Recent domain gain
Relative Performance rose 2 points
87 to 89 2024-25 to 2025-26
- 89 is 9 points above the 80 average among 1,075 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.
Traditional public school campus
Chambers County · Region 04: Houston · 618 students
Official school websiteSchool information and family resources
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is flat; under the rules in force back then it scored 94 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 86.6 average for 1,104 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 83.3 average for 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston.The current score is above the 85.6 average for 16 rated schools in Chambers County.The current score is above the 80.4 average for 4,636 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Recent domain gain
87 to 89 2024-25 to 2025-26
STAAR result
Among 1,078 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 1,074 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measureRecent domain gain
87 to 89 2024-25 to 2025-26
STAAR result
Among 1,242 schools in Region 04: Houston reporting this measure.
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 1,239 schools in Region 04: Houston reporting this measure.
See the full measureRecent domain gain
87 to 89 2024-25 to 2025-26
See the full measureTop placement
90 Tied for 2nd of 11 schools in Chambers County reporting this measure · 2025-26 · 2 share this value
See the full measureTop placement
40% Tied for 3rd of 13 schools in Chambers County reporting this measure · 2025-26 · 3 share this value
See the full measureRecent domain gain
87 to 89 2024-25 to 2025-26
STAAR result
Among 4,472 similarly sized schools reporting this measure.
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 4,472 similarly sized schools reporting this measure.
See the full measureRecent domain gain
87 to 89 2024-25 to 2025-26
STAAR result
Among 7,260 Texas schools reporting this measure.
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 7,227 Texas schools reporting this measure.
See the full measureSelected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Barbers Hill MS South is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 86.6 average for 1,104 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is unchanged since 2021-22.
Ranks 206th of 1,104 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 111 others).
Barbers Hill MS South is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 83.3 average for 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston. It is unchanged since 2021-22.
Ranks 185th of 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston (tied with 67 others).
Barbers Hill MS South is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 85.6 average for 16 rated schools in Chambers County. It is unchanged since 2021-22.
Ranks 9th of 16 rated schools in Chambers County.
Barbers Hill MS South is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.4 average for 4,636 similarly sized rated schools. It is unchanged since 2021-22.
Ranks 395th of 4,636 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 172 others).
Barbers Hill MS South is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is unchanged since 2021-22.
Ranks 838th of 7,646 rated Texas schools (tied with 318 others).
Put the numbers in context
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 94 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
| Year | Rating | Score | Selected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rate | StateTexas average |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-26 | A | 92 | 86.6 1,104 reporting | 81.3 7,646 reporting |
| 2024-25 | A | 92 | 86.5 1,082 reporting | 81.2 7,554 reporting |
| 2023-24 | A | 92 | 85.2 1,066 reporting | 78.9 7,466 reporting |
| 2022-23 | A | 92 | 85.6 1,053 reporting | 79.1 7,377 reporting |
| 2021-22 | A | 92 | 87.0 1,035 reporting | 83.7 7,283 reporting |
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
| Domain | Score | Grade | Points to next grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student Achievement | 92 | A | — |
| School Progress | 90 | A | — |
| Closing the Gaps | 93 | A | — |
| Academic Growth | 90 | A | — |
| Relative Performance | 89 | B | 1 |
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (92), so School Progress (90) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 92.
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Barbers Hill MS South
Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,104 reporting for every category shown · 1,104 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Region 04: Houston · 1,303 reporting for every category shown · 1,303 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Chambers County · 16 reporting for every category shown · 16 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For similarly sized schools · 4,636 reporting for every category shown · 4,636 in full cohort
Statewide average 7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 618 students in 2025–26, an increase of 31 (5.3%) from 2024–25.
