Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Alvin JH

Brazoria County · Region 04: Houston · 716 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
81/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+1.3 ptsvs 79.7 average · 2,011 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
920 of 2,011tied with 81 others
B81

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 78 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.7 average for 2,011 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
54%vs 52.3% avg · +1.7 pts
Masters
25%vs 20.9% avg · +4.1 pts

Among 1,900 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
58%vs 45% avg · +13 pts
Masters
28%vs 19.9% avg · +8.1 pts

Among 1,744 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

School Progress above the similar-context average

84 +3.3 pts vs 80.7

  • 84 is 3.3 points above the 80.7 average among 1,896 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Alvin JH is rated B by TEA, scoring 81 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.7 average for 2,011 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 920th of 2,011 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 81 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageAlvin JH 7981798881 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 78 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8179.7 2,011 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8879.4 1,989 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7977.5 1,974 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8178.1 1,942 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7982.1 1,921 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement78 C+0.7 vs similar economic context · 1,903 reporting
  • School Progress84 B+3.3 vs similar economic context · 1,896 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps74 C−2.9 vs similar economic context · 1,879 reporting
  • Academic Growth72 C−1.8 vs similar economic context · 1,837 reporting
  • Relative Performance84 B+5.0 vs similar economic context · 1,896 reporting
  • Alvin JH
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,011 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement78C2
School Progress84B6
Closing the Gaps74C6
Academic Growth72C8
Relative Performance84B6

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 6 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (84), so Student Achievement (78) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 84.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level74%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,903 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,903 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,903 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,900 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,900 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,900 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 923 reporting
  • Meets grade level33%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 923 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 923 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,011 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
716
Economically disadvantaged
66.3%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
14.9%−3.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.4%+1.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.0%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
18.8%+1.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Alvin JH

African American: 4.2%Hispanic: 54.9%White: 38.3%Asian: 0.8%Two or More Races: 1.8%
  • African American 4.2%
  • Hispanic 54.9%
  • White 38.3%
  • Asian 0.8%
  • Two or More Races 1.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,011 reporting for every category shown · 2,011 in full cohort

African American: 11.7%Hispanic: 53.1%White: 28.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 11.7%
  • Hispanic 53.1%
  • White 28.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
716
Economically disadvantaged students
475
Emergent bilingual students
107
Special education students
146

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
143
Students in TEA mobility denominator
799
TEA-published mobility rate
17.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 716 students in 2025–26, no change from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
716

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
0

No change

Change since 2021–22
−220

Decrease · −23.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
716
Selected comparison
629.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,977 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Alvin JH
School yearStudents enrolledAlvin JHChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 936 First available year 645.1
2022–23 769 Decrease of 167 (17.8%) 651.1
2023–24 748 Decrease of 21 (2.7%) 648.8
2024–25 716 Decrease of 32 (4.3%) 644.7
2025–26 716 No change 629.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
206

26.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
631

80.79 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
781

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
26.4%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,549 rated schools reporting

+13.5 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
80.79
Selected comparison
30.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,656 rated schools reporting

+50.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Alvin JH
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 871 99 11.4% 238 27.32 9.7% 19.4
2021–22 1,014 211 20.8% 609 60.06 13.0% 30.5
2022–23 837 217 25.9% 646 77.18 13.4% 32.3
2023–24 803 197 24.5% 576 71.73 13.2% 31.9
2024–25 781 206 26.4% 631 80.79 12.9% 30.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Alvin JH in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 206 26.4% 631 80.79 12.9% 30.5
In-school suspensions 200 25.6% 533 68.25 11.5% 23.1
Out-of-school suspensions 30 3.8% 45 5.76 7.2% 10.7
DAEP placements 41 5.3% 53 6.79 5.1% 6.1
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Alvin JH
  • Parent district: Alvin ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,683
Selected comparison
$12,759

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,987 rated schools reporting

−$2,076 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,683 per student for this campus, $15,428 per student for its parent district, Alvin ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearAlvin JHParent district: Alvin ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,256$16,497$13,054$7,971 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,852 rated schools reporting
2019$8,333$15,630$13,108$8,128 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,867 rated schools reporting
2020$7,308$15,244$14,058$8,700 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,886 rated schools reporting
2021$8,186$16,183$14,797$9,172 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 rated schools reporting
2022$7,988$16,478$15,708$10,480 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,920 rated schools reporting
2023$9,574$17,598$16,792$11,203 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,943 rated schools reporting
2024$10,006$17,232$18,125$12,092 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,971 rated schools reporting
2025$10,683$15,428$18,972$12,759 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,987 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$73,435+$6,954 vs similar economic context
Teachers
50+6.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.5+0.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Alvin JH

Beginning: 2%1 to 5 years: 32.9%6 to 10 years: 20.2%11 to 20 years: 22%21 to 30 years: 18.8%Over 30 years: 4%
  • Beginning 2%
  • 1 to 5 years 32.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 22%
  • 21 to 30 years 18.8%
  • Over 30 years 4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,011 reporting for every category shown · 2,011 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.3%1 to 5 years: 26.4%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 28%21 to 30 years: 15.7%Over 30 years: 4%
  • Beginning 6.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 28%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.7%
  • Over 30 years 4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Alvin JH in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classAlvin JH · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 616.517.8
Secondary English18.915.1
Secondary languages other than English19.717.7
Secondary math17.716
Secondary science1917.4
Secondary social studies20.317.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 020901041.