+8.0 ptsvs 85 average · 1,285 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
120 of 1,285tied with 56 others
Score vs region
+9.7 ptsvs 83.3 average · 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston
Region 04: Houston placement
131 of 1,303tied with 53 others
Score vs county
+7.4 ptsvs 85.6 average · 16 rated schools in Chambers County
Chambers County placement
5 of 16tied with 3 others
Score vs similar-size group
+11.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 2,906 similarly sized rated schools
Similar size placement
187 of 2,906tied with 100 others
Score vs state
+11.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 7,646 rated Texas schools
Texas placement
588 of 7,646tied with 249 others
A93
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 89 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 85 average for 1,285 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 83.3 average for 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston.The current score is above the 85.6 average for 16 rated schools in Chambers County.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 2,906 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
72%vs 59.5% avg · +12.5 pts
Masters
43%vs 28% avg · +15 pts
Among 1,250 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Barbers Hill Elem South is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 85 average for 1,285 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 120th of 1,285 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 56 others).
Barbers Hill Elem South is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 83.3 average for 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 131st of 1,303 rated schools in Region 04: Houston (tied with 53 others).
Barbers Hill Elem South is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 85.6 average for 16 rated schools in Chambers County. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 5th of 16 rated schools in Chambers County (tied with 3 others).
Barbers Hill Elem South is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 2,906 similarly sized rated schools. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 187th of 2,906 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 100 others).
Barbers Hill Elem South is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 89 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement92 A+6.5 vs similar economic context · 1,250 reporting
School Progress89 B+6.1 vs similar economic context · 1,246 reporting
Closing the Gaps94 A+11.7 vs similar economic context · 1,237 reporting
Relative Performance89 B+9.4 vs similar economic context · 1,246 reporting
Barbers Hill Elem South
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,285 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
92
A
—
School Progress
89
B
1
Closing the Gaps
94
A
—
Academic Growth
—
Not rated
—
Relative Performance
89
B
1
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (92), so
School Progress (89) is published above but does not enter the overall
score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 92.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level90%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,250 reporting
Meets grade level72%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,250 reporting
Masters grade level43%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,250 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level91%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,249 reporting
Meets grade level76%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,249 reporting
Masters grade level48%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,249 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level89%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,245 reporting
Meets grade level67%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,245 reporting
Masters grade level38%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,245 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,285 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
946
Economically disadvantaged
37.8%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
14.5%+3.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.0%−4.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.7%+0.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
6.6%−5.5 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Barbers Hill Elem South
African American 4.9%
Hispanic 41.4%
White 47.9%
American Indian 0.2%
Asian 2.3%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.2%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,285 reporting for every category shown · 1,285 in full cohort
African American 9.2%
Hispanic 34.1%
White 46.6%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 5.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 4.5%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 04: Houston · 1,303 reporting for every category shown · 1,303 in full cohort
African American 19.1%
Hispanic 53.8%
White 16.9%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 6.7%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.1%
Selected comparison averageFor Chambers County · 16 reporting for every category shown · 16 in full cohort
African American 6.6%
Hispanic 36.8%
White 50.3%
American Indian 0.1%
Asian 1.6%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 4.7%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 2,906 reporting for every category shown · 2,906 in full cohort
African American 12.8%
Hispanic 52.3%
White 24.2%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 6.5%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 3.7%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
African American 11.5%
Hispanic 52.6%
White 27.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
945
Economically disadvantaged students
357
Emergent bilingual students
137
Special education students
132
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
70
Students in TEA mobility denominator
940
TEA-published mobility rate
7.4%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 946 students in 2025–26, an increase of 55 (6.2%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
946
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
+55
Increase · +6.2%
Change since 2021–22
