Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Ervin Elem

Lubbock County · Region 17: Lubbock · 350 students

Current score
74/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−3.6 ptsvs 77.6 average · 2,125 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,400 of 2,125tied with 63 others
C74

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 80 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.6 average for 2,125 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Read the full rating context and placement

Ervin Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 74 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.6 average for 2,125 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,400th of 2,125 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 63 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageErvin Elem 7271747974 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 80 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7477.6 2,125 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7977.3 2,107 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7473.8 2,089 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7173.4 2,081 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7281.8 2,055 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement67 D−3.3 vs similar economic context · 1,972 reporting
  • School Progress74 C−4.7 vs similar economic context · 1,969 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps74 C−0.9 vs similar economic context · 1,955 reporting
  • Academic Growth71 C−2.1 vs similar economic context · 1,937 reporting
  • Relative Performance74 C−2.8 vs similar economic context · 1,968 reporting
  • Ervin Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,125 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement67D3
School Progress74C6
Closing the Gaps74C6
Academic Growth71C9
Relative Performance74C6

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 6 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (74), so Student Achievement (67) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 74.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level66%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,972 reporting
  • Meets grade level37%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,972 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,972 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,971 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,971 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,971 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,965 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,965 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,965 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level53%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,855 reporting
  • Meets grade level20%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,855 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,855 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,125 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
350
Economically disadvantaged
92.2%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
2.0%−38.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
16.4%−1.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.8%+0.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
22.2%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Ervin Elem

African American: 58.8%Hispanic: 35.4%White: 4.3%Two or More Races: 1.4%
  • African American 58.8%
  • Hispanic 35.4%
  • White 4.3%
  • Two or More Races 1.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,125 reporting for every category shown · 2,125 in full cohort

African American: 14.9%Hispanic: 76.3%White: 5.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 14.9%
  • Hispanic 76.3%
  • White 5.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
347
Economically disadvantaged students
320
Emergent bilingual students
7
Special education students
57

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
77
Students in TEA mobility denominator
312
TEA-published mobility rate
24.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 350 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 46 (11.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
350

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−46

Decrease · −11.6%

Change since 2021–22
−28

Decrease · −7.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
350
Selected comparison
571.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,102 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Ervin Elem
School yearStudents enrolledErvin ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 378 First available year 616.6
2022–23 405 Increase of 27 (7.1%) 613.1
2023–24 399 Decrease of 6 (1.5%) 603.1
2024–25 396 Decrease of 3 (0.8%) 596.3
2025–26 350 Decrease of 46 (11.6%) 571.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
10

2.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
14

3.29 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
425

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
2.4%
Selected comparison
13.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,288 rated schools reporting

−10.8 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
3.29
Selected comparison
31.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,388 rated schools reporting

−27.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Ervin Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 458 11 2.4% 14 3.06 7.1% 13.6
2021–22 438 35 8.0% 49 11.19 12.6% 30
2022–23 431 19 4.4% 26 6.03 13.6% 32.9
2023–24 430 24 5.6% 30 6.98 13.7% 33.2
2024–25 425 10 2.4% 14 3.29 13.1% 31.2
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Ervin Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 10 2.4% 14 3.29 13.1% 31.2
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Ervin Elem
  • Parent district: Lubbock ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,302
Selected comparison
$13,200

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,105 rated schools reporting

−$3,898 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,302 per student for this campus, $14,938 per student for its parent district, Lubbock ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearErvin ElemParent district: Lubbock ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,807$11,154$13,054$8,322 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,004 rated schools reporting
2019$8,427$11,025$13,108$8,337 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,031 rated schools reporting
2020$9,683$12,439$14,058$8,843 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,035 rated schools reporting
2021$11,257$14,076$14,797$9,658 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,038 rated schools reporting
2022$11,894$14,384$15,708$11,222 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,055 rated schools reporting
2023$11,336$16,314$16,792$11,728 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,080 rated schools reporting
2024$11,071$15,605$18,125$12,640 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,092 rated schools reporting
2025$9,302$14,938$18,972$13,200 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,105 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$53,595−$14,682 vs similar economic context
Teachers
28−11.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.2−2.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Ervin Elem

Beginning: 21.1%1 to 5 years: 49.3%6 to 10 years: 10.6%11 to 20 years: 7%21 to 30 years: 4.9%Over 30 years: 7%
  • Beginning 21.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 49.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 10.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 7%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.9%
  • Over 30 years 7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,125 reporting for every category shown · 2,125 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.2%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Ervin Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classErvin Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten2018.1
Grade 12018.4
Grade 216.318.3
Grade 318.318.5
Grade 41818.5
Grade 51619.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 152901196.