Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Emerson HS

Collin County · Region 10: Richardson · 1,853 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
89/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−0.9 ptsvs 89.9 average · 749 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
481 of 749tied with 51 others
B89

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 88 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 89.9 average for 749 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
86%vs 67.3% avg · +18.7 pts
Masters
56%vs 40.8% avg · +15.2 pts

Among 685 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Closing the Gaps above the similar-context average

91 +3.6 pts vs 87.4

  • 91 is 3.6 points above the 87.4 average among 734 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Emerson HS is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 89.9 average for 749 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 481st of 749 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 51 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageEmerson HS 8788918889 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 88 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8989.9 749 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8890.1 744 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9189.0 727 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8889.4 710 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8790.3 695 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement88 B−2.9 vs similar economic context · 739 reporting
  • School Progress79 C−7.1 vs similar economic context · 737 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps91 A+3.6 vs similar economic context · 734 reporting
  • Academic Growth70 C−13.9 vs similar economic context · 728 reporting
  • Relative Performance79 C−0.2 vs similar economic context · 737 reporting
  • Emerson HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (749 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement88B2
School Progress79C1
Closing the Gaps91A—
Academic Growth70C10
Relative Performance79C1

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (88), so School Progress (79) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 88.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level93%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 739 reporting
  • Meets grade level77%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 739 reporting
  • Masters grade level34%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 739 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 739 reporting
  • Meets grade level78%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 739 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%−25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 739 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level89%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 737 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 737 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 737 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level97%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 685 reporting
  • Meets grade level86%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 685 reporting
  • Masters grade level56%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 685 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level97%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 reporting
  • Meets grade level85%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 reporting
  • Masters grade level55%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 306 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (749 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
0.0%−88.0 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
0.0%−88.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
0.0%−88.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 162 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
77.0%−11.9 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria77.0%88.9%−11.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course62.2%67.7%−5.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 157 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA58.2%54.7%+3.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 157 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)51.6%32.5%+19.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 157 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course10.4%38.3%−27.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 157 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification5.5%30.6%−25.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 157 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%0.3%−0.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 157 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%3.7%−3.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 157 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.2%8.9%−8.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 157 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness3.0%2.3%+0.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 157 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student6.8%5.6%+1.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 157 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces0.8%2.2%−1.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 157 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
392

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
158

40.3% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
146

37.2% of graduates

Not trackable
88

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
392
Selected comparison
401.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
158
Selected comparison
192.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
40.3%
Selected comparison
50.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 rated schools reporting

−10.4 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
37.2%
Selected comparison
39.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 rated schools reporting

−2.5 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
22.4%
Selected comparison
9.6%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 rated schools reporting

+12.8 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. COLLIN CO COMM COLL DISTRICT (023614)53
  2. U. OF TEXAS AT DALLAS (009741)17
  3. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH TEXAS (003594)17

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,853
Economically disadvantaged
18.6%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
3.2%−7.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
10.4%−6.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.6%−1.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.0%+4.0 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Emerson HS

African American: 16.7%Hispanic: 12.9%White: 28%American Indian: 0.5%Asian: 36.5%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.4%
  • African American 16.7%
  • Hispanic 12.9%
  • White 28%
  • American Indian 0.5%
  • Asian 36.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 749 reporting for every category shown · 749 in full cohort

African American: 7.4%Hispanic: 23.4%White: 48.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 15%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.5%
  • African American 7.4%
  • Hispanic 23.4%
  • White 48.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 15%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,853
Economically disadvantaged students
345
Emergent bilingual students
60
Special education students
192

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
117
Students in TEA mobility denominator
1,916
TEA-published mobility rate
6.1%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,853 students in 2025–26, an increase of 9 (0.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,853

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+9

Increase · +0.5%

Change since 2021–22
+1,025

Increase · +123.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
1,853
Selected comparison
871.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 744 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Emerson HS
School yearStudents enrolledEmerson HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 828 First available year 888.5
2022–23 1,321 Increase of 493 (59.5%) 902
2023–24 1,763 Increase of 442 (33.5%) 891.9
2024–25 1,844 Increase of 81 (4.6%) 880.6
2025–26 1,853 Increase of 9 (0.5%) 871.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
89

4.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
181

9.46 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,914

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
4.7%
Selected comparison
6.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 506 rated schools reporting

−1.8 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
9.46
Selected comparison
12.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 582 rated schools reporting

−2.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Emerson HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2021–22 865 37 4.3% 74 8.55 6.7% 12.6
2022–23 1,376 51 3.7% 83 6.03 6.9% 12.9
2023–24 1,819 111 6.1% 266 14.62 6.6% 12.6
2024–25 1,914 89 4.7% 181 9.46 6.4% 12.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Emerson HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 89 4.7% 181 9.46 6.4% 12.1
In-school suspensions 62 3.2% 76 3.97 6.0% 9.7
Out-of-school suspensions 55 2.9% 67 3.50 3.1% 4.1
DAEP placements 32 1.7% 35 1.83 2.2% 2.5
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$15k$22k202220242025
  • Emerson HS
  • Parent district: Frisco ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,057
Selected comparison
$11,020

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 743 rated schools reporting

−$2,963 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,057 per student for this campus, $15,444 per student for its parent district, Frisco ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearEmerson HSParent district: Frisco ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2022$20,844$14,644$15,708$9,508 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 695 rated schools reporting
2023$9,911$15,227$16,792$9,975 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 711 rated schools reporting
2024$8,314$14,358$18,125$10,840 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 727 rated schools reporting
2025$8,057$15,444$18,972$11,020 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 743 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$70,287+$1,205 vs similar economic context
Teachers
118+62.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.7+0.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Emerson HS

Beginning: 4.1%1 to 5 years: 33.7%6 to 10 years: 26.8%11 to 20 years: 23.7%21 to 30 years: 10%Over 30 years: 1.7%
  • Beginning 4.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 33.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 26.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 10%
  • Over 30 years 1.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 749 reporting for every category shown · 749 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.4%1 to 5 years: 22.9%6 to 10 years: 20%11 to 20 years: 32.6%21 to 30 years: 17.2%Over 30 years: 2.8%
  • Beginning 4.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 20%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.2%
  • Over 30 years 2.8%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Emerson HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classEmerson HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English20.218.1
Secondary languages other than English20.820.3
Secondary math24.918.3
Secondary science23.620.6
Secondary social studies24.520.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 10of 35

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Collin County · of the 35 that report this measure

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

4 measures

  • 26of 463

    Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)

    Similar size · of the 463 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 53of 1,037

    Science — Meets

    Region 10: Richardson · of the 1,037 that report this measure · tied with 9

  • 295of 6,717

    Science — Masters

    Texas average · of the 6,717 that report this measure · tied with 29

  • 386of 7,260

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Texas average · of the 7,260 that report this measure · tied with 109

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 043905013.