Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Arnoldo Cantu Sr Elem

Hidalgo County · Region 01: Edinburg · 570 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
88/1002025-26
Change
−6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+10.4 ptsvs 77.6 average · 2,114 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
347 of 2,114tied with 58 others
B88

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 95 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.6 average for 2,114 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 9 points

79 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 10.4 points above the 77.6 average among 2,114 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 16 points

74 to 90 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 90 is 15.1 points above the 74.9 average among 1,946 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
51%vs 40.5% avg · +10.5 pts
Masters
27%vs 16.1% avg · +10.9 pts

Among 1,963 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Arnoldo Cantu Sr Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 88 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.6 average for 2,114 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 347th of 2,114 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 58 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageArnoldo Cantu Sr Elem 9491807988 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 95 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8877.6 2,114 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7977.3 2,096 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8073.8 2,078 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9173.4 2,071 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9481.8 2,045 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement78 C+7.7 vs similar economic context · 1,963 reporting
  • School Progress87 B+8.3 vs similar economic context · 1,960 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps90 A+15.1 vs similar economic context · 1,946 reporting
  • Academic Growth83 B+9.9 vs similar economic context · 1,928 reporting
  • Relative Performance87 B+10.3 vs similar economic context · 1,959 reporting
  • Arnoldo Cantu Sr Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,114 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement78C2
School Progress87B3
Closing the Gaps90A—
Academic Growth83B7
Relative Performance87B3

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 3 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (87), so Student Achievement (78) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 87.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level74%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,963 reporting
  • Meets grade level51%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,963 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,963 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level75%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,962 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,962 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,962 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,956 reporting
  • Meets grade level56%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,956 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,956 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,847 reporting
  • Meets grade level28%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,847 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,847 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,114 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
570
Economically disadvantaged
92.3%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
36.0%−4.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.0%−3.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.3%+3.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
8.7%−14.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Arnoldo Cantu Sr Elem

African American: 0.2%Hispanic: 99.6%White: 0.2%
  • African American 0.2%
  • Hispanic 99.6%
  • White 0.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,114 reporting for every category shown · 2,114 in full cohort

African American: 14.9%Hispanic: 76.3%White: 5.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 14.9%
  • Hispanic 76.3%
  • White 5.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
570
Economically disadvantaged students
526
Emergent bilingual students
205
Special education students
80

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
46
Students in TEA mobility denominator
298
TEA-published mobility rate
15.4%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 570 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 28 (4.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
570

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−28

Decrease · −4.7%

Change since 2021–22
+30

Increase · +5.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
570
Selected comparison
571.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,092 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Arnoldo Cantu Sr Elem
School yearStudents enrolledArnoldo Cantu Sr ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 540 First available year 616.4
2022–23 599 Increase of 59 (10.9%) 612.9
2023–24 612 Increase of 13 (2.2%) 603.1
2024–25 598 Decrease of 14 (2.3%) 596.3
2025–26 570 Decrease of 28 (4.7%) 571.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
641

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Arnoldo Cantu Sr Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 637 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 607 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 641 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 639 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 641 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Arnoldo Cantu Sr Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Arnoldo Cantu Sr Elem
  • Parent district: Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,886
Selected comparison
$13,202

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,094 rated schools reporting

−$2,316 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,886 per student for this campus, $17,543 per student for its parent district, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearArnoldo Cantu Sr ElemParent district: Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,158$12,616$13,054$8,317 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,994 rated schools reporting
2019$8,058$13,031$13,108$8,335 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,021 rated schools reporting
2020$8,033$13,616$14,058$8,840 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,025 rated schools reporting
2021$8,603$14,704$14,797$9,649 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,028 rated schools reporting
2022$10,888$16,698$15,708$11,225 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,045 rated schools reporting
2023$11,571$16,916$16,792$11,731 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,070 rated schools reporting
2024$11,238$17,365$18,125$12,647 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,081 rated schools reporting
2025$10,886$17,543$18,972$13,202 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,094 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$69,851+$1,579 vs similar economic context
Teachers
37−3.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.6+1.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Arnoldo Cantu Sr Elem

Beginning: 2.7%1 to 5 years: 5.5%6 to 10 years: 10.9%11 to 20 years: 56.3%21 to 30 years: 21.9%Over 30 years: 2.7%
  • Beginning 2.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 5.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 10.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 56.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 21.9%
  • Over 30 years 2.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,114 reporting for every category shown · 2,114 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.2%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.8%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.8%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Arnoldo Cantu Sr Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classArnoldo Cantu Sr Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten19.518.1
Grade 11818.3
Grade 218.518.3
Grade 320.718.5
Grade 418.518.5
Grade 521.819.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

3 measures

  • 59of 2,000

    Attendance

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 2,000 that report this measure · tied with 8

  • 90of 1,956

    Math — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,956 that report this measure · tied with 16

  • 94of 1,994

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,994 that report this measure · tied with 2

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 108909120.