Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Chavez HS

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 1,571 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
86/1002025-26
Change
+12 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+8.5 ptsvs 77.5 average · 2,135 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
477 of 2,135tied with 78 others
B86

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 80 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.5 average for 2,135 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 6 points

80 to 86 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 86 is 8.5 points above the 77.5 average among 2,135 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 7 points

75 to 82 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 82 is 7.1 points above the 74.9 average among 1,962 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
41%vs 38.7% avg · +2.3 pts
Masters
18%vs 14.9% avg · +3.1 pts

Among 1,972 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Chavez HS is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.5 average for 2,135 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 12 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 477th of 2,135 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 78 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageChavez HS 7474798086 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 80 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8677.5 2,135 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8077.2 2,117 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7973.8 2,099 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7473.4 2,091 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7481.8 2,065 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement78 C+7.7 vs similar economic context · 1,980 reporting
  • School Progress87 B+8.3 vs similar economic context · 1,976 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps82 B+7.1 vs similar economic context · 1,962 reporting
  • Academic Growth64 D−9.0 vs similar economic context · 1,944 reporting
  • Relative Performance87 B+10.3 vs similar economic context · 1,975 reporting
  • Chavez HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,135 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement78C2
School Progress87B3
Closing the Gaps82B8
Academic Growth64D6
Relative Performance87B3

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 3 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (87), so Student Achievement (78) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 87.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level73%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,980 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,980 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,980 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level59%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,979 reporting
  • Meets grade level36%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,979 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,979 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,972 reporting
  • Meets grade level41%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,972 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,972 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level88%+25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,862 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,862 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,862 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level92%+30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 629 reporting
  • Meets grade level69%+35 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 629 reporting
  • Masters grade level31%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 629 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,135 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
85.5%−3.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 208 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
86.3%−3.7 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 208 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
84.0%−5.5 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 208 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
3.9%+2.0 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 209 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
94.0%+10.3 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria94.0%83.7%+10.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 250 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course78.4%56.8%+21.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 251 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA16.9%19.5%−2.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 251 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)33.1%13.1%+20.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 251 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course8.0%26.4%−18.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 251 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification56.5%33.4%+23.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 251 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%2.9%−2.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 251 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%6.6%−6.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 251 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit3.5%6.2%−2.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 251 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness1.0%2.5%−1.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 251 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student5.1%7.4%−2.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 251 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces1.6%2.6%−1.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 251 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
438

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
146

33.3% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
224

51.1% of graduates

Not trackable
68

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
438
Selected comparison
264.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 233 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
146
Selected comparison
100.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 233 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
33.3%
Selected comparison
36.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 233 rated schools reporting

−3.0 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
51.1%
Selected comparison
55.6%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 233 rated schools reporting

−4.5 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
15.5%
Selected comparison
8.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 233 rated schools reporting

+7.4 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. SAN JACINTO COLLEGE (029137)54
  2. HOUSTON CITY COLLEGE (010633)44
  3. UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON (003652)13

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,571
Economically disadvantaged
92.1%+1.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
45.2%+4.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.4%−4.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
88.3%−4.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
39.0%+15.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Chavez HS

African American: 7.3%Hispanic: 88.7%White: 0.7%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 2.5%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 0.4%
  • African American 7.3%
  • Hispanic 88.7%
  • White 0.7%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 2.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 0.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,135 reporting for every category shown · 2,135 in full cohort

African American: 14.9%Hispanic: 76.3%White: 5.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 14.9%
  • Hispanic 76.3%
  • White 5.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,570
Economically disadvantaged students
1,446
Emergent bilingual students
710
Special education students
210

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
389
Students in TEA mobility denominator
2,077
TEA-published mobility rate
18.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,571 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 286 (15.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,571

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−286

Decrease · −15.4%

Change since 2021–22
−863

Decrease · −35.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
1,571
Selected comparison
571.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,112 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Chavez HS
School yearStudents enrolledChavez HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 2,434 First available year 616.5
2022–23 2,272 Decrease of 162 (6.7%) 613
2023–24 2,006 Decrease of 266 (11.7%) 603.1
2024–25 1,857 Decrease of 149 (7.4%) 596.3
2025–26 1,571 Decrease of 286 (15.4%) 571.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
414

20.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
933

45.49 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
2,051

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
20.2%
Selected comparison
13.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,295 rated schools reporting

+7.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
45.49
Selected comparison
31.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,395 rated schools reporting

+14.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Chavez HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 2,650 16 0.6% 21 0.79 7.1% 13.5
2021–22 2,586 301 11.6% 826 31.94 12.6% 30
2022–23 2,414 477 19.8% 1,007 41.71 13.6% 32.9
2023–24 2,163 498 23.0% 1,143 52.84 13.7% 33.2
2024–25 2,051 414 20.2% 933 45.49 13.1% 31.2
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Chavez HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 414 20.2% 933 45.49 13.1% 31.2
In-school suspensions 344 16.8% 613 29.89 11.4% 22.1
Out-of-school suspensions 176 8.6% 277 13.51 9.3% 15.4
DAEP placements 35 1.7% 41 2.00 5.1% 6.2
Mandatory DAEP placements 26 1.3% 27 1.32 3.9% 4.6
Discretionary DAEP placements 12 0.6% 14 0.68 3.4% 4
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Chavez HS
  • Parent district: Houston ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,318
Selected comparison
$13,217

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,115 rated schools reporting

−$1,899 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,318 per student for this campus, $17,026 per student for its parent district, Houston ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearChavez HSParent district: Houston ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,419$14,470$13,054$8,326 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,013 rated schools reporting
2019$6,846$13,643$13,108$8,341 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,040 rated schools reporting
2020$6,971$13,627$14,058$8,851 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,045 rated schools reporting
2021$8,049$13,515$14,797$9,666 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,048 rated schools reporting
2022$8,979$14,985$15,708$11,220 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,065 rated schools reporting
2023$9,467$16,350$16,792$11,735 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,090 rated schools reporting
2024$10,807$18,150$18,125$12,636 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,102 rated schools reporting
2025$11,318$17,026$18,972$13,217 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,115 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$74,908+$6,651 vs similar economic context
Teachers
101+61.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.5+0.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Chavez HS

Beginning: 13.8%1 to 5 years: 28.7%6 to 10 years: 17.6%11 to 20 years: 18.5%21 to 30 years: 14.4%Over 30 years: 6.8%
  • Beginning 13.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 28.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 18.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.4%
  • Over 30 years 6.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,135 reporting for every category shown · 2,135 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.2%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Chavez HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classChavez HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English18.815.1
Secondary languages other than English18.618.2
Secondary math22.416.7
Secondary science23.317.7
Secondary social studies2417.7

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101912027.