Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Cross Timbers MS

Tarrant County · Region 11: Fort Worth · 811 students

Current score
92/1002025-26
Change
+3 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+4.9 ptsvs 87.1 average · 1,068 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
215 of 1,068tied with 112 others
A92

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 89 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 87.1 average for 1,068 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 4 points

88 to 92 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 92 is 4.9 points above the 87.1 average among 1,068 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 9 points

83 to 92 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 92 is 7.5 points above the 84.5 average among 1,036 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
72%vs 63.8% avg · +8.2 pts
Masters
48%vs 31.7% avg · +16.3 pts

Among 1,046 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Cross Timbers MS is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 87.1 average for 1,068 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 3 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 215th of 1,068 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 112 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageCross Timbers MS 8987878892 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 89 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9287.1 1,068 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8886.9 1,048 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8785.6 1,030 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8786.0 1,015 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8987.3 1,000 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement92 A+4.2 vs similar economic context · 1,046 reporting
  • School Progress90 A+5.9 vs similar economic context · 1,044 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps92 A+7.5 vs similar economic context · 1,036 reporting
  • Academic Growth90 A+9.9 vs similar economic context · 1,026 reporting
  • Relative Performance90 A+10.0 vs similar economic context · 1,044 reporting
  • Cross Timbers MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,068 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement92A—
School Progress90A—
Closing the Gaps92A—
Academic Growth90A—
Relative Performance90A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (92), so School Progress (90) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 92.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level88%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,046 reporting
  • Meets grade level72%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,046 reporting
  • Masters grade level48%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,046 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level88%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,045 reporting
  • Meets grade level76%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,045 reporting
  • Masters grade level56%+23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,045 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level87%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,043 reporting
  • Meets grade level70%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,043 reporting
  • Masters grade level43%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,043 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level93%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 954 reporting
  • Meets grade level83%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 954 reporting
  • Masters grade level58%+24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 954 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 538 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 538 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 538 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,068 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
811
Economically disadvantaged
31.1%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
16.0%+5.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.1%−2.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.5%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
5.5%−5.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Cross Timbers MS

African American: 5.4%Hispanic: 32.1%White: 45.9%Asian: 10.1%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 6.2%
  • African American 5.4%
  • Hispanic 32.1%
  • White 45.9%
  • Asian 10.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 6.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,068 reporting for every category shown · 1,068 in full cohort

African American: 9.1%Hispanic: 30.3%White: 48%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 7.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.8%
  • African American 9.1%
  • Hispanic 30.3%
  • White 48%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 7.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
810
Economically disadvantaged students
252
Emergent bilingual students
130
Special education students
122

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
48
Students in TEA mobility denominator
850
TEA-published mobility rate
5.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 811 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 9 (1.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
811

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−9

Decrease · −1.1%

Change since 2021–22
−20

Decrease · −2.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
811
Selected comparison
788.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,055 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Cross Timbers MS
School yearStudents enrolledCross Timbers MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 831 First available year 800.5
2022–23 807 Decrease of 24 (2.9%) 803.3
2023–24 809 Increase of 2 (0.2%) 800.3
2024–25 820 Increase of 11 (1.4%) 796.9
2025–26 811 Decrease of 9 (1.1%) 788.9

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
94

11.1% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
167

19.72 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
847

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
11.1%
Selected comparison
9.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 803 rated schools reporting

+2.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
19.72
Selected comparison
18.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 890 rated schools reporting

+1.2 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Cross Timbers MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 898 28 3.1% 52 5.79 7.3% 13.2
2021–22 864 89 10.3% 189 21.88 9.5% 19.3
2022–23 840 96 11.4% 242 28.81 9.7% 20.1
2023–24 835 63 7.5% 106 12.69 9.3% 19.9
2024–25 847 94 11.1% 167 19.72 9.0% 18.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Cross Timbers MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 94 11.1% 167 19.72 9.0% 18.5
In-school suspensions 93 11.0% 146 17.24 8.1% 14.4
Out-of-school suspensions 11 1.3% 14 1.65 4.4% 6
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Cross Timbers MS
  • Parent district: Grapevine-Colleyville ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,395
Selected comparison
$11,751

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,047 rated schools reporting

−$1,356 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,395 per student for this campus, $16,051 per student for its parent district, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearCross Timbers MSParent district: Grapevine-Colleyville ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,899$18,978$13,054$7,642 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 942 rated schools reporting
2019$7,333$16,422$13,108$7,781 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 958 rated schools reporting
2020$7,598$15,562$14,058$8,117 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 968 rated schools reporting
2021$7,998$16,369$14,797$8,534 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 979 rated schools reporting
2022$9,142$16,148$15,708$9,754 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 999 rated schools reporting
2023$9,747$16,187$16,792$10,281 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,016 rated schools reporting
2024$9,508$15,750$18,125$11,444 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,029 rated schools reporting
2025$10,395$16,051$18,972$11,751 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,047 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$68,562+$372 vs similar economic context
Teachers
56+4.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.5±0.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Cross Timbers MS

Beginning: 5.2%1 to 5 years: 28.3%6 to 10 years: 15.7%11 to 20 years: 37.9%21 to 30 years: 12.7%
  • Beginning 5.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 28.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 15.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 37.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 12.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,068 reporting for every category shown · 1,068 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.9%1 to 5 years: 22.5%6 to 10 years: 19.7%11 to 20 years: 32.2%21 to 30 years: 17.3%Over 30 years: 3.2%
  • Beginning 4.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.3%
  • Over 30 years 3.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Cross Timbers MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classCross Timbers MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 617.318.7
Secondary English14.416.6
Secondary languages other than English18.518.6
Secondary math16.517.4
Secondary science17.518.9
Secondary social studies18.619

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

6 measures

  • 12of 399

    Science — Masters

    Tarrant County · of the 399 that report this measure

  • 14of 399

    Science — Meets

    Tarrant County · of the 399 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 18of 457

    Attendance

    Tarrant County · of the 457 that report this measure · tied with 6

  • 18of 456

    Reading — Masters

    Tarrant County · of the 456 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 41of 813

    All Subjects — Masters

    Region 11: Fort Worth · of the 813 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 43of 810

    Math — Masters

    Region 11: Fort Worth · of the 810 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 220906044.