1,011 reporting
  • School Progress86 B+1.8 vs similar economic context · 1,009 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps82 B−2.7 vs similar economic context · 1,002 reporting
  • Academic Growth86 B+5.8 vs similar economic context · 991 reporting
  • Relative Performance72 C−7.9 vs similar economic context · 1,009 reporting
  • Freeman Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,030 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement85B5
School Progress86B4
Closing the Gaps82B8
Academic Growth86B4
Relative Performance72C8

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 4 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (86), so Student Achievement (85) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 86.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level75%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,011 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,011 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,011 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,010 reporting
  • Meets grade level62%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,010 reporting
  • Masters grade level39%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,010 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,008 reporting
  • Meets grade level63%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,008 reporting
  • Masters grade level41%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,008 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level56%−29 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 922 reporting
  • Meets grade level27%−36 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 922 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 922 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,030 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
594
Economically disadvantaged
30.5%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
57.9%+47.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
12.5%−4.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.1%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
14.5%+3.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Freeman Elem

African American: 16.3%Hispanic: 11.4%White: 2.5%American Indian: 1%Asian: 66.2%Two or More Races: 2.5%
  • African American 16.3%
  • Hispanic 11.4%
  • White 2.5%
  • American Indian 1%
  • Asian 66.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,030 reporting for every category shown · 1,030 in full cohort

African American: 9%Hispanic: 30.1%White: 48%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 7.6%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.8%
  • African American 9%
  • Hispanic 30.1%
  • White 48%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 7.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
594
Economically disadvantaged students
181
Emergent bilingual students
344
Special education students
74

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
160
Students in TEA mobility denominator
506
TEA-published mobility rate
31.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 594 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 57 (8.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
594

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−57

Decrease · −8.8%

Change since 2021–22
−133

Decrease · −18.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
594
Selected comparison
790.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,018 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Freeman Elem
School yearStudents enrolledFreeman ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 727 First available year 803.5
2022–23 712 Decrease of 15 (2.1%) 806.1
2023–24 722 Increase of 10 (1.4%) 802.5
2024–25 651 Decrease of 71 (9.8%) 799
2025–26 594 Decrease of 57 (8.8%) 790.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
25

3.3% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
38

4.95 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
767

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
3.3%
Selected comparison
8.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 771 rated schools reporting

−5.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
4.95
Selected comparison
18

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 861 rated schools reporting

−13.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Freeman Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 819 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 904 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 862 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 847 11 1.3% 15 1.77 9.2% 19.3
2024–25 767 25 3.3% 38 4.95 8.9% 18
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Freeman Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 25 3.3% 38 4.95 8.9% 18
In-school suspensions 24 3.1% 33 4.30 8.0% 14.1
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$14k$22k20182020202220242025
  • Freeman Elem
  • Parent district: Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,309
Selected comparison
$11,715

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,010 rated schools reporting

−$2,406 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,309 per student for this campus, $21,031 per student for its parent district, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearFreeman ElemParent district: Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,493$11,879$13,054$7,650 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 910 rated schools reporting
2019$7,482$14,148$13,108$7,785 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 924 rated schools reporting
2020$7,676$14,789$14,058$8,119 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 935 rated schools reporting
2021$8,064$17,995$14,797$8,535 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 946 rated schools reporting
2022$8,103$20,893$15,708$9,778 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 965 rated schools reporting
2023$8,217$18,021$16,792$10,319 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 981 rated schools reporting
2024$8,637$17,883$18,125$11,476 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 995 rated schools reporting
2025$9,309$21,031$18,972$11,715 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,010 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$67,008−$1,218 vs similar economic context
Teachers
39−12.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.2+0.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Freeman Elem

Beginning: 10.3%1 to 5 years: 48.7%6 to 10 years: 23.1%11 to 20 years: 12.8%21 to 30 years: 5.1%
  • Beginning 10.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 48.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 23.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 12.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 5.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,030 reporting for every category shown · 1,030 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.9%1 to 5 years: 22.5%6 to 10 years: 19.7%11 to 20 years: 32.3%21 to 30 years: 17.3%Over 30 years: 3.2%
  • Beginning 4.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.3%
  • Over 30 years 3.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Freeman Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classFreeman Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten18.518.5
Grade 117.719
Grade 218.719.6
Grade 316.120.4
Grade 416.120
Grade 521.921.5

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057903128.