Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Arnold Elem

Bexar County · Region 20: San Antonio · 604 students

Current score
84/1002025-26
Change
−6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+6.5 ptsvs 77.5 average · 1,970 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
590 of 1,970tied with 61 others
B84

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 87 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.5 average for 1,970 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 9 points

75 to 84 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 84 is 6.5 points above the 77.5 average among 1,970 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Relative Performance rose 13 points

67 to 80 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 80 is 3.3 points above the 76.7 average among 1,821 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
44%vs 40.5% avg · +3.5 pts
Masters
18%vs 16.1% avg · +1.9 pts

Among 1,825 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Arnold Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 84 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.5 average for 1,970 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 590th of 1,970 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 61 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageArnold Elem 9065747584 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 87 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8477.5 1,970 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7577.3 1,953 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7473.8 1,935 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6573.3 1,930 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9081.9 1,905 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C+1.8 vs similar economic context · 1,825 reporting
  • School Progress85 B+6.2 vs similar economic context · 1,822 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps83 B+8.1 vs similar economic context · 1,812 reporting
  • Academic Growth85 B+11.8 vs similar economic context · 1,796 reporting
  • Relative Performance80 B+3.3 vs similar economic context · 1,821 reporting
  • Arnold Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,970 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress85B5
Closing the Gaps83B7
Academic Growth85B5
Relative Performance80B10

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 5 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (85), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 85.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level67%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,825 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,825 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,825 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level68%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,825 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,825 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,825 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,821 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,821 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,821 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level57%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,718 reporting
  • Meets grade level26%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,718 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,718 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,970 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
604
Economically disadvantaged
93.7%+2.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
50.2%+8.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
19.7%+2.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.1%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
23.5%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Arnold Elem

African American: 2.5%Hispanic: 94.7%White: 2%Asian: 0.2%Two or More Races: 0.7%
  • African American 2.5%
  • Hispanic 94.7%
  • White 2%
  • Asian 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 0.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,970 reporting for every category shown · 1,970 in full cohort

African American: 15%Hispanic: 76.7%White: 5.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.5%
  • African American 15%
  • Hispanic 76.7%
  • White 5.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
604
Economically disadvantaged students
566
Emergent bilingual students
303
Special education students
119

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
79
Students in TEA mobility denominator
479
TEA-published mobility rate
16.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 604 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 29 (4.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
604

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−29

Decrease · −4.6%

Change since 2021–22
+47

Increase · +8.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
604
Selected comparison
565.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,951 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Arnold Elem
School yearStudents enrolledArnold ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 557 First available year 611.9
2022–23 530 Decrease of 27 (4.8%) 608.1
2023–24 590 Increase of 60 (11.3%) 598
2024–25 633 Increase of 43 (7.3%) 591.2
2025–26 604 Decrease of 29 (4.6%) 565.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
687

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Arnold Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 614 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 619 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 592 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 676 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 687 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Arnold Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$15k$24k20182020202220242025
  • Arnold Elem
  • Parent district: San Antonio ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,226
Selected comparison
$13,228

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,952 rated schools reporting

−$3,002 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,226 per student for this campus, $22,411 per student for its parent district, San Antonio ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearArnold ElemParent district: San Antonio ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,282$13,895$13,054$8,343 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,858 rated schools reporting
2019$7,943$15,168$13,108$8,358 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,883 rated schools reporting
2020$8,423$19,020$14,058$8,857 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 rated schools reporting
2021$8,770$18,196$14,797$9,689 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,889 rated schools reporting
2022$10,617$18,722$15,708$11,260 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 rated schools reporting
2023$10,317$18,189$16,792$11,810 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,930 rated schools reporting
2024$10,803$21,627$18,125$12,684 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,939 rated schools reporting
2025$10,226$22,411$18,972$13,228 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,952 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$68,595+$203 vs similar economic context
Teachers
42+2.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.4−0.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Arnold Elem

Beginning: 2.4%1 to 5 years: 11.9%6 to 10 years: 22.4%11 to 20 years: 32.2%21 to 30 years: 26.3%Over 30 years: 4.8%
  • Beginning 2.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 11.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 22.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 26.3%
  • Over 30 years 4.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,970 reporting for every category shown · 1,970 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Arnold Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classArnold Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1918.1
Grade 122.318.3
Grade 216.518.3
Grade 31718.5
Grade 41718.4
Grade 52219.2

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 015907101.