Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Angleton JH School

Brazoria County · Region 04: Houston · 889 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
77/1002025-26
Change
−9 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−2.5 ptsvs 79.5 average · 2,033 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,265 of 2,033tied with 54 others
C77

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 86 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 79.5 average for 2,033 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
58%vs 44.3% avg · +13.7 pts
Masters
25%vs 19.5% avg · +5.5 pts

Among 1,763 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Relative Performance above the similar-context average

82 +3.1 pts vs 78.9

  • 82 is 3.1 points above the 78.9 average among 1,913 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

15.9% −1.5 pts vs 17.4%

  • 15.9% is 1.5 percentage points lower than the 17.4% average among 1,967 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Angleton JH School is rated C by TEA, scoring 77 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79.5 average for 2,033 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 9 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,265th of 2,033 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 54 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
29.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,033 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
3.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,033 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageAngleton JH School 8680857877 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 86 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7779.5 2,033 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7879.2 2,011 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8577.2 1,996 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8077.7 1,964 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8682.1 1,943 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement75 C−1.8 vs similar economic context · 1,919 reporting
  • School Progress82 B+1.5 vs similar economic context · 1,913 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps64 D−12.7 vs similar economic context · 1,896 reporting
  • Academic Growth62 D−11.6 vs similar economic context · 1,851 reporting
  • Relative Performance82 B+3.1 vs similar economic context · 1,913 reporting
  • Angleton JH School
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,033 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement75C5
School Progress82B8
Closing the Gaps64D6
Academic Growth62D8
Relative Performance82B8

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 6 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (82), so Student Achievement (75) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 82.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level71%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,919 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,919 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,919 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,917 reporting
  • Meets grade level51%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,917 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,917 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,763 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,763 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,763 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level58%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 909 reporting
  • Meets grade level25%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 909 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 909 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,033 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
889
Economically disadvantaged
68.1%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
6.4%−13.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
19.2%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.6%+0.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
15.9%−1.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Angleton JH School

African American: 15.6%Hispanic: 45.4%White: 35.2%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 0.1%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 3.4%
  • African American 15.6%
  • Hispanic 45.4%
  • White 35.2%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 0.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 3.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,033 reporting for every category shown · 2,033 in full cohort

African American: 12.1%Hispanic: 54.8%White: 26.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.6%
  • African American 12.1%
  • Hispanic 54.8%
  • White 26.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
889
Economically disadvantaged students
605
Emergent bilingual students
57
Special education students
171

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
253
Students in TEA mobility denominator
1,713
TEA-published mobility rate
14.8%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 889 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 678 (43.3%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
889

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−678

Decrease · −43.3%

Change since 2021–22
−655

Decrease · −42.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
889
Selected comparison
637.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,997 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Angleton JH School
School yearStudents enrolledAngleton JH SchoolChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,544 First available year 650
2022–23 1,561 Increase of 17 (1.1%) 656.6
2023–24 1,580 Increase of 19 (1.2%) 655.8
2024–25 1,567 Decrease of 13 (0.8%) 652.9
2025–26 889 Decrease of 678 (43.3%) 637.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
348

20.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
1,145

67.23 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,703

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
20.4%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,556 rated schools reporting

+7.5 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
67.23
Selected comparison
30.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,664 rated schools reporting

+36.7 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Angleton JH School
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,704 305 17.9% 726 42.61 9.7% 19.4
2021–22 1,638 393 24.0% 958 58.49 12.8% 30.2
2022–23 1,670 399 23.9% 1,055 63.17 13.4% 32.2
2023–24 1,693 362 21.4% 1,005 59.36 13.2% 32
2024–25 1,703 348 20.4% 1,145 67.23 12.9% 30.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Angleton JH School in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 348 20.4% 1,145 67.23 12.9% 30.5
In-school suspensions 321 18.9% 888 52.14 11.6% 23.2
Out-of-school suspensions 89 5.2% 117 6.87 7.2% 10.7
DAEP placements 71 4.2% 94 5.52 5.1% 6.1
Mandatory DAEP placements 52 3.0% 63 3.70 3.6% 4.2
Discretionary DAEP placements 26 1.5% 31 1.82 2.9% 3.4
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$16k$27k20182020202220242025
  • Angleton JH School
  • Parent district: Angleton ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,042
Selected comparison
$13,208

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,010 rated schools reporting

−$5,166 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,042 per student for this campus, $25,835 per student for its parent district, Angleton ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearAngleton JH SchoolParent district: Angleton ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,306$10,997$13,054$8,008 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,871 rated schools reporting
2019$6,609$12,699$13,108$8,171 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 rated schools reporting
2020$6,426$12,364$14,058$8,718 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 rated schools reporting
2021$6,806$17,875$14,797$9,213 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,920 rated schools reporting
2022$7,527$19,802$15,708$10,507 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,943 rated schools reporting
2023$8,192$18,240$16,792$11,227 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,966 rated schools reporting
2024$8,269$25,142$18,125$12,370 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,995 rated schools reporting
2025$8,042$25,835$18,972$13,208 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,010 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$68,391+$1,900 vs similar economic context
Teachers
53+9.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.8+2.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Angleton JH School

Beginning: 5.7%1 to 5 years: 32.3%6 to 10 years: 25.3%11 to 20 years: 21.3%21 to 30 years: 15.3%Over 30 years: 0.2%
  • Beginning 5.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 32.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 25.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 21.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.3%
  • Over 30 years 0.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,033 reporting for every category shown · 2,033 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.4%1 to 5 years: 26.7%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.7%21 to 30 years: 15.5%Over 30 years: 4%
  • Beginning 6.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.5%
  • Over 30 years 4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Angleton JH School in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classAngleton JH School · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 620.917.9
Secondary English19.915.1
Secondary languages other than English2417.7
Secondary math19.316
Secondary science23.317.4
Secondary social studies20.617.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 020902044.