2025–26
Increase · +5.3%
Decrease · −26.8%
| School year | Students enrolledBarbers Hill MS South | Change from previous school year | Average enrollmentselected comparison |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021–22 | 844 | First available year | 790.5 |
| 2022–23 | 636 | Decrease of 208 (24.6%) | 792.3 |
| 2023–24 | 619 | Decrease of 17 (2.7%) | 789.3 |
| 2024–25 | 587 | Decrease of 32 (5.2%) | 786.8 |
| 2025–26 | 618 | Increase of 31 (5.3%) | 778.4 |
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
18.1% of cumulative year-end enrollment
36.42 per 100 students
2024–25
| School year | Cumulative enrollment | Studentsall discipline | Students% of enrollment | Actionsall discipline | Actionsper 100 students | Studentsselected comparison average % | Actionsselected comparison average per 100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020–21 | 842 | 110 | 13.1% | 204 | 24.23 | 7.6% | 13.8 |
| 2021–22 | 907 | 148 | 16.3% | 289 | 31.86 | 9.8% | 20 |
| 2022–23 | 666 | 120 | 18.0% | 351 | 52.70 | 10.0% | 20.9 |
| 2023–24 | 652 | 132 | 20.3% | 306 | 46.93 | 9.7% | 20.8 |
| 2024–25 | 615 | 111 | 18.1% | 224 | 36.42 | 9.4% | 19.6 |
| Category | Students | Students% of enrollment | Actions | Actionsper 100 students | Studentsselected comparison average % | Actionsselected comparison average per 100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All discipline | 111 | 18.1% | 224 | 36.42 | 9.4% | 19.6 |
| In-school suspensions | 107 | 17.4% | 198 | 32.20 | 8.4% | 15.2 |
| Out-of-school suspensions | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| DAEP placements | 16 | 2.6% | 16 | 2.60 | 3.3% | 3.9 |
| Mandatory DAEP placements | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| Discretionary DAEP placements | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Mandatory JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Discretionary JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Mandatory expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Discretionary expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
For 2025, TEA reported $18,131 per student for this campus, $27,785 per student for its parent district, Barbers Hill ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
| Year | Barbers Hill MS South | Parent district: Barbers Hill ISD | Texas average | Selected comparison average | Reportingselected comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | $8,419 | $27,600 | $13,054 | $7,612 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 979 rated schools reporting |
| 2019 | $9,280 | $26,415 | $13,108 | $7,735 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 993 rated schools reporting |
| 2020 | $9,458 | $22,568 | $14,058 | $8,073 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,002 rated schools reporting |
| 2021 | $10,403 | $33,288 | $14,797 | $8,507 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,014 rated schools reporting |
| 2022 | $10,229 | $34,784 | $15,708 | $9,742 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,034 rated schools reporting |
| 2023 | $11,473 | $24,488 | $16,792 | $10,274 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,054 rated schools reporting |
| 2024 | $12,485 | $26,612 | $18,125 | $11,386 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,066 rated schools reporting |
| 2025 | $18,131 | $27,785 | $18,972 | $11,821 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,082 rated schools reporting |
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Barbers Hill MS South
Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,104 reporting for every category shown · 1,104 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Region 04: Houston · 1,303 reporting for every category shown · 1,303 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Chambers County · 16 reporting for every category shown · 16 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For similarly sized schools · 4,636 reporting for every category shown · 4,636 in full cohort
Statewide average 7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
| Grade or subject | Average students per classBarbers Hill MS South · 2024–25 | Average students per classselected comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Secondary English | 20 | 16.6 |
| Secondary languages other than English | 20 | 18.7 |
| Secondary math | 21.4 | 17.3 |
| Secondary science | 22.8 | 18.8 |
| Secondary social studies | 22 | 18.9 |
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
Out of 117 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
Second- and third-place results
3 measures
Academic Growth
Chambers County · of the 11 that report this measure · tied with 1
Per-student spending
Chambers County · of the 16 that report this measure
Math — Masters
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 2
Fourth- through tenth-place results
18 measures
School Progress
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 2
Closing the Gaps
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 2
Reading — Approaches
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
Reading — Meets
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1
Math — Meets
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
Science — Meets
Chambers County · of the 11 that report this measure · tied with 1
Science — Masters
Chambers County · of the 11 that report this measure
Attendance
Chambers County · of the 15 that report this measure
Relative Performance
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 2
Reading — Masters
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1
All Subjects — Masters
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
Chronically absent (lowest is best)
Chambers County · of the 15 that report this measure
Student Achievement
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1
All Subjects — Meets
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
Math — Approaches
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1
Science — Approaches
Chambers County · of the 11 that report this measure
All Subjects — Approaches
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
Overall score
Chambers County · of the 16 that report this measure
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Download the full dataset · this campus's district
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 036902043.