Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

D J Red Simon MS

Hays County · Region 13: Austin · 875 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
80/1002025-26
Change
+16 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+2.2 ptsvs 77.8 average · 2,136 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
921 of 2,136tied with 97 others
B80

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 65 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.8 average for 2,136 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 8 points

72 to 80 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 80 is 2.2 points above the 77.8 average among 2,136 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Relative Performance rose 20 points

60 to 80 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 80 is 2.5 points above the 77.5 average among 1,969 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Closing the Gaps above the similar-context average

80 +4.9 pts vs 75.1

  • 80 is 4.9 points above the 75.1 average among 1,954 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

D J Red Simon MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 80 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.8 average for 2,136 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 16 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 921st of 2,136 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 97 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageD J Red Simon MS 6469597280 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 65 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8077.8 2,136 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7277.5 2,124 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24F5975.1 2,108 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6975.5 2,091 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6481.6 2,073 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C−0.8 vs similar economic context · 1,974 reporting
  • School Progress80 B+0.9 vs similar economic context · 1,969 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps80 B+4.9 vs similar economic context · 1,954 reporting
  • Academic Growth79 C+6.7 vs similar economic context · 1,920 reporting
  • Relative Performance80 B+2.5 vs similar economic context · 1,969 reporting
  • D J Red Simon MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,136 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress80B10
Closing the Gaps80B10
Academic Growth79C1
Relative Performance80B10

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 10 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (80), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 80.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level67%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level75%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,972 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,972 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,972 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,964 reporting
  • Meets grade level36%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,964 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,964 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,823 reporting
  • Meets grade level41%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,823 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%±0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,823 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level42%−26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 809 reporting
  • Meets grade level16%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 809 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 809 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,136 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
875
Economically disadvantaged
78.7%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
43.3%+15.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.4%+2.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.9%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
23.6%+3.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

D J Red Simon MS

African American: 3.9%Hispanic: 86.7%White: 8%Asian: 0.5%Two or More Races: 0.9%
  • African American 3.9%
  • Hispanic 86.7%
  • White 8%
  • Asian 0.5%
  • Two or More Races 0.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,136 reporting for every category shown · 2,136 in full cohort

African American: 13.9%Hispanic: 66.2%White: 14.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.8%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.7%
  • African American 13.9%
  • Hispanic 66.2%
  • White 14.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
875
Economically disadvantaged students
689
Emergent bilingual students
379
Special education students
187

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
148
Students in TEA mobility denominator
989
TEA-published mobility rate
15%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 875 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 23 (2.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
875

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−23

Decrease · −2.6%

Change since 2021–22
+156

Increase · +21.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
875
Selected comparison
634.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,107 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for D J Red Simon MS
School yearStudents enrolledD J Red Simon MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 719 First available year 656.7
2022–23 733 Increase of 14 (1.9%) 660.8
2023–24 824 Increase of 91 (12.4%) 655.8
2024–25 898 Increase of 74 (9.0%) 652.4
2025–26 875 Decrease of 23 (2.6%) 634.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
214

21.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
623

63.77 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
977

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
21.9%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,592 rated schools reporting

+8.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
63.77
Selected comparison
32.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 rated schools reporting

+31.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for D J Red Simon MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 734 76 10.3% 166 22.62 8.6% 17.1
2021–22 795 216 27.2% 574 72.20 12.9% 31.1
2022–23 809 241 29.8% 738 91.22 13.7% 34.1
2023–24 906 260 28.7% 743 82.01 13.7% 34
2024–25 977 214 21.9% 623 63.77 13.3% 32.4
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for D J Red Simon MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 214 21.9% 623 63.77 13.3% 32.4
In-school suspensions 178 18.2% 430 44.01 11.7% 23.5
Out-of-school suspensions 87 8.9% 109 11.16 8.1% 12.9
DAEP placements 67 6.9% 81 8.29 5.3% 6.4
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$15k$24k20182020202220242025
  • D J Red Simon MS
  • Parent district: Hays CISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,686
Selected comparison
$13,039

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,123 rated schools reporting

−$3,353 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,686 per student for this campus, $22,838 per student for its parent district, Hays CISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearD J Red Simon MSParent district: Hays CISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,381$17,264$13,054$8,103 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,008 rated schools reporting
2019$6,593$12,654$13,108$8,254 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,028 rated schools reporting
2020$7,650$11,919$14,058$8,758 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,044 rated schools reporting
2021$8,684$13,235$14,797$9,400 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,057 rated schools reporting
2022$9,089$17,669$15,708$10,758 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 rated schools reporting
2023$13,109$17,636$16,792$11,296 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,091 rated schools reporting
2024$10,485$22,264$18,125$12,304 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,108 rated schools reporting
2025$9,686$22,838$18,972$13,039 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,123 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$66,672−$251 vs similar economic context
Teachers
58+14.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.2+1.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

D J Red Simon MS

Beginning: 1.7%1 to 5 years: 25%6 to 10 years: 31.8%11 to 20 years: 29.2%21 to 30 years: 10.4%Over 30 years: 1.7%
  • Beginning 1.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 25%
  • 6 to 10 years 31.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 10.4%
  • Over 30 years 1.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,136 reporting for every category shown · 2,136 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.9%1 to 5 years: 27.6%6 to 10 years: 18.9%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 6.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for D J Red Simon MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classD J Red Simon MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 614.117.8
Secondary English1415.4
Secondary languages other than English2118.2
Secondary math11.116.5
Secondary science13.617.8
Secondary social studies1317.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 105906046.