Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

Wortham ISD

Freestone County · Region 12: Waco · 502 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
72/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−9.4 ptsvs 81.4 average · 408 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
373 of 408tied with 8 others
C72

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 84 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 81.4 average for 408 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Four-Year Graduation Rate above the similar-context average

100% +3.9 pts vs 96.1%

  • 100% is 3.9 percentage points above the 96.1% average among 395 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure (standard accountability only).
See the full measure

Current strength

Six-Year Graduation Rate above the similar-context average

97.6% +1.3 pts vs 96.3%

  • 97.6% is 1.3 percentage points above the 96.3% average among 390 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure (standard accountability only).
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

Wortham ISD is rated C by TEA, scoring 72 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 81.4 average for 408 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 373rd of 408 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 8 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this district serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Students crossing district lines
  11. Discipline and removal from class
  12. Community around the district
  13. 3 schools in this district
  14. Spending per student
  15. Teachers
  16. Where this district ranks best
  17. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this district. They are shown separately from the district rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
2

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
0

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This district
66.7%
Selected comparison
20.6%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting

+46.1 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This district
0.0%
Selected comparison
2.0%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting

−2.0 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in Wortham ISD
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
Wortham MSCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Wortham ElemCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting districts in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageWortham ISD 7075727272 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 84 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7281.4 408 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25C7280.5 408 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24C7278.6 408 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23C7579.2 408 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22C7080.2 407 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement75 C−6.5 vs similar economic context · 408 reporting
  • School Progress71 C−10.2 vs similar economic context · 408 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps65 D−14.0 vs similar economic context · 407 reporting
  • Academic Growth67 D−4.9 vs similar economic context · 408 reporting
  • Relative Performance71 C−9.8 vs similar economic context · 408 reporting
  • Wortham ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (408 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement75C5
School Progress71C9
Closing the Gaps65D5
Academic Growth67D3
Relative Performance71C9

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 5 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this district that better measure is Student Achievement (75), so School Progress (71) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 75.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level69%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level70%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 406 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 406 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 406 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 400 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 400 reporting
  • Masters grade level20%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 400 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (408 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
100.0%+3.9 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 395 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
95.1%−1.3 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 392 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
97.6%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 390 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
0.6%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 397 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
90.0%+0.9 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria90.0%89.1%+0.9 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 394 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course47.6%56.4%−8.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 396 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA14.3%26.2%−11.9 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 396 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%5.5%−5.5 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 396 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course50.0%34.8%+15.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 396 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification50.0%42.1%+7.9 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 396 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate19.0%1.6%+17.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 396 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%3.1%−3.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 396 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%3.0%−3.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 396 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness9.5%3.1%+6.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 396 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student0.0%8.5%−8.5 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 396 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces4.8%3.8%+1.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 396 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
35

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
15

42.9% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
20

57.1% of graduates

Not trackable
0

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
35
Selected comparison
378.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 294 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
15
Selected comparison
161.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 294 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
42.9%
Selected comparison
45.3%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 294 rated districts reporting

−2.4 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
57.1%
Selected comparison
51.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 294 rated districts reporting

+5.6 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
0.0%
Selected comparison
3.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 294 rated districts reporting

−3.2 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. NAVARRO COLLEGE (003593)5

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
502
Economically disadvantaged
57.9%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
11.4%+1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.2%−5.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.4%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
16.4%+1.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Wortham ISD

African American: 8.8%Hispanic: 30.9%White: 55.1%Two or More Races: 5.2%
  • African American 8.8%
  • Hispanic 30.9%
  • White 55.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.2%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting for every category shown · 408 in full cohort

African American: 5.5%Hispanic: 38.8%White: 50.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 5.5%
  • Hispanic 38.8%
  • White 50.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
501
Economically disadvantaged students
290
Emergent bilingual students
57
Special education students
66

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 502 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 33 (6.2%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
502

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−33

Decrease · −6.2%

Change since 2021–22
−18

Decrease · −3.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
502
Selected comparison
3,842.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Wortham ISD
School yearStudents enrolledWortham ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 520 First available year 3,815.1
2022–23 552 Increase of 32 (6.2%) 3,869.5
2023–24 537 Decrease of 15 (2.7%) 3,871.1
2024–25 535 Decrease of 2 (0.4%) 3,885.2
2025–26 502 Decrease of 33 (6.2%) 3,842.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
83

