Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Cheri Cox Elem

Collin County · Region 10: Richardson · 675 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
94/1002025-26
Change
±0 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+6.5 ptsvs 87.5 average · 1,002 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
89 of 1,002tied with 63 others
A94

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is flat; under the rules in force back then it scored 96 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 87.5 average for 1,002 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
77%vs 64.6% avg · +12.4 pts
Masters
52%vs 32.5% avg · +19.5 pts

Among 983 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
78%vs 58.6% avg · +19.4 pts
Masters
52%vs 27.4% avg · +24.6 pts

Among 979 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
77%vs 68.9% avg · +8.1 pts
Masters
51%vs 33.7% avg · +17.3 pts

Among 982 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Cheri Cox Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 87.5 average for 1,002 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is unchanged since 2021-22.

Ranks 89th of 1,002 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 63 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageCheri Cox Elem 9494959494 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 96 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9487.5 1,002 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9487.3 984 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9586.0 972 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9486.3 955 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9487.5 940 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement93 A+4.8 vs similar economic context · 983 reporting
  • School Progress94 A+9.7 vs similar economic context · 980 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps93 A+8.0 vs similar economic context · 973 reporting
  • Academic Growth94 A+13.6 vs similar economic context · 962 reporting
  • Relative Performance90 A+10.0 vs similar economic context · 980 reporting
  • Cheri Cox Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,002 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement93A—
School Progress94A—
Closing the Gaps93A—
Academic Growth94A—
Relative Performance90A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (94), so Student Achievement (93) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 94.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level90%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 983 reporting
  • Meets grade level77%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 983 reporting
  • Masters grade level52%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 983 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 982 reporting
  • Meets grade level77%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 982 reporting
  • Masters grade level51%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 982 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level91%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 979 reporting
  • Meets grade level78%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 979 reporting
  • Masters grade level52%+25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 979 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,002 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
675
Economically disadvantaged
29.6%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
27.1%+16.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
22.1%+4.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.6%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
4.0%−6.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Cheri Cox Elem

African American: 13%Hispanic: 32.4%White: 38.7%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 11.2%Pacific Islander: 0.4%Two or More Races: 3.9%
  • African American 13%
  • Hispanic 32.4%
  • White 38.7%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 11.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.4%
  • Two or More Races 3.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,002 reporting for every category shown · 1,002 in full cohort

African American: 9.1%Hispanic: 29.5%White: 48.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 7.9%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.9%
  • African American 9.1%
  • Hispanic 29.5%
  • White 48.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 7.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
669
Economically disadvantaged students
198
Emergent bilingual students
181
Special education students
148

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
55
Students in TEA mobility denominator
577
TEA-published mobility rate
9.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 675 students in 2025–26, an increase of 5 (0.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
675

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+5

Increase · +0.7%

Change since 2021–22
+63

Increase · +10.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
675
Selected comparison
805.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 991 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Cheri Cox Elem
School yearStudents enrolledCheri Cox ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 612 First available year 821.1
2022–23 633 Increase of 21 (3.4%) 823.2
2023–24 650 Increase of 17 (2.7%) 818.4
2024–25 670 Increase of 20 (3.1%) 814.4
2025–26 675 Increase of 5 (0.7%) 805.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
15

2.1% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
17

2.44 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
698

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
2.1%
Selected comparison
8.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 748 rated schools reporting

−6.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
2.44
Selected comparison
17.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 836 rated schools reporting

−15.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Cheri Cox Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 665 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 631 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 659 15 2.3% 23 3.49 9.5% 19.5
2023–24 698 Suppressed — 18 2.58 — 19.1
2024–25 698 15 2.1% 17 2.44 8.8% 17.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Cheri Cox Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 15 2.1% 17 2.44 8.8% 17.8
In-school suspensions 11 1.6% 11 1.58 7.9% 13.9
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Cheri Cox Elem
  • Parent district: Wylie ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,723
Selected comparison
$11,699

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 983 rated schools reporting

−$976 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,723 per student for this campus, $18,992 per student for its parent district, Wylie ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearCheri Cox ElemParent district: Wylie ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,203$11,092$13,054$7,645 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 888 rated schools reporting
2019$6,887$11,302$13,108$7,773 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 902 rated schools reporting
2020$7,578$14,022$14,058$8,120 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 913 rated schools reporting
2021$8,146$19,093$14,797$8,523 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 922 rated schools reporting
2022$10,103$14,727$15,708$9,730 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 939 rated schools reporting
2023$10,049$13,514$16,792$10,281 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 956 rated schools reporting
2024$10,058$14,796$18,125$11,455 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 971 rated schools reporting
2025$10,723$18,992$18,972$11,699 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 983 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$73,922+$5,669 vs similar economic context
Teachers
46−6.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.6+0.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Cheri Cox Elem

Beginning: 9.8%1 to 5 years: 21.8%6 to 10 years: 13.1%11 to 20 years: 38.1%21 to 30 years: 15.3%Over 30 years: 2.2%
  • Beginning 9.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 21.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 13.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 38.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.3%
  • Over 30 years 2.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,002 reporting for every category shown · 1,002 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.8%1 to 5 years: 22.5%6 to 10 years: 19.6%11 to 20 years: 32.4%21 to 30 years: 17.3%Over 30 years: 3.3%
  • Beginning 4.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.3%
  • Over 30 years 3.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Cheri Cox Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classCheri Cox Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten16.418.5
Grade 11819
Grade 217.819.6
Grade 319.220.4
Grade 415.920

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 90 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

7 measures

  • 12of 962

    Academic Growth

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 962 that report this measure · tied with 16

  • 16of 285

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Collin County · of the 285 that report this measure

  • 34of 979

    Math — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 979 that report this measure · tied with 7

  • 49of 1,107

    Attendance

    Region 10: Richardson · of the 1,107 that report this measure · tied with 16

  • 50of 1,106

    School Progress

    Region 10: Richardson · of the 1,106 that report this measure · tied with 22

  • 54of 983

    All Subjects — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 983 that report this measure · tied with 6

  • 180of 4,303

    Math — Meets

    Similar size · of the 4,303 that report this measure · tied with 22

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 043914106.