Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus · Alternative Education Accountability

Brazos Co Juvenile Detention Center

Brazos County · Region 06: Huntsville · 30 students

Not Rated

At a glance

TEA did not issue an overall rating for Brazos Co Juvenile Detention Center for 2025-26. Everything TEA did publish for this school is below.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

1.9% −11.8 pts vs 13.7%

  • 1.9% is 11.8 percentage points lower than the 13.7% average among 1,535 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Attendance above the similar-context average

99.5% +4.8 pts vs 94.7%

  • 99.5% is 4.8 percentage points above the 94.7% average among 1,535 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

TEA did not issue an overall rating for Brazos Co Juvenile Detention Center for 2025-26. Everything TEA did publish for this school is below.

TEA did not issue an overall rating for this school. Scores below are the figures TEA published; the letter grades are the state's where it issued them.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Discipline and removal from class
  8. Spending per student
  9. Teachers
  10. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas average 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26Not Rated—82.7 1,581 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25Not Rated—83.0 1,552 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24Not Rated—81.0 1,526 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23Not Rated—81.5 1,510 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22Not Rated—83.9 1,490 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 82.7 · 1,532 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 81.8 · 1,528 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 80 · 1,517 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 76.3 · 1,500 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 79.3 · 1,528 reporting
  • Brazos Co Juvenile Detention Center
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,581 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

The scores above are the ones TEA published. TEA did not issue letter grades for this school, so none are shown: the A–F thresholds marked on the chart are the state's, but applying them here would produce a grade the state chose to withhold.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 78.7% · 1,532 reporting
  • Meets grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 54.8% · 1,532 reporting
  • Masters grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 24.2% · 1,532 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 77.9% · 797 reporting
  • Meets grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 51.6% · 797 reporting
  • Masters grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 24.8% · 797 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,581 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
30
Economically disadvantaged
46.7%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
13.3%+0.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
33.3%+14.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
99.5%+4.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
1.9%−11.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Brazos Co Juvenile Detention Center

African American: 40%Hispanic: 43.3%White: 13.3%Two or More Races: 3.3%
  • African American 40%
  • Hispanic 43.3%
  • White 13.3%
  • Two or More Races 3.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,581 reporting for every category shown · 1,581 in full cohort

African American: 9.2%Hispanic: 39%White: 43.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.5%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.3%
  • African American 9.2%
  • Hispanic 39%
  • White 43.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
30
Economically disadvantaged students
14
Emergent bilingual students
4
Special education students
10

TEA context labels

  • Alternative education type: residential facility
  • Rated under AEA procedures
  • Residential treatment facility under AEA or AskTED

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
264
Students in TEA mobility denominator
264
TEA-published mobility rate
100%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
167

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Brazos Co Juvenile Detention Center
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 100 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 148 Suppressed — 15 10.14 — 25.3
2022–23 192 11 5.7% 15 7.81 12.0% 26.8
2023–24 172 14 8.1% 18 10.47 12.0% 27.4
2024–25 167 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Brazos Co Juvenile Detention Center in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$25k$44k20182020202220242025
  • Brazos Co Juvenile Detention Center
  • Parent district: Bryan ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$15,487
Selected comparison
$11,916

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 rated schools reporting

+$3,571 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $15,487 per student for this campus, $17,614 per student for its parent district, Bryan ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBrazos Co Juvenile Detention CenterParent district: Bryan ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$12,294$12,875$13,054$7,820 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,430 rated schools reporting
2019$20,953$12,295$13,108$8,001 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,449 rated schools reporting
2020$29,039$12,748$14,058$8,479 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,461 rated schools reporting
2021$41,470$14,686$14,797$8,895 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,480 rated schools reporting
2022$10,236$17,026$15,708$10,154 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,493 rated schools reporting
2023$10,279$17,976$16,792$10,611 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,510 rated schools reporting
2024$12,619$18,283$18,125$11,551 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,526 rated schools reporting
2025$15,487$17,614$18,972$11,916 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$59,939−$7,157 vs similar economic context
Teachers
4−39.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
7.5−12.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Brazos Co Juvenile Detention Center

1 to 5 years: 25%6 to 10 years: 25%11 to 20 years: 50%
  • 1 to 5 years 25%
  • 6 to 10 years 25%
  • 11 to 20 years 50%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,581 reporting for every category shown · 1,581 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.5%1 to 5 years: 23.9%6 to 10 years: 19.4%11 to 20 years: 29.9%21 to 30 years: 16.8%Over 30 years: 4.1%
  • Beginning 5.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.8%
  • Over 30 years 4.1%

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 021902014.