Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Bowie HS

Tarrant County · Region 11: Fort Worth · 2,065 students

Current score
84/1002025-26
Change
+26 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+5.8 ptsvs 78.2 average · 2,088 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
597 of 2,088tied with 81 others
B84

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 68 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 78.2 average for 2,088 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Academic Growth rose 13 points

64 to 77 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 77 is 4.5 points above the 72.5 average among 1,879 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
59%vs 39.7% avg · +19.3 pts
Masters
24%vs 16.8% avg · +7.2 pts

Among 1,784 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Overall score above the similar-context average

84 +5.8 pts vs 78.2

  • 84 is 5.8 points above the 78.2 average among 2,088 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Bowie HS is rated B by TEA, scoring 84 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 78.2 average for 2,088 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 26 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 597th of 2,088 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 81 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBowie HS 5867798484 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 68 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8478.2 2,088 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8477.8 2,076 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7975.4 2,064 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6776.0 2,041 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22F5881.8 2,024 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement78 C+4.2 vs similar economic context · 1,938 reporting
  • School Progress84 B+4.6 vs similar economic context · 1,933 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps84 B+8.6 vs similar economic context · 1,919 reporting
  • Academic Growth77 C+4.5 vs similar economic context · 1,879 reporting
  • Relative Performance84 B+6.2 vs similar economic context · 1,933 reporting
  • Bowie HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,088 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement78C2
School Progress84B6
Closing the Gaps84B6
Academic Growth77C3
Relative Performance84B6

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 6 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (84), so Student Achievement (78) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 84.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level76%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,938 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,938 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,938 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,928 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,928 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,928 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level91%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,784 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,784 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,784 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level89%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 818 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 818 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 818 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,088 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
92.9%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 359 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
92.9%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 358 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
92.4%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 358 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
1.0%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 361 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
87.0%+0.8 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria87.0%86.2%+0.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 398 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course71.1%58.8%+12.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA22.3%25.1%−2.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)16.6%11.7%+4.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course23.3%31.9%−8.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification20.7%37.4%−16.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%2.4%−2.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree6.0%7.6%−1.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit8.2%4.9%+3.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness2.2%3.3%−1.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student3.7%8.2%−4.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces2.2%3.0%−0.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
491

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
196

39.9% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
261

53.2% of graduates

Not trackable
34

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
491
Selected comparison
262

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 340 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
196
Selected comparison
110.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 340 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
39.9%
Selected comparison
41.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 340 rated schools reporting

−1.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
53.2%
Selected comparison
52.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 340 rated schools reporting

+1.0 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
6.9%
Selected comparison
6.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 340 rated schools reporting

+0.9 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. TARRANT COUNTY COLLEGE DIST (003626)75
  2. U. OF TEXAS AT ARLINGTON (003656)53
  3. TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY (003642)10

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
2,065
Economically disadvantaged
76.0%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
26.3%+1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
12.5%−6.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.9%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
20.9%+1.7 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Bowie HS

African American: 37.9%Hispanic: 41.5%White: 4.7%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 13%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.3%
  • African American 37.9%
  • Hispanic 41.5%
  • White 4.7%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 13%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,088 reporting for every category shown · 2,088 in full cohort

African American: 13.4%Hispanic: 63.2%White: 18.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.8%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3%
  • African American 13.4%
  • Hispanic 63.2%
  • White 18.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
2,065
Economically disadvantaged students
1,570
Emergent bilingual students
544
Special education students
258

Early college pathways

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
330

TEA-published share: 16%

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
424
Students in TEA mobility denominator
2,406
TEA-published mobility rate
17.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 2,065 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 75 (3.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
2,065

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−75

Decrease · −3.5%

Change since 2021–22
−347

Decrease · −14.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
2,065
Selected comparison
637.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,061 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Bowie HS
School yearStudents enrolledBowie HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 2,412 First available year 654.8
2022–23 2,391 Decrease of 21 (0.9%) 658.1
2023–24 2,355 Decrease of 36 (1.5%) 655.4
2024–25 2,140 Decrease of 215 (9.1%) 653.4
2025–26 2,065 Decrease of 75 (3.5%) 637.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
337

14.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
832

35.74 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
2,328

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
14.5%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,566 rated schools reporting

+1.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
35.74
Selected comparison
31.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,672 rated schools reporting

+4.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Bowie HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 2,589 16 0.6% 25 0.97 8.9% 17.7
2021–22 2,569 222 8.6% 562 21.88 12.9% 30.7
2022–23 2,559 283 11.1% 730 28.53 13.5% 33.3
2023–24 2,511 348 13.9% 908 36.16 13.4% 33.1
2024–25 2,328 337 14.5% 832 35.74 13.2% 31.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Bowie HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 337 14.5% 832 35.74 13.2% 31.7
In-school suspensions 228 9.8% 395 16.97 11.6% 23.3
Out-of-school suspensions 140 6.0% 213 9.15 7.9% 12.2
DAEP placements 125 5.4% 223 9.58 5.3% 6.3
Mandatory DAEP placements 79 3.4% 131 5.63 3.8% 4.4
Discretionary DAEP placements 57 2.5% 92 3.95 3.2% 3.7
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Bowie HS
  • Parent district: Arlington ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,217
Selected comparison
$13,040

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 rated schools reporting

−$1,823 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,217 per student for this campus, $18,997 per student for its parent district, Arlington ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBowie HSParent district: Arlington ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,490$13,175$13,054$8,032 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,958 rated schools reporting
2019$10,420$11,881$13,108$8,192 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,977 rated schools reporting
2020$9,055$12,353$14,058$8,735 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,995 rated schools reporting
2021$8,788$14,707$14,797$9,303 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,007 rated schools reporting
2022$9,520$15,494$15,708$10,603 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,024 rated schools reporting
2023$9,638$15,882$16,792$11,249 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,041 rated schools reporting
2024$10,430$17,946$18,125$12,246 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,062 rated schools reporting
2025$11,217$18,997$18,972$13,040 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$77,242+$10,537 vs similar economic context
Teachers
154+110.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.4−0.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Bowie HS

Beginning: 5%1 to 5 years: 23.2%6 to 10 years: 21.5%11 to 20 years: 28.7%21 to 30 years: 18.4%Over 30 years: 3.1%
  • Beginning 5%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 21.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 18.4%
  • Over 30 years 3.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,088 reporting for every category shown · 2,088 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.8%1 to 5 years: 27.5%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15.2%Over 30 years: 3.7%
  • Beginning 6.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.2%
  • Over 30 years 3.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Bowie HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBowie HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English15.915.4
Secondary languages other than English17.618.2
Secondary math18.516.4
Secondary science1717.7
Secondary social studies19.417.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 220901004.