−135
Decrease · −12.5%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
946
Selected comparison
723.2
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,255 rated schools reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Barbers Hill Elem South
School year
Students enrolledBarbers Hill Elem South
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
1,081
First available year
731.7
2022–23
883
Decrease of 198 (18.3%)
732.6
2023–24
917
Increase of 34 (3.9%)
734.4
2024–25
891
Decrease of 26 (2.8%)
730.2
2025–26
946
Increase of 55 (6.2%)
723.2
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed
Rate not available
Disciplinary actions
Suppressed
Rate not available
Cumulative year-end enrollment
938
2024–25
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Barbers Hill Elem South
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
1,072
29
2.7%
48
4.48
8.6%
16
2021–22
1,164
67
5.8%
103
8.85
10.6%
22.4
2022–23
927
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2023–24
946
Suppressed
—
11
1.16
—
24
2024–25
938
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Barbers Hill Elem South in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
In-school suspensions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Out-of-school suspensions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Barbers Hill Elem South
Parent district: Barbers Hill ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$11,289
Selected comparison
$11,892
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,260 rated schools reporting
−$603 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $11,289 per student for this campus, $27,785 per student for its parent district, Barbers Hill ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Barbers Hill Elem South
Parent district: Barbers Hill ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$7,706
$27,600
$13,054
$7,704
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,152 rated schools reporting
2019
$8,196
$26,415
$13,108
$7,847
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,168 rated schools reporting
2020
$8,552
$22,568
$14,058
$8,188
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,174 rated schools reporting
2021
$9,441
$33,288
$14,797
$8,667
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,192 rated schools reporting
2022
$10,146
$34,784
$15,708
$9,870
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,211 rated schools reporting
2023
$10,249
$24,488
$16,792
$10,448
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,229 rated schools reporting
2024
$10,767
$26,612
$18,125
$11,667
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,243 rated schools reporting
2025
$11,289
$27,785
$18,972
$11,892
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,260 rated schools reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$80,743+$13,139 vs similar economic context
Teachers
73+25.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.9−1.3 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Barbers Hill Elem South
Beginning 2.7%
1 to 5 years 16.4%
6 to 10 years 28.8%
11 to 20 years 28.8%
21 to 30 years 21.9%
Over 30 years 1.4%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,285 reporting for every category shown · 1,285 in full cohort
Beginning 5.2%
1 to 5 years 23.2%
6 to 10 years 19.5%
11 to 20 years 31.3%
21 to 30 years 17%
Over 30 years 3.6%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 04: Houston · 1,303 reporting for every category shown · 1,303 in full cohort
Beginning 7.7%
1 to 5 years 27.3%
6 to 10 years 20.6%
11 to 20 years 27.2%
21 to 30 years 13.5%
Over 30 years 2.6%
Selected comparison averageFor Chambers County · 16 reporting for every category shown · 16 in full cohort
Beginning 2.4%
1 to 5 years 20.8%
6 to 10 years 20.4%
11 to 20 years 35%
21 to 30 years 17.8%
Over 30 years 3.6%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 2,906 reporting for every category shown · 2,906 in full cohort
Beginning 6.3%
1 to 5 years 27.1%
6 to 10 years 20.3%
11 to 20 years 28.8%
21 to 30 years 14.6%
Over 30 years 2.7%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 25.6%
6 to 10 years 19.2%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 15.9%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Barbers Hill Elem South in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classBarbers Hill Elem South · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 1
19
18.8
Grade 2
18.9
19
Grade 3
17.7
19.7
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 3 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Out of 85 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
#2–3 rankings
Second- and third-place results
1 measure
3of 13
Closing the Gaps
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
#4–10 rankings
Fourth- through tenth-place results
14 measures
4of 13
Reading — Meets
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1
4of 13
Reading — Masters
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
5of 15
Chronically absent (lowest is best)
Chambers County · of the 15 that report this measure
5of 13
Relative Performance
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 2
5of 13
All Subjects — Masters
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
6of 15
Attendance
Chambers County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1
6of 13
All Subjects — Approaches
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
6of 13
All Subjects — Meets
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
6of 13
Reading — Approaches
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
6of 13
Math — Approaches
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
6of 13
Math — Masters
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
7of 13
Student Achievement
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1
7of 13
School Progress
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1
7of 13
Math — Meets
Chambers County · of the 13 that report this measure
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above
this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears
once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any
tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones
no school would put in a press release.
Where this comes from
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 036902105.