+11.3 ptsvs 77.7 average · 1,827 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
253 of 1,827tied with 56 others
Score vs region
+3.3 ptsvs 85.7 average · 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg
Region 01: Edinburg placement
185 of 505tied with 32 others
Score vs county
+3.0 ptsvs 86 average · 127 rated schools in Cameron County
Cameron County placement
45 of 127tied with 9 others
Score vs similar-size group
+8.9 ptsvs 80.1 average · 4,739 similarly sized rated schools
Similar size placement
1,012 of 4,739tied with 169 others
Score vs state
+7.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 7,646 rated Texas schools
Texas placement
1,913 of 7,646tied with 285 others
B89
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 85 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.7 average for 1,827 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 85.7 average for 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg.The current score is above the 86 average for 127 rated schools in Cameron County.The current score is above the 80.1 average for 4,739 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
47%vs 40.6% avg · +6.4 pts
Masters
20%vs 16.1% avg · +3.9 pts
Among 1,696 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Besteiro MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.7 average for 1,827 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 253rd of 1,827 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 56 others).
Besteiro MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 85.7 average for 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 185th of 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg (tied with 32 others).
Besteiro MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 86 average for 127 rated schools in Cameron County. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 45th of 127 rated schools in Cameron County (tied with 9 others).
Besteiro MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.1 average for 4,739 similarly sized rated schools. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 1,012th of 4,739 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 169 others).
Besteiro MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 85 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement78 C+7.7 vs similar economic context · 1,696 reporting
School Progress90 A+11.1 vs similar economic context · 1,693 reporting
Closing the Gaps86 B+10.9 vs similar economic context · 1,684 reporting
Academic Growth73 C−0.4 vs similar economic context · 1,671 reporting
Relative Performance90 A+13.1 vs similar economic context · 1,692 reporting
Besteiro MS
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,827 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
78
C
2
School Progress
90
A
—
Closing the Gaps
86
B
4
Academic Growth
73
C
7
Relative Performance
90
A
—
Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 4 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (90), so
Student Achievement (78) is published above but does not enter the overall
score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 90.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level73%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
Meets grade level47%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
Masters grade level20%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level73%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
Meets grade level51%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
Masters grade level24%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,696 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level73%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,693 reporting
Meets grade level44%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,693 reporting
Masters grade level15%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,693 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level83%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,601 reporting
Meets grade level64%+30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,601 reporting
Masters grade level32%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,601 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
Approaches grade level61%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 527 reporting
Meets grade level29%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 527 reporting
Masters grade level9%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 527 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,827 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
511
Economically disadvantaged
94.9%+2.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
40.9%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
25.4%+7.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.5%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
30.3%+6.9 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Besteiro MS
Hispanic 98%
White 1.8%
Asian 0.2%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,827 reporting for every category shown · 1,827 in full cohort
African American 14.9%
Hispanic 77.3%
White 4.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 1.4%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 505 reporting for every category shown · 505 in full cohort
African American 0.2%
Hispanic 97.5%
White 1.9%
Asian 0.3%
Two or More Races 0.1%
Selected comparison averageFor Cameron County · 127 reporting for every category shown · 127 in full cohort
African American 0.3%
Hispanic 96.2%
White 2.9%
American Indian 0.1%
Asian 0.4%
Two or More Races 0.2%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 4,739 reporting for every category shown · 4,739 in full cohort
African American 12.1%
Hispanic 55%
White 24.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.1%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.5%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
African American 11.5%
Hispanic 52.6%
White 27.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
511
Economically disadvantaged students
485
Emergent bilingual students
209
Special education students
