Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

Whitney ISD

Hill County · Region 12: Waco · 1,433 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
78/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−2.3 ptsvs 80.3 average · 389 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
238 of 389tied with 21 others
C78

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 77 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 80.3 average for 389 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 11 points

71 to 82 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 82 is 4.5 points above the 77.5 average among 388 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Social Studies above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 46.4% avg · +8.6 pts
Masters
34%vs 19.5% avg · +14.5 pts

Among 383 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

Whitney ISD is rated C by TEA, scoring 78 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 80.3 average for 389 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 238th of 389 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 21 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this district serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Students crossing district lines
  11. Discipline and removal from class
  12. Community around the district
  13. 4 schools in this district
  14. Spending per student
  15. Teachers
  16. Where this district ranks best
  17. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this district. They are shown separately from the district rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
2

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
1

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This district
50.0%
Selected comparison
24.1%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting

+25.9 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This district
25.0%
Selected comparison
3.6%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting

+21.4 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in Whitney ISD
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
Whitney MSTSITargeted Support and Improvement · White, Continuously Enrolled
Whitney IntCSI + PEG transfer listComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Final 2026-27 PEG list

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting districts in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageWhitney ISD 7670777578 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 77 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7880.3 389 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25C7579.1 389 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24C7777.3 389 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23C7077.9 389 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22C7679.1 388 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement76 C−4.0 vs similar economic context · 389 reporting
  • School Progress76 C−4.8 vs similar economic context · 389 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps82 B+4.5 vs similar economic context · 388 reporting
  • Academic Growth71 C−0.1 vs similar economic context · 389 reporting
  • Relative Performance76 C−4.3 vs similar economic context · 389 reporting
  • Whitney ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (389 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement76C4
School Progress76C4
Closing the Gaps82B8
Academic Growth71C9
Relative Performance76C4

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 4 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level70%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level74%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 386 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 386 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 386 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 383 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 383 reporting
  • Masters grade level34%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 383 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (389 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
99.1%+2.8 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 375 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
98.2%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 372 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
97.9%+1.5 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 372 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
0.2%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
97.0%+8.0 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria97.0%89.0%+8.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 374 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course87.4%56.8%+30.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA27.9%25.0%+2.9 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%5.2%−5.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course24.3%33.5%−9.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification32.4%43.1%−10.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.7%−1.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%3.4%−3.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%2.4%−2.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness9.0%3.5%+5.5 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student5.4%9.0%−3.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces1.8%3.8%−2.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
108

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
59

54.6% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
48

44.4% of graduates

Not trackable
1

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
108
Selected comparison
347.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 282 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
59
Selected comparison
148.7

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 282 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
54.6%
Selected comparison
43.8%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 282 rated districts reporting

+10.8 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
44.4%
Selected comparison
52.9%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 282 rated districts reporting

−8.5 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
0.9%
Selected comparison
3.3%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 282 rated districts reporting

−2.4 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. HILL COLLEGE (003573)13
  2. TEXAS STATE T. C. in WACO (003634)10
  3. MCLENNAN COMMUNITY COLLEGE (003590)7

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,433
Economically disadvantaged
63.7%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
6.7%−5.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.4%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.4%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
15.3%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Whitney ISD

African American: 3.7%Hispanic: 26.5%White: 65%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.1%
  • African American 3.7%
  • Hispanic 26.5%
  • White 65%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.1%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 reporting for every category shown · 389 in full cohort

African American: 5.9%Hispanic: 43.3%White: 46%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 0.8%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 3.5%
  • African American 5.9%
  • Hispanic 43.3%
  • White 46%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 0.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 3.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,433
Economically disadvantaged students
913
Emergent bilingual students
96
Special education students
292

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,433 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 21 (1.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,433

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−21

Decrease · −1.4%

Change since 2021–22
−45

Decrease · −3.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
1,433
Selected comparison
3,613.7

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Whitney ISD
School yearStudents enrolledWhitney ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,478 First available year 3,651
2022–23 1,522 Increase of 44 (3.0%) 3,689.4
2023–24 1,475 Decrease of 47 (3.1%) 3,679.1
2024–25 1,454 Decrease of 21 (1.4%) 3,683.9
2025–26 1,433 Decrease of 21 (1.4%) 3,613.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
79

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
137

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
−58

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
79
Selected comparison
200.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 368 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
137
Selected comparison
483.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 374 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
−58
Selected comparison
−300

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 355 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for Whitney ISD
School yearTransfers inWhitney ISDTransfers outWhitney ISDIn minus outWhitney ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 65 127 −62 148.3 393.9 −261
2022–23 86 129 −43 166.7 411.8 −263
2023–24 92 128 −36 176.1 444.2 −281
2024–25 74 130 −56 197.8 467.8 −282
2025–26 79 137 −58 200.8 483.1 −300

Largest reported origins for transfers in

  1. Kopperl ISD 01890719
  2. Hillsboro ISD 10990413
  3. Morgan ISD 01890310

Top reported flows only. TEA published 3 of 15 counterpart counts and masked 12.

