Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus

Big Springs Charter School

Big Springs Charter School · Leakey · 100 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Not Rated

At a glance

TEA did not issue an overall rating for Big Springs Charter School for 2025-26. Everything TEA did publish for this charter campus is below.

Read the full rating context and placement

TEA did not issue an overall rating for Big Springs Charter School for 2025-26. Everything TEA did publish for this charter campus is below.

TEA did not issue an overall rating for this school. Scores below are the figures TEA published; the letter grades are the state's where it issued them.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter average 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26Not Rated—81.0 371 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25Not Rated—79.9 366 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24Not Rated—78.0 361 reporting79.5 776 reporting
2022-23Not Rated—77.8 353 reporting79.6 749 reporting
2021-22Not Rated—84.2 337 reporting84.5 700 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 75.7 · 371 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 82.1 · 370 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 77.8 · 367 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 73.6 · 353 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 80.2 · 369 reporting
  • Big Springs Charter School
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (371 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

The scores above are the ones TEA published. TEA did not issue letter grades for this school, so none are shown: the A–F thresholds marked on the chart are the state's, but applying them here would produce a grade the state chose to withhold.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level49%−21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
  • Meets grade level23%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
  • Masters grade level5%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level51%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
  • Meets grade level21%−25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level36%−32 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
  • Meets grade level13%−22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level61%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
  • Meets grade level28%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 360 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 243 reporting
  • Meets grade level56%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 243 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 243 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (371 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
0.0%−84.2 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria0.0%84.2%−84.2 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 140 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course0.0%69.3%−69.3 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA0.0%38.8%−38.8 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%29.6%−29.6 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course0.0%13.5%−13.5 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an industry-based certification0.0%14.1%−14.1 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%0.4%−0.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%2.0%−2.0 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%4.7%−4.7 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%1.4%−1.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student0.0%8.2%−8.2 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces0.0%2.0%−2.0 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 142 rated charter campuses reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported charter campus percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
100
Economically disadvantaged
83.0%−1.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
3.0%−36.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
39.0%+25.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
85.2%−7.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
65.3%+40.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Big Springs Charter School

African American: 6%Hispanic: 51%White: 41%Asian: 2%
  • African American 6%
  • Hispanic 51%
  • White 41%
  • Asian 2%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting for every category shown · 371 in full cohort

African American: 17.7%Hispanic: 73.8%White: 4.9%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 1.7%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 17.7%
  • Hispanic 73.8%
  • White 4.9%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 1.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
100
Economically disadvantaged students
83
Emergent bilingual students
3
Special education students
39

TEA context labels

  • Residential treatment facility under AEA or AskTED

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
35
Students in TEA mobility denominator
117
TEA-published mobility rate
29.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 100 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 1 (1.0%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
100

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−1

Decrease · −1.0%

Change since 2021–22
−17

Decrease · −14.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
100
Selected comparison
517.2

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Big Springs Charter School
School yearStudents enrolledBig Springs Charter SchoolChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 117 First available year 490.4
2022–23 135 Increase of 18 (15.4%) 509.9
2023–24 105 Decrease of 30 (22.2%) 513.2
2024–25 101 Decrease of 4 (3.8%) 516.8
2025–26 100 Decrease of 1 (1.0%) 517.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
18

15.0% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
38

31.67 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
120

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
15.0%
Selected comparison
9.9%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 242 rated charter campuses reporting

+5.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
31.67
Selected comparison
15.8

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 254 rated charter campuses reporting

+15.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Big Springs Charter School
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 152 Suppressed — 17 11.18 — 5.5
2021–22 144 13 9.0% 28 19.44 10.4% 16.4
2022–23 149 14 9.4% 20 13.42 11.0% 18.5
2023–24 111 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 120 18 15.0% 38 31.67 9.9% 15.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Big Springs Charter School in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 18 15.0% 38 31.67 9.9% 15.8
In-school suspensions Suppressed — 10 8.33 — 8.9
Out-of-school suspensions 15 12.5% 24 20.00 7.9% 11
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$16k$24k20182020202220242025
  • Big Springs Charter School
  • Parent district: Big Springs Charter School
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$21,843
Selected comparison
$11,581

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 368 rated charter campuses reporting

+$10,262 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $21,843 per student for this campus, $22,680 per student for its parent district, Big Springs Charter School, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBig Springs Charter SchoolParent district: Big Springs Charter SchoolTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$12,029$14,973$13,054$8,460 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 242 rated charter campuses reporting
2019$13,319$16,519$13,108$8,749 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 272 rated charter campuses reporting
2020$16,320$16,996$14,058$9,576 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 296 rated charter campuses reporting
2021$14,043$16,244$14,797$9,631 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 326 rated charter campuses reporting
2022$17,301$20,366$15,708$11,179 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 341 rated charter campuses reporting
2023$17,266$20,384$16,792$11,337 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 350 rated charter campuses reporting
2024$19,944$21,295$18,125$11,779 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$21,843$22,680$18,972$11,581 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 368 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$58,801−$4,575 vs similar economic context
Teachers
15−15.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
6.9−11.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Big Springs Charter School

Beginning: 6.9%1 to 5 years: 13.8%6 to 10 years: 17.2%11 to 20 years: 47.6%21 to 30 years: 6.9%Over 30 years: 6.9%
  • Beginning 6.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 13.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 47.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 6.9%
  • Over 30 years 6.9%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting for every category shown · 371 in full cohort

Beginning: 12.7%1 to 5 years: 47.1%6 to 10 years: 20.3%11 to 20 years: 14.9%21 to 30 years: 4.4%Over 30 years: 0.7%
  • Beginning 12.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 47.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 14.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.4%
  • Over 30 years 0.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Big Springs Charter School in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBig Springs Charter School · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten621.6
Grade 1122.3
Grade 2423.9
Grade 3524.6
Grade 45.324.5
Grade 55.624.3
Grade 68.423.6
Secondary English6.318.5
Secondary languages other than English6.217.6
Secondary math518.4
Secondary science6.819.4
Secondary social studies8.619.6

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 12 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 193801001.