Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Brown Elem

Lubbock County · Region 17: Lubbock · 391 students

Current score
85/1002025-26
Change
+16 ptssince 2022-23
Score vs similar economic context
+7.2 ptsvs 77.8 average · 1,738 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
475 of 1,738tied with 61 others
B85

At a glance

The available rating history is moving up. The current score is above the 77.8 average for 1,738 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 12 points

73 to 85 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 85 is 7.2 points above the 77.8 average among 1,738 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 17 points

74 to 91 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 91 is 15.8 points above the 75.2 average among 1,604 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 39.1% avg · +15.9 pts
Masters
20%vs 15.1% avg · +4.9 pts

Among 1,613 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Brown Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 85 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.8 average for 1,738 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 16 points since 2022-23.

Ranks 475th of 1,738 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 61 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 4 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

4 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBrown Elem 69707385 2022-232023-242024-252025-26

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8577.8 1,738 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7377.4 1,721 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7074.0 1,705 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6973.3 1,701 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement73 C+2.7 vs similar economic context · 1,616 reporting
  • School Progress83 B+4.1 vs similar economic context · 1,613 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps91 A+15.8 vs similar economic context · 1,604 reporting
  • Academic Growth83 B+9.6 vs similar economic context · 1,591 reporting
  • Relative Performance82 B+5.1 vs similar economic context · 1,612 reporting
  • Brown Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,738 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement73C7
School Progress83B7
Closing the Gaps91A—
Academic Growth83B7
Relative Performance82B8

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 7 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (83), so Student Achievement (73) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 83.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level75%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level81%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,613 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,613 reporting
  • Masters grade level20%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,613 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level58%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,527 reporting
  • Meets grade level20%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,527 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,527 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,738 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
391
Economically disadvantaged
95.6%+3.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
9.5%−32.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
33.9%+16.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.7%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
23.1%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Brown Elem

African American: 14.7%Hispanic: 73.5%White: 7.5%American Indian: 1%Asian: 0.5%Pacific Islander: 0.3%Two or More Races: 2.6%
  • African American 14.7%
  • Hispanic 73.5%
  • White 7.5%
  • American Indian 1%
  • Asian 0.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 2.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,738 reporting for every category shown · 1,738 in full cohort

African American: 15%Hispanic: 77.3%White: 4.7%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.4%
  • African American 15%
  • Hispanic 77.3%
  • White 4.7%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
389
Economically disadvantaged students
372
Emergent bilingual students
37
Special education students
132

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
94
Students in TEA mobility denominator
354
TEA-published mobility rate
26.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 391 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 18 (4.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
391

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−18

Decrease · −4.4%

Change since 2022–23
+203

Increase · +108.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
391
Selected comparison
560.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,720 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Brown Elem
School yearStudents enrolledBrown ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2022–23 188 First available year 604.8
2023–24 291 Increase of 103 (54.8%) 594.9
2024–25 409 Increase of 118 (40.5%) 587.8
2025–26 391 Decrease of 18 (4.4%) 560.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
44

10.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
69

16.35 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
422

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
10.4%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,008 rated schools reporting

−2.8 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
16.35
Selected comparison
31.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,092 rated schools reporting

−14.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Brown Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2022–23 192 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 323 21 6.5% 38 11.76 13.9% 33.4
2024–25 422 44 10.4% 69 16.35 13.2% 31.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Brown Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 44 10.4% 69 16.35 13.2% 31.3
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 37 8.8% 56 13.27 9.6% 16.1
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$8k$14k$20k20232025
  • Brown Elem
  • Parent district: Lubbock ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,892
Selected comparison
$13,328

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,720 rated schools reporting

−$3,436 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,892 per student for this campus, $14,938 per student for its parent district, Lubbock ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBrown ElemParent district: Lubbock ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2023$8,437$16,314$16,792$11,878 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,701 rated schools reporting
2024$9,480$15,605$18,125$12,774 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,709 rated schools reporting
2025$9,892$14,938$18,972$13,328 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,720 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$59,763−$8,780 vs similar economic context
Teachers
29−10.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.4−1.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Brown Elem

Beginning: 6.9%1 to 5 years: 30.9%6 to 10 years: 6.9%11 to 20 years: 34.4%21 to 30 years: 17.5%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 6.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 30.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 6.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 34.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.5%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,738 reporting for every category shown · 1,738 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.7%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 18.6%11 to 20 years: 27%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 27%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Brown Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBrown Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten18.518.1
Grade 122.318.3
Grade 216.318.3
Grade 31618.4
Grade 419.418.3
Grade 516.419

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 152901207.