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
74

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
+9

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
83
Selected comparison
212.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 390 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
74
Selected comparison
492.4

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 384 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
+9
Selected comparison
−291

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 370 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for Wortham ISD
School yearTransfers inWortham ISDTransfers outWortham ISDIn minus outWortham ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 126 64 +62 178.4 392.2 −224
2022–23 123 57 +66 192.7 422.5 −242
2023–24 98 65 +33 187.3 444.8 −268
2024–25 90 73 +17 201.1 481.6 −288
2025–26 83 74 +9 212.9 492.4 −291

Largest reported origins for transfers in

  1. Mexia ISD 14790362
  2. Corsicana ISD 17590313

Top reported flows only. TEA published 2 of 5 counterpart counts and masked 3.

Largest reported destinations for transfers out

  1. Fairfield ISD 08190219
  2. Teague ISD 08190419
  3. Mexia ISD 14790310

Top reported flows only. TEA published 3 of 10 counterpart counts and masked 7.

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
68

11.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
151

26.49 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
570

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
11.9%
Selected comparison
10.7%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 359 rated districts reporting

+1.2 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
26.49
Selected comparison
23.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 372 rated districts reporting

+3.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Wortham ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 526 35 6.7% 60 11.41 8.3% 16.4
2021–22 560 64 11.4% 111 19.82 10.7% 23.1
2022–23 587 94 16.0% 178 30.32 11.2% 24.5
2023–24 573 73 12.7% 131 22.86 11.0% 24.3
2024–25 570 68 11.9% 151 26.49 10.7% 23.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Wortham ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 68 11.9% 151 26.49 10.7% 23.1
In-school suspensions 60 10.5% 116 20.35 9.4% 17.5
Out-of-school suspensions 13 2.3% 16 2.81 3.4% 4.9
DAEP placements 18 3.2% 19 3.33 2.5% 3
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
2,137

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
400

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
55

13.8%

School-age child poverty rate
13.8%

55 of 400

Boundary population

This district
2,137
Selected comparison
24,265.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
400
Selected comparison
4,269.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
55
Selected comparison
608.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
13.8%
Selected comparison
17.3%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting

−3.5 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

3 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
3
Selected comparison
6.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
1
High School
1
Middle / Jr. High
1
Browse all 3 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Wortham HSHigh SchoolB84154
Wortham ElemElementaryD69227
Wortham MSMiddle / Jr. HighD60121

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$9k$18k$27k20182020202220242025
  • Wortham ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$13,397
Selected comparison
$23,699

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting

−$10,302 vs similar economic context

This district spends $8,078 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $5,575 less per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearWortham ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$9,528$13,378$13,054$14,347 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2019$10,978$14,384$13,108$14,467 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2020$11,919$16,581$14,058$15,582 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2021$11,105$17,863$14,797$16,623 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2022$11,915$16,982$15,708$18,294 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2023$17,448$18,148$16,792$20,065 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2024$14,566$19,654$18,125$22,316 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting
2025$13,397$21,475$18,972$23,699 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$59,240−$5,108 vs similar economic context
Teachers
38−225.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.2+1.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Wortham ISD

Beginning: 2.6%1 to 5 years: 21.1%6 to 10 years: 18.4%11 to 20 years: 26.3%21 to 30 years: 31.6%
  • Beginning 2.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 21.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 31.6%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 reporting for every category shown · 408 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.6%1 to 5 years: 23.8%6 to 10 years: 17.3%11 to 20 years: 28.4%21 to 30 years: 17.9%Over 30 years: 6%
  • Beginning 6.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.9%
  • Over 30 years 6%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 25.6% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
25.6%
Selected comparison
21.6%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 408 rated districts reporting

+4.0 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Wortham ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateWortham ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2120.1%16.4%
2021–2227.3%20.1%
2022–237.4%23.6%
2023–2421.1%21.3%
2024–2525.6%21.6%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 160 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 2of 73

    Earned a level I or level II certificate

    Region 12: Waco · of the 73 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 8of 73

    Earned college credit for a dual credit course

    Region 12: Waco · of the 73 that report this measure

  • 9of 73

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Region 12: Waco · of the 73 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset