Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Central Elem

Hale County · Region 17: Lubbock · 371 students

Current score
79/1002025-26
Change
+14 ptssince 2022-23
Score vs similar economic context
+1.5 ptsvs 77.5 average · 2,241 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,040 of 2,241tied with 99 others
C79

At a glance

The available rating history is moving up. The current score is above the 77.5 average for 2,241 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
45%vs 41.4% avg · +3.6 pts
Masters
18%vs 16.2% avg · +1.8 pts

Among 2,073 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
48%vs 37.9% avg · +10.1 pts
Masters
22%vs 14.2% avg · +7.8 pts

Among 2,061 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Closing the Gaps above the similar-context average

77 +2.4 pts vs 74.6

  • 77 is 2.4 points above the 74.6 average among 2,049 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Central Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 79 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.5 average for 2,241 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 14 points since 2022-23.

Ranks 1,040th of 2,241 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 99 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 4 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

4 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageCentral Elem 65699179 2022-232023-242024-252025-26

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7977.5 2,241 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9177.1 2,228 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6974.4 2,211 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6574.8 2,197 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C+0.3 vs similar economic context · 2,073 reporting
  • School Progress80 B+1.3 vs similar economic context · 2,065 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps77 C+2.4 vs similar economic context · 2,049 reporting
  • Academic Growth80 B+7.8 vs similar economic context · 2,018 reporting
  • Relative Performance80 B+3.1 vs similar economic context · 2,065 reporting
  • Central Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,241 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress80B10
Closing the Gaps77C3
Academic Growth80B10
Relative Performance80B10

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 3 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (80), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 80.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level68%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,073 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,073 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,073 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,071 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,071 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,071 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,061 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,061 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,061 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,241 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
371
Economically disadvantaged
82.5%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
5.1%−26.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
19.7%+1.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.5%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
20.7%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Central Elem

African American: 3%Hispanic: 82.2%White: 12.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.1%Two or More Races: 1.1%
  • African American 3%
  • Hispanic 82.2%
  • White 12.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,241 reporting for every category shown · 2,241 in full cohort

African American: 14.2%Hispanic: 70.3%White: 11.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.5%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2.3%
  • African American 14.2%
  • Hispanic 70.3%
  • White 11.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
371
Economically disadvantaged students
306
Emergent bilingual students
19
Special education students
73

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
48
Students in TEA mobility denominator
394
TEA-published mobility rate
12.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 371 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 134 (26.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
371

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−134

Decrease · −26.5%

Change since 2022–23
−259

Decrease · −41.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
371
Selected comparison
618.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Central Elem
School yearStudents enrolledCentral ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2022–23 630 First available year 650.1
2023–24 541 Decrease of 89 (14.1%) 643.1
2024–25 505 Decrease of 36 (6.7%) 638.8
2025–26 371 Decrease of 134 (26.5%) 618.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
48

9.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
94

17.94 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
524

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
9.2%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,594 rated schools reporting

−4.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
17.94
Selected comparison
32.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,709 rated schools reporting

−14.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Central Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2022–23 658 35 5.3% 66 10.03 13.8% 34
2023–24 591 53 9.0% 106 17.94 13.8% 34
2024–25 524 48 9.2% 94 17.94 13.3% 32.2
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Central Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 48 9.2% 94 17.94 13.3% 32.2
In-school suspensions 46 8.8% 86 16.41 11.7% 23.3
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$8k$14k$20k20232025
  • Central Elem
  • Parent district: Plainview ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,343
Selected comparison
$13,288

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,226 rated schools reporting

−$3,945 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,343 per student for this campus, $15,733 per student for its parent district, Plainview ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearCentral ElemParent district: Plainview ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2023$13,647$19,509$16,792$11,518 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,196 rated schools reporting
2024$9,753$16,319$18,125$12,499 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,210 rated schools reporting
2025$9,343$15,733$18,972$13,288 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,226 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,736−$1,671 vs similar economic context
Teachers
24−18.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.3+1.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Central Elem

1 to 5 years: 19.8%6 to 10 years: 36%11 to 20 years: 28.1%21 to 30 years: 16.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 19.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 36%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,241 reporting for every category shown · 2,241 in full cohort

Beginning: 7%1 to 5 years: 27.6%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Central Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classCentral Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten2218
Grade 116.118.4
Grade 220.818.4
Grade 319.718.9
Grade 421.718.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 90 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

2 measures

  • 2of 14

    Math — Masters

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 3of 14

    All Subjects — Masters

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

14 measures

  • 4of 13

    Academic Growth

    Hale County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 5of 14

    Math — Meets

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 7of 14

    All Subjects — Meets

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 7of 14

    Math — Approaches

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 8of 14

    Closing the Gaps

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 8of 14

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 8of 14

    Reading — Meets

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 8of 14

    Reading — Masters

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 8of 14

    Attendance

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 15

    Overall score

    Hale County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 9of 14

    Student Achievement

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 14

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 10of 14

    School Progress

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 10of 14

    Relative Performance

    Hale County · of the 14 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 095905124.