Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Alonso S Perales Elem

Bexar County · Region 20: San Antonio · 482 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
73/1002025-26
Change
−18 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−4.6 ptsvs 77.6 average · 1,985 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,366 of 1,985tied with 37 others
C73

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 88 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.6 average for 1,985 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Read the full rating context and placement

Alonso S Perales Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 73 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.6 average for 1,985 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 18 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,366th of 1,985 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 37 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
33.6%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,985 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
9.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,985 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageAlonso S Perales Elem 9184747873 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 88 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7377.6 1,985 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7877.3 1,968 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7473.8 1,950 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8473.3 1,945 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9181.9 1,920 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement59 F−11.2 vs similar economic context · 1,840 reporting
  • School Progress74 C−4.8 vs similar economic context · 1,837 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps71 C−3.9 vs similar economic context · 1,827 reporting
  • Academic Growth74 C+0.9 vs similar economic context · 1,811 reporting
  • Relative Performance65 D−11.7 vs similar economic context · 1,836 reporting
  • Alonso S Perales Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,985 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement59F1
School Progress74C6
Closing the Gaps71C9
Academic Growth74C6
Relative Performance65D5

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 6 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (74), so Student Achievement (59) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 74.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level57%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,840 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,840 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,840 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level61%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,840 reporting
  • Meets grade level41%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,840 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,840 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level56%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,836 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,836 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,836 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level46%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,733 reporting
  • Meets grade level27%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,733 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,733 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,985 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
482
Economically disadvantaged
93.5%+2.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
4.0%−37.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
17.9%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
91.7%−1.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
31.8%+8.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Alonso S Perales Elem

African American: 0.6%Hispanic: 98.1%White: 1.3%
  • African American 0.6%
  • Hispanic 98.1%
  • White 1.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,985 reporting for every category shown · 1,985 in full cohort

African American: 15%Hispanic: 76.7%White: 5.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.5%
  • African American 15%
  • Hispanic 76.7%
  • White 5.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
476
Economically disadvantaged students
445
Emergent bilingual students
19
Special education students
85

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
71
Students in TEA mobility denominator
410
TEA-published mobility rate
17.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 482 students in 2025–26, an increase of 13 (2.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
482

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+13

Increase · +2.8%

Change since 2021–22
+142

Increase · +41.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
482
Selected comparison
565.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,966 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Alonso S Perales Elem
School yearStudents enrolledAlonso S Perales ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 340 First available year 612.2
2022–23 353 Increase of 13 (3.8%) 608.6
2023–24 389 Increase of 36 (10.2%) 598.5
2024–25 469 Increase of 80 (20.6%) 591.6
2025–26 482 Increase of 13 (2.8%) 565.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
38

7.1% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
60

11.17 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
537

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
7.1%
Selected comparison
13.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,188 rated schools reporting

−5.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
11.17
Selected comparison
30.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,282 rated schools reporting

−19.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Alonso S Perales Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 385 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 388 39 10.1% 66 17.01 12.4% 29.3
2022–23 397 12 3.0% 14 3.53 13.4% 32.4
2023–24 459 42 9.2% 56 12.20 13.6% 32.6
2024–25 537 38 7.1% 60 11.17 13.0% 30.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Alonso S Perales Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 38 7.1% 60 11.17 13.0% 30.5
In-school suspensions 38 7.1% 52 9.68 11.2% 21.4
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Alonso S Perales Elem
  • Parent district: Edgewood ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,103
Selected comparison
$13,213

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,967 rated schools reporting

−$3,110 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,103 per student for this campus, $16,543 per student for its parent district, Edgewood ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearAlonso S Perales ElemParent district: Edgewood ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,789$13,375$13,054$8,339 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,873 rated schools reporting
2019$8,278$11,711$13,108$8,358 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,898 rated schools reporting
2020$11,459$13,031$14,058$8,857 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 rated schools reporting
2021$9,872$13,996$14,797$9,682 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,904 rated schools reporting
2022$11,101$16,139$15,708$11,246 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,921 rated schools reporting
2023$12,481$19,076$16,792$11,797 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,945 rated schools reporting
2024$11,907$18,570$18,125$12,670 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,954 rated schools reporting
2025$10,103$16,543$18,972$13,213 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,967 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$67,359−$1,017 vs similar economic context
Teachers
10−29.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
47.6+32.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Alonso S Perales Elem

Beginning: 30%1 to 5 years: 20%6 to 10 years: 10%11 to 20 years: 20%21 to 30 years: 10%Over 30 years: 10%
  • Beginning 30%
  • 1 to 5 years 20%
  • 6 to 10 years 10%
  • 11 to 20 years 20%
  • 21 to 30 years 10%
  • Over 30 years 10%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,985 reporting for every category shown · 1,985 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Alonso S Perales Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classAlonso S Perales Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten25.518
Grade 118.918.3
Grade 220.518.3
Grade 316.218.5
Grade 417.418.4
Grade 519.719.2

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 015905106.