Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Decker Prairie Elem

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 671 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
89/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+2.7 ptsvs 86.3 average · 1,143 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
477 of 1,143tied with 65 others
B89

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 85 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 86.3 average for 1,143 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 5 points

84 to 89 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 89 is 2.7 points above the 86.3 average among 1,143 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Relative Performance rose 7 points

75 to 82 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 82 is 2.1 points above the 79.9 average among 1,113 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
65%vs 62% avg · +3 pts
Masters
36%vs 30% avg · +6 pts

Among 1,116 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Decker Prairie Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 86.3 average for 1,143 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 477th of 1,143 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 65 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageDecker Prairie Elem 8782908489 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 85 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8986.3 1,143 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8486.2 1,119 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9084.8 1,103 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8285.1 1,090 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8786.6 1,074 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement91 A+4.1 vs similar economic context · 1,116 reporting
  • School Progress90 A+6.4 vs similar economic context · 1,113 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps83 B−0.7 vs similar economic context · 1,104 reporting
  • Academic Growth90 A+10.6 vs similar economic context · 1,094 reporting
  • Relative Performance82 B+2.1 vs similar economic context · 1,113 reporting
  • Decker Prairie Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,143 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement91A—
School Progress90A—
Closing the Gaps83B7
Academic Growth90A—
Relative Performance82B8

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 7 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (91), so School Progress (90) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 91.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level85%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,116 reporting
  • Meets grade level65%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,116 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,116 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,115 reporting
  • Meets grade level71%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,115 reporting
  • Masters grade level44%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,115 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level81%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,143 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
671
Economically disadvantaged
33.8%−1.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
5.0%−5.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.0%−2.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.4%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
8.4%−3.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Decker Prairie Elem

African American: 3.6%Hispanic: 29%White: 59.8%Asian: 2.9%Two or More Races: 4.8%
  • African American 3.6%
  • Hispanic 29%
  • White 59.8%
  • Asian 2.9%
  • Two or More Races 4.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,143 reporting for every category shown · 1,143 in full cohort

African American: 9%Hispanic: 31.7%White: 47.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 6.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.7%
  • African American 9%
  • Hispanic 31.7%
  • White 47.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 6.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
666
Economically disadvantaged students
225
Emergent bilingual students
33
Special education students
100

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
72
Students in TEA mobility denominator
567
TEA-published mobility rate
12.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 671 students in 2025–26, an increase of 28 (4.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
671

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+28

Increase · +4.4%

Change since 2021–22
−65

Decrease · −8.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
671
Selected comparison
763.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,121 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Decker Prairie Elem
School yearStudents enrolledDecker Prairie ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 736 First available year 774.6
2022–23 755 Increase of 19 (2.6%) 776.6
2023–24 713 Decrease of 42 (5.6%) 775.2
2024–25 643 Decrease of 70 (9.8%) 771.1
2025–26 671 Increase of 28 (4.4%) 763.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
15

2.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
23

3.43 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
671

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
2.2%
Selected comparison
9.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 876 rated schools reporting

−7.5 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
3.43
Selected comparison
20.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 955 rated schools reporting

−17.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Decker Prairie Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 712 14 2.0% 36 5.06 7.9% 14.5
2021–22 804 11 1.4% 16 1.99 10.0% 20.7
2022–23 817 24 2.9% 38 4.65 10.3% 21.8
2023–24 733 20 2.7% 44 6.00 10.1% 22
2024–25 671 15 2.2% 23 3.43 9.7% 20.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Decker Prairie Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 15 2.2% 23 3.43 9.7% 20.5
In-school suspensions 15 2.2% 23 3.43 8.7% 15.8
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$14k$23k20182020202220242025
  • Decker Prairie Elem
  • Parent district: Tomball ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,877
Selected comparison
$11,866

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,119 rated schools reporting

−$1,989 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,877 per student for this campus, $21,509 per student for its parent district, Tomball ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearDecker Prairie ElemParent district: Tomball ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,700$11,700$13,054$7,664 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,019 rated schools reporting
2019$6,642$11,319$13,108$7,773 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,033 rated schools reporting
2020$7,395$15,650$14,058$8,118 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,041 rated schools reporting
2021$8,856$18,409$14,797$8,569 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,053 rated schools reporting
2022$8,163$14,749$15,708$9,827 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,073 rated schools reporting
2023$8,411$14,385$16,792$10,403 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,091 rated schools reporting
2024$8,919$19,421$18,125$11,438 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,103 rated schools reporting
2025$9,877$21,509$18,972$11,866 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,119 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$71,735+$3,786 vs similar economic context
Teachers
45−5.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.8+0.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Decker Prairie Elem

Beginning: 2.2%1 to 5 years: 26.7%6 to 10 years: 20%11 to 20 years: 35.6%21 to 30 years: 13.3%Over 30 years: 2.2%
  • Beginning 2.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 20%
  • 11 to 20 years 35.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 13.3%
  • Over 30 years 2.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,143 reporting for every category shown · 1,143 in full cohort

Beginning: 5%1 to 5 years: 22.6%6 to 10 years: 19.6%11 to 20 years: 31.9%21 to 30 years: 17.3%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 5%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.3%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Decker Prairie Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classDecker Prairie Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten18.418.5
Grade 12019
Grade 219.319.4
Grade 334.420.1
Grade 430.219.7

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101921102.