Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Cactus Ranch Elem

Williamson County · Region 13: Austin · 684 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
96/1002025-26
Change
−1 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+4.1 ptsvs 91.9 average · 335 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
14 of 335tied with 17 others
A96

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 97 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 91.9 average for 335 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
91%vs 77.2% avg · +13.8 pts
Masters
72%vs 48.5% avg · +23.5 pts

Among 330 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
91%vs 74.5% avg · +16.5 pts
Masters
73%vs 44.8% avg · +28.2 pts

Among 328 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
93%vs 81.7% avg · +11.3 pts
Masters
76%vs 52.2% avg · +23.8 pts

Among 330 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Cactus Ranch Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 96 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 91.9 average for 335 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.

Ranks 14th of 335 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 17 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageCactus Ranch Elem 9799969796 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 97 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9691.9 335 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9792.5 327 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9691.6 320 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9992.1 310 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9792.6 303 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement97 A+4.0 vs similar economic context · 330 reporting
  • School Progress94 A+5.6 vs similar economic context · 328 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps95 A+5.2 vs similar economic context · 326 reporting
  • Academic Growth94 A+6.9 vs similar economic context · 326 reporting
  • Relative Performance91 A+12.9 vs similar economic context · 328 reporting
  • Cactus Ranch Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (335 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement97A—
School Progress94A—
Closing the Gaps95A—
Academic Growth94A—
Relative Performance91A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (97), so School Progress (94) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 97.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level97%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 330 reporting
  • Meets grade level91%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 330 reporting
  • Masters grade level72%+24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 330 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level98%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 330 reporting
  • Meets grade level93%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 330 reporting
  • Masters grade level76%+24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 330 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level98%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 328 reporting
  • Meets grade level91%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 328 reporting
  • Masters grade level73%+28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 328 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 301 reporting
  • Meets grade level84%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 301 reporting
  • Masters grade level59%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 301 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (335 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
684
Economically disadvantaged
3.2%−4.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
18.4%+7.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
10.8%−4.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.1%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
5.5%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Cactus Ranch Elem

African American: 3.1%Hispanic: 9.8%White: 28.4%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 51.8%Two or More Races: 6.9%
  • African American 3.1%
  • Hispanic 9.8%
  • White 28.4%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 51.8%
  • Two or More Races 6.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 335 reporting for every category shown · 335 in full cohort

African American: 4.4%Hispanic: 15.7%White: 48.1%American Indian: 0.5%Asian: 25.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.8%
  • African American 4.4%
  • Hispanic 15.7%
  • White 48.1%
  • American Indian 0.5%
  • Asian 25.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
684
Economically disadvantaged students
22
Emergent bilingual students
126
Special education students
74

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
36
Students in TEA mobility denominator
598
TEA-published mobility rate
6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 684 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 9 (1.3%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
684

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−9

Decrease · −1.3%

Change since 2021–22
+108

Increase · +18.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
684
Selected comparison
844.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 331 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Cactus Ranch Elem
School yearStudents enrolledCactus Ranch ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 576 First available year 862.1
2022–23 743 Increase of 167 (29.0%) 880.8
2023–24 671 Decrease of 72 (9.7%) 863.3
2024–25 693 Increase of 22 (3.3%) 857.5
2025–26 684 Decrease of 9 (1.3%) 844.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
14

1.94 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
720

2024–25

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
1.94
Selected comparison
6.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 210 rated schools reporting

−5.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Cactus Ranch Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 850 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 802 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 760 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 688 Suppressed — 20 2.91 — 6.9
2024–25 720 Suppressed — 14 1.94 — 6.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Cactus Ranch Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — 14 1.94 — 6.9
In-school suspensions Suppressed — 14 1.94 — 5.6
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$12k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Cactus Ranch Elem
  • Parent district: Round Rock ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,427
Selected comparison
$10,555

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 326 rated schools reporting

−$2,128 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,427 per student for this campus, $16,516 per student for its parent district, Round Rock ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearCactus Ranch ElemParent district: Round Rock ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$5,690$12,357$13,054$7,085 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 274 rated schools reporting
2019$5,508$11,300$13,108$7,262 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 282 rated schools reporting
2020$6,073$12,713$14,058$7,560 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 290 rated schools reporting
2021$6,373$15,241$14,797$7,976 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 299 rated schools reporting
2022$9,285$15,983$15,708$9,183 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 304 rated schools reporting
2023$8,116$14,746$16,792$9,123 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 309 rated schools reporting
2024$8,337$15,268$18,125$9,959 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 319 rated schools reporting
2025$8,427$16,516$18,972$10,555 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 326 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$66,361−$3,308 vs similar economic context
Teachers
47−8.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.6−0.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Cactus Ranch Elem

Beginning: 9.4%1 to 5 years: 19.3%6 to 10 years: 10.7%11 to 20 years: 35.1%21 to 30 years: 25.7%
  • Beginning 9.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 19.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 10.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 35.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 25.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 335 reporting for every category shown · 335 in full cohort

Beginning: 3.9%1 to 5 years: 24%6 to 10 years: 20%11 to 20 years: 31.6%21 to 30 years: 17%Over 30 years: 2.4%
  • Beginning 3.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 24%
  • 6 to 10 years 20%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 17%
  • Over 30 years 2.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Cactus Ranch Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classCactus Ranch Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten20.819
Grade 119.319.3
Grade 221.419.7
Grade 320.921.9
Grade 42120.4
Grade 522.922.5

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 503

    Math — Masters

    Region 13: Austin · of the 503 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

8 measures

  • 2of 505

    Reading — Masters

    Region 13: Austin · of the 505 that report this measure

  • 2of 162

    Student Achievement

    Williamson County · of the 162 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 2of 162

    All Subjects — Meets

    Williamson County · of the 162 that report this measure

  • 2of 162

    All Subjects — Masters

    Williamson County · of the 162 that report this measure

  • 2of 162

    Reading — Approaches

    Williamson County · of the 162 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 2of 162

    Reading — Meets

    Williamson County · of the 162 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 2of 162

    Math — Approaches

    Williamson County · of the 162 that report this measure

  • 2of 162

    Math — Meets

    Williamson County · of the 162 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

6 measures

  • 4of 162

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Williamson County · of the 162 that report this measure

  • 5of 159

    Academic Growth

    Williamson County · of the 159 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 7of 519

    Overall score

    Region 13: Austin · of the 519 that report this measure · tied with 6

  • 7of 162

    Relative Performance

    Williamson County · of the 162 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 161

    Attendance

    Williamson County · of the 161 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 10of 499

    Closing the Gaps

    Region 13: Austin · of the 499 that report this measure · tied with 9

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

3 measures

  • 15of 504

    School Progress

    Region 13: Austin · of the 504 that report this measure · tied with 8

  • 94of 3,919

    Science — Masters

    Similar size · of the 3,919 that report this measure · tied with 8

  • 121of 3,919

    Science — Meets

    Similar size · of the 3,919 that report this measure · tied with 15

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 246909132.