Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus · Alternative Education Accountability

Boys Ranch HS

Oldham County · Region 16: Amarillo · 115 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Not Rated

At a glance

TEA did not issue an overall rating for Boys Ranch HS for 2025-26. Everything TEA did publish for this school is below.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 34.3% avg · +20.7 pts
Masters
18%vs 14.1% avg · +3.9 pts

Among 2,023 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

14.3% −8.6 pts vs 22.9%

  • 14.3% is 8.6 percentage points lower than the 22.9% average among 2,199 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Attendance above the similar-context average

95.9% +2.9 pts vs 93%

  • 95.9% is 2.9 percentage points above the 93% average among 2,205 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

TEA did not issue an overall rating for Boys Ranch HS for 2025-26. Everything TEA did publish for this school is below.

TEA did not issue an overall rating for this school. Scores below are the figures TEA published; the letter grades are the state's where it issued them.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas average 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26Not Rated—77.6 2,328 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25Not Rated—77.2 2,309 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24Not Rated—73.9 2,291 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23Not Rated—73.6 2,281 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22Not Rated—81.8 2,254 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 70.5 · 2,156 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 78.8 · 2,151 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 74.9 · 2,135 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 72.9 · 2,115 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 76.8 · 2,150 reporting
  • Boys Ranch HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,328 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

The scores above are the ones TEA published. TEA did not issue letter grades for this school, so none are shown: the A–F thresholds marked on the chart are the state's, but applying them here would produce a grade the state chose to withhold.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level73%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,156 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,156 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,156 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level68%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,155 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,155 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,155 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level46%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,147 reporting
  • Meets grade level0%−39 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,147 reporting
  • Masters grade level0%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,147 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level95%+32 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,023 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,023 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,023 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level93%+30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 707 reporting
  • Meets grade level72%+37 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 707 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 707 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,328 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
38.0%−45.8 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria38.0%83.8%−45.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 292 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course12.5%56.6%−44.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA12.5%20.4%−7.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%13.2%−13.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course8.3%26.9%−18.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification12.5%33.9%−21.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%2.9%−2.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%7.0%−7.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%6.5%−6.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%2.6%−2.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student4.2%7.4%−3.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces8.3%2.7%+5.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 293 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
30

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
13

43.3% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
17

56.7% of graduates

Not trackable
0

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
30
Selected comparison
266

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 267 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
13
Selected comparison
102.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 267 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
43.3%
Selected comparison
37.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 267 rated schools reporting

+6.3 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
56.7%
Selected comparison
55.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 267 rated schools reporting

+1.6 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
0.0%
Selected comparison
7.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 267 rated schools reporting

−7.9 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. AMARILLO COLLEGE (003540)5

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
115
Economically disadvantaged
90.4%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
4.3%−35.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.7%+3.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.9%+2.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
14.3%−8.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Boys Ranch HS

African American: 14.8%Hispanic: 29.6%White: 42.6%American Indian: 0.9%Asian: 3.5%Two or More Races: 8.7%
  • African American 14.8%
  • Hispanic 29.6%
  • White 42.6%
  • American Indian 0.9%
  • Asian 3.5%
  • Two or More Races 8.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,328 reporting for every category shown · 2,328 in full cohort

African American: 14.7%Hispanic: 75.7%White: 6.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.7%
  • African American 14.7%
  • Hispanic 75.7%
  • White 6.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
115
Economically disadvantaged students
104
Emergent bilingual students
5
Special education students
25

TEA context labels

  • Alternative education type: residential facility
  • Rated under AEA procedures
  • Residential treatment facility under AEA or AskTED

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
45
Students in TEA mobility denominator
114
TEA-published mobility rate
39.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 115 students in 2025–26, an increase of 27 (30.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
115

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+27

Increase · +30.7%

Change since 2021–22
+11

Increase · +10.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
115
Selected comparison
577.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,305 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Boys Ranch HS
School yearStudents enrolledBoys Ranch HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 104 First available year 622.7
2022–23 98 Decrease of 6 (5.8%) 619
2023–24 93 Decrease of 5 (5.1%) 609.2
2024–25 88 Decrease of 5 (5.4%) 602.7
2025–26 115 Increase of 27 (30.7%) 577.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
55

48.3% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
227

199.12 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
114

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
48.3%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,439 rated schools reporting

+35.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
199.12
Selected comparison
31.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,550 rated schools reporting

+167.5 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Boys Ranch HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 153 33 21.6% 65 42.48 7.3% 14.2
2021–22 125 41 32.8% 101 80.80 12.8% 30.6
2022–23 115 41 35.6% 161 140.00 13.6% 33.3
2023–24 100 50 50.0% 191 191.00 13.8% 33.6
2024–25 114 55 48.3% 227 199.12 13.2% 31.6
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Boys Ranch HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 55 48.3% 227 199.12 13.2% 31.6
In-school suspensions 49 43.0% 143 125.44 11.5% 22.4
Out-of-school suspensions 35 30.7% 65 57.02 9.3% 15.2
DAEP placements 14 12.3% 19 16.67 5.2% 6.3
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$26k$45k20182020202220242025
  • Boys Ranch HS
  • Parent district: Boys Ranch ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$33,679
Selected comparison
$13,170

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,307 rated schools reporting

+$20,509 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $33,679 per student for this campus, $43,033 per student for its parent district, Boys Ranch ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBoys Ranch HSParent district: Boys Ranch ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$18,133$22,090$13,054$8,301 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,195 rated schools reporting
2019$19,094$22,922$13,108$8,319 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,225 rated schools reporting
2020$20,152$24,048$14,058$8,827 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,232 rated schools reporting
2021$27,094$34,485$14,797$9,634 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,236 rated schools reporting
2022$31,615$42,723$15,708$11,160 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,254 rated schools reporting
2023$31,557$40,892$16,792$11,691 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,280 rated schools reporting
2024$32,451$41,646$18,125$12,566 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,294 rated schools reporting
2025$33,679$43,033$18,972$13,170 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,307 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$68,536+$398 vs similar economic context
Teachers
26−14.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
4.5−10.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Boys Ranch HS

Beginning: 25.2%1 to 5 years: 24.8%11 to 20 years: 30.6%21 to 30 years: 11.6%Over 30 years: 7.8%
  • Beginning 25.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 30.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 11.6%
  • Over 30 years 7.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,328 reporting for every category shown · 2,328 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.2%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Boys Ranch HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBoys Ranch HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English6.215.2
Secondary languages other than English3.918.2
Secondary math4.516.7
Secondary science7.817.7
Secondary social studies7.617.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 180901001.