Largest reported destinations for transfers out

  1. Blum ISD 10991323
  2. Aquilla ISD 10991221
  3. Hallsville ISD 10290417
  4. Hillsboro ISD 10990417

Top reported flows only. TEA published 4 of 25 counterpart counts and masked 21.

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
306

19.6% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
880

56.37 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,561

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
19.6%
Selected comparison
11.3%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 347 rated districts reporting

+8.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
56.37
Selected comparison
25.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 358 rated districts reporting

+31.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Whitney ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,627 205 12.6% 383 23.54 8.5% 17.2
2021–22 1,669 238 14.3% 554 33.19 11.4% 25.1
2022–23 1,643 310 18.9% 746 45.40 11.8% 27.1
2023–24 1,633 288 17.6% 659 40.36 11.6% 26.3
2024–25 1,561 306 19.6% 880 56.37 11.3% 25.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Whitney ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 306 19.6% 880 56.37 11.3% 25.1
In-school suspensions 275 17.6% 733 46.96 9.8% 18.6
Out-of-school suspensions 68 4.4% 102 6.53 3.7% 5.6
DAEP placements 37 2.4% 41 2.63 2.7% 3.3
Mandatory DAEP placements 25 1.6% 26 1.67 1.7% 2
Discretionary DAEP placements 13 0.8% 15 0.96 1.5% 1.8
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
11,156

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
1,643

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
331

20.1%

School-age child poverty rate
20.1%

331 of 1,643

Boundary population

This district
11,156
Selected comparison
22,551.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
1,643
Selected comparison
4,066.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
331
Selected comparison
705.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
20.1%
Selected comparison
18.6%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting

+1.5 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

4 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
4
Selected comparison
6.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
2
High School
1
Middle / Jr. High
1
Browse all 4 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Whitney HSHigh SchoolA94407
Whitney ElemElementaryC74384
Whitney IntElementaryC74294
Whitney MSMiddle / Jr. HighD68348

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$11k$20k$29k20182020202220242025
  • Whitney ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$14,892
Selected comparison
$23,224

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting

−$8,332 vs similar economic context

This district spends $4,869 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $4,080 less per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearWhitney ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$11,953$13,246$13,054$14,213 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting
2019$12,101$12,865$13,108$14,322 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting
2020$13,886$13,729$14,058$15,249 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting
2021$13,377$14,629$14,797$16,273 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting
2022$14,107$15,859$15,708$17,906 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting
2023$13,977$17,414$16,792$19,620 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting
2024$15,625$19,844$18,125$21,364 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting
2025$14,892$19,761$18,972$23,224 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$61,389−$2,656 vs similar economic context
Teachers
107−139.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.4+1.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Whitney ISD

Beginning: 11.4%1 to 5 years: 23.6%6 to 10 years: 15%11 to 20 years: 24.7%21 to 30 years: 19.2%Over 30 years: 6.2%
  • Beginning 11.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 15%
  • 11 to 20 years 24.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 19.2%
  • Over 30 years 6.2%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 reporting for every category shown · 389 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.9%1 to 5 years: 24.9%6 to 10 years: 17.5%11 to 20 years: 27.5%21 to 30 years: 17.4%Over 30 years: 5.9%
  • Beginning 6.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.4%
  • Over 30 years 5.9%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 35.5% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
35.5%
Selected comparison
22.3%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated districts reporting

+13.2 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Whitney ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateWhitney ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2118.4%17.3%
2021–2221.0%21.2%
2022–2325.7%24.8%
2023–2421.0%22.1%
2024–2535.5%22.3%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 11

    Social Studies — Masters

    Hill County · of the 11 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

5 measures

  • 2of 11

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Hill County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 3of 11

    Social Studies — Meets

    Hill County · of the 11 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 11

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course

    Hill County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 3of 11

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA

    Hill County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 3of 11

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Hill County · of the 11 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

27 measures

  • 4of 11

    College, career or military ready

    Hill County · of the 11 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 5of 11

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Hill County · of the 11 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 12

    School Progress

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 7of 12

    Closing the Gaps

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 7of 12

    Academic Growth

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 7of 12

    Relative Performance

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 7of 12

    All Subjects — Masters

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 7of 12

    Reading — Meets

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 7of 12

    Math — Masters

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 12

    Science — Masters

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 7of 11

    Six-Year Graduation Rate

    Hill County (standard accountability only) · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 8of 12

    Overall score

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure · full ranking

  • 8of 12

    Student Achievement

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 12

    All Subjects — Meets

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 8of 12

    Science — Approaches

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 8of 12

    Science — Meets

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 8of 11

    Four-Year Graduation Rate

    Hill County (standard accountability only) · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 8of 11

    Five-Year Graduation Rate

    Hill County (standard accountability only) · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 8of 11

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Hill County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 8of 11

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Hill County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 9of 12

    Reading — Masters

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 12

    Math — Meets

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 10of 12

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 10of 12

    Reading — Approaches

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 10of 12

    Math — Approaches

    Hill County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 10of 11

    Dropout Rate (lowest is best)

    Hill County (standard accountability only) · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 10of 11

    Earned college credit for a dual credit course

    Hill County · of the 11 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset