Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Bussey MS

Dallas County · Region 10: Richardson · 749 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
69/1002025-26
Change
+1 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−8.7 ptsvs 77.7 average · 1,857 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,391 of 1,857tied with 110 others
D69

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 72 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.7 average for 1,857 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Bussey MS is rated D by TEA, scoring 69 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.7 average for 1,857 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,391st of 1,857 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 110 others).

2 consecutive years rated unacceptable.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBussey MS 6865556969 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 72 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26D6977.7 1,857 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6977.4 1,840 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24F5573.9 1,823 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6573.3 1,819 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6882.0 1,795 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement62 D−8.2 vs similar economic context · 1,722 reporting
  • School Progress74 C−4.9 vs similar economic context · 1,719 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps62 D−13.1 vs similar economic context · 1,710 reporting
  • Academic Growth62 D−11.3 vs similar economic context · 1,697 reporting
  • Relative Performance74 C−2.8 vs similar economic context · 1,718 reporting
  • Bussey MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,857 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement62D8
School Progress74C6
Closing the Gaps62D8
Academic Growth62D8
Relative Performance74C6

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 6 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (74), so Student Achievement (62) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 74.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level56%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,722 reporting
  • Meets grade level32%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,722 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,722 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level58%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,722 reporting
  • Meets grade level36%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,722 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,722 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level61%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,719 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,719 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,719 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level57%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,627 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,627 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,627 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level32%−30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 535 reporting
  • Meets grade level12%−22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 535 reporting
  • Masters grade level5%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 535 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,857 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
749
Economically disadvantaged
94.7%+2.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
60.2%+18.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.0%+0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.2%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
23.8%+0.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Bussey MS

African American: 10.8%Hispanic: 75.6%White: 5.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 6.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.5%
  • African American 10.8%
  • Hispanic 75.6%
  • White 5.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 6.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,857 reporting for every category shown · 1,857 in full cohort

African American: 15%Hispanic: 77.1%White: 4.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.5%
  • African American 15%
  • Hispanic 77.1%
  • White 4.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
749
Economically disadvantaged students
709
Emergent bilingual students
451
Special education students
135

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
183
Students in TEA mobility denominator
874
TEA-published mobility rate
20.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 749 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 4 (0.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
749

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−4

Decrease · −0.5%

Change since 2021–22
−140

Decrease · −15.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
749
Selected comparison
561.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,838 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Bussey MS
School yearStudents enrolledBussey MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 889 First available year 608.7
2022–23 897 Increase of 8 (0.9%) 604.8
2023–24 799 Decrease of 98 (10.9%) 594.7
2024–25 753 Decrease of 46 (5.8%) 587.9
2025–26 749 Decrease of 4 (0.5%) 561.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
236

27.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
669

78.43 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
853

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
27.7%
Selected comparison
13.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,091 rated schools reporting

+14.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
78.43
Selected comparison
30.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,182 rated schools reporting

+47.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Bussey MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,048 41 3.9% 71 6.77 6.8% 13
2021–22 974 233 23.9% 712 73.10 12.5% 29.6
2022–23 984 154 15.7% 331 33.64 13.6% 32.8
2023–24 913 207 22.7% 523 57.28 13.7% 32.9
2024–25 853 236 27.7% 669 78.43 13.1% 30.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Bussey MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 236 27.7% 669 78.43 13.1% 30.8
In-school suspensions 181 21.2% 335 39.27 11.4% 21.9
Out-of-school suspensions 148 17.4% 289 33.88 9.5% 15.8
DAEP placements 37 4.3% 42 4.92 5.1% 6.2
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Bussey MS
  • Parent district: Garland ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,279
Selected comparison
$13,293

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,839 rated schools reporting

−$2,014 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,279 per student for this campus, $18,172 per student for its parent district, Garland ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBussey MSParent district: Garland ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,726$13,522$13,054$8,350 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,750 rated schools reporting
2019$8,015$11,776$13,108$8,368 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,774 rated schools reporting
2020$8,785$11,425$14,058$8,864 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,777 rated schools reporting
2021$8,571$12,273$14,797$9,707 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,779 rated schools reporting
2022$9,082$12,983$15,708$11,229 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,796 rated schools reporting
2023$8,897$14,377$16,792$11,855 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,819 rated schools reporting
2024$10,998$17,363$18,125$12,737 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,827 rated schools reporting
2025$11,279$18,172$18,972$13,293 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,839 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$69,096+$635 vs similar economic context
Teachers
50+10.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.9+0.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Bussey MS

Beginning: 10.4%1 to 5 years: 44.2%6 to 10 years: 29.5%11 to 20 years: 8%21 to 30 years: 8%
  • Beginning 10.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 44.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 29.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 8%
  • 21 to 30 years 8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,857 reporting for every category shown · 1,857 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.6%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 18.7%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Bussey MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBussey MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 619.917.2
Secondary English17.115.1
Secondary languages other than English16.318.1
Secondary math1716.8
Secondary science22.317.7
Secondary social studies20.417.7

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057909042.