130
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
226
Students in TEA mobility denominator
584
TEA-published mobility rate
38.7%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 511 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 47 (8.4%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
511
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
−47
Decrease · −8.4%
Change since 2021–22
−74
Decrease · −12.6%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
511
Selected comparison
561.8
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,808 rated schools reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Besteiro MS
School year
Students enrolledBesteiro MS
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
585
First available year
609.6
2022–23
575
Decrease of 10 (1.7%)
605.8
2023–24
549
Decrease of 26 (4.5%)
595.6
2024–25
558
Increase of 9 (1.6%)
588.7
2025–26
511
Decrease of 47 (8.4%)
561.8
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
50
8.8% of cumulative year-end enrollment
Disciplinary actions
118
20.85 per 100 students
Cumulative year-end enrollment
566
2024–25
Share of students · 2024–25
This school
8.8%
Selected comparison
13.1%
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,069 rated schools reporting
−4.3 pts vs similar economic context
Actions per 100 students · 2024–25
This school
20.85
Selected comparison
30.9
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,159 rated schools reporting
−10.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Besteiro MS
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
655
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2021–22
624
15
2.4%
48
7.69
12.5%
29.7
2022–23
599
52
8.7%
101
16.86
13.6%
32.8
2023–24
592
43
7.3%
85
14.36
13.7%
33
2024–25
566
50
8.8%
118
20.85
13.1%
30.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Besteiro MS in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
50
8.8%
118
20.85
13.1%
30.9
In-school suspensions
39
6.9%
66
11.66
11.4%
21.9
Out-of-school suspensions
Suppressed
—
16
2.83
—
16
DAEP placements
29
5.1%
36
6.36
5.1%
6.2
Mandatory DAEP placements
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Discretionary DAEP placements
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Besteiro MS
Parent district: Brownsville ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$14,375
Selected comparison
$13,276
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,809 rated schools reporting
+$1,100 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $14,375 per student for this campus, $16,535 per student for its parent district, Brownsville ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Besteiro MS
Parent district: Brownsville ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$11,309
$11,135
$13,054
$8,359
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,724 rated schools reporting
2019
$11,218
$11,998
$13,108
$8,372
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,748 rated schools reporting
2020
$12,253
$13,029
$14,058
$8,868
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,751 rated schools reporting
2021
$13,106
$13,534
$14,797
$9,712
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,753 rated schools reporting
2022
$13,928
$15,729
$15,708
$11,228
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,769 rated schools reporting
2023
$12,869
$16,177
$16,792
$11,864
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,790 rated schools reporting
2024
$14,499
$16,871
$18,125
$12,725
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,798 rated schools reporting
2025
$14,375
$16,535
$18,972
$13,276
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,809 rated schools reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$69,685+$1,199 vs similar economic context
Teachers
44+4.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
11.6−3.1 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Besteiro MS
1 to 5 years 11.3%
6 to 10 years 4.8%
11 to 20 years 33.9%
21 to 30 years 45.5%
Over 30 years 4.5%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,827 reporting for every category shown · 1,827 in full cohort
Beginning 7.6%
1 to 5 years 27%
6 to 10 years 18.7%
11 to 20 years 27.1%
21 to 30 years 14.9%
Over 30 years 3.5%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 505 reporting for every category shown · 505 in full cohort
Beginning 2.7%
1 to 5 years 19.3%
6 to 10 years 16.2%
11 to 20 years 35%
21 to 30 years 22.6%
Over 30 years 4.2%
Selected comparison averageFor Cameron County · 127 reporting for every category shown · 127 in full cohort
Beginning 2.5%
1 to 5 years 20.5%
6 to 10 years 14.9%
11 to 20 years 35.1%
21 to 30 years 22.3%
Over 30 years 4.7%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 4,739 reporting for every category shown · 4,739 in full cohort
Beginning 6.1%
1 to 5 years 26.2%
6 to 10 years 19.5%
11 to 20 years 29%
21 to 30 years 15.8%
Over 30 years 3.2%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 25.6%
6 to 10 years 19.2%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 15.9%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Besteiro MS in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classBesteiro MS · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 6
19.4
17.3
Secondary English
12.9
15.1
Secondary languages other than English
22
18.2
Secondary math
20.1
16.8
Secondary science
18.1
17.7
Secondary social studies
16.5
17.7
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
Other top-5% rankings
High placements in larger reporting groups
2 measures
82of 1,601
Science — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,601 that report this measure · tied with 8
84of 1,601
Science — Meets
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,601 that report this measure · tied with 5
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above
this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears
once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any
tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones
no school would put in a press release.
Where this comes from
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 031901048.