+13.5 ptsvs 77.5 average · 85 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
2 of 85tied with 1 other
Score vs region
+7.1 ptsvs 83.9 average · 37 rated districts in Region 01: Edinburg
Region 01: Edinburg placement
3 of 37tied with 1 other
Score vs county
+8.3 ptsvs 82.7 average · 15 rated districts in Hidalgo County
Hidalgo County placement
1 of 15among reporting districts
Score vs similar-size group
+11.2 ptsvs 79.8 average · 138 similarly sized rated districts
Similar size placement
5 of 138tied with 3 others
Score vs state
+9.3 ptsvs 81.7 average · 1,019 rated Texas districts
Texas placement
98 of 1,019tied with 30 others
A91
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 92 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.5 average for 85 rated districts serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 83.9 average for 37 rated districts in Region 01: Edinburg.The current score is above the 82.7 average for 15 rated districts in Hidalgo County.The current score is above the 79.8 average for 138 similarly sized rated districts.The current score is above the 81.7 average for 1,019 rated Texas districts.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
Recent domain gain
School Progress rose 3 points
89 to 922024-25 to 2025-26
92 is 13.4 points above
the 78.6 average among 85 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
Tied for 2nd of 85 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure; 2 districts share that value.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.
Read the full rating context and placement
Valley View ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.5 average for 85 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is down 2 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 2nd of 85 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 1 other).
Valley View ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 83.9 average for 37 rated districts in Region 01: Edinburg. It is down 2 points since 2021-22.
Valley View ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.7 average for 15 rated districts in Hidalgo County. It is down 2 points since 2021-22.
Valley View ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.8 average for 138 similarly sized rated districts. It is down 2 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 5th of 138 similarly sized rated districts (tied with 3 others).
Valley View ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.7 average for 1,019 rated Texas districts. It is down 2 points since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 92 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement87 B+13.5 vs similar economic context · 85 reporting
School Progress92 A+13.4 vs similar economic context · 85 reporting
Closing the Gaps90 A+15.2 vs similar economic context · 85 reporting
Academic Growth79 C+9.0 vs similar economic context · 85 reporting
Relative Performance92 A+13.7 vs similar economic context · 85 reporting
Valley View ISD
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (85 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
87
B
3
School Progress
92
A
—
Closing the Gaps
90
A
—
Academic Growth
79
C
1
Relative Performance
92
A
—
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this district that better measure is School Progress (92), so
Student Achievement (87) is published above but does not enter the overall
score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 92.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level80%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Meets grade level57%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Masters grade level25%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level79%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Meets grade level60%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Masters grade level26%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level81%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Meets grade level56%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Masters grade level24%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level88%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Meets grade level62%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Masters grade level30%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
Approaches grade level71%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Meets grade level43%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Masters grade level19%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (85 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Graduation
Four-Year
99.0%+6.0 pts vs similar economic contextaverage fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 84 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
99.0%+4.6 pts vs similar economic contextaverage fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 84 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
98.9%+4.4 pts vs similar economic contextaverage fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 84 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
0.1%−1.1 pts vs similar economic contextaverage fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 84 rated districts reporting
These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.
College, career and military readiness
Total credit for CCMR criteria
98.0%+13.9 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
Criterion
This district% of graduates
Averagesimilar economic context
Differencepercentage points
Reportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria
98.0%
84.1%
+13.9
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course
43.5%
47.8%
−4.3
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA
39.4%
20.6%
+18.8
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)
37.2%
7.6%
+29.6
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course
43.2%
31.7%
+11.5
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification
70.3%
40.5%
+29.8
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate
0.0%
3.3%
−3.3
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree
12.3%
5.8%
+6.5
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit
0.0%
2.9%
−2.9
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness
1.6%
2.2%
−0.6
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student
6.0%
9.5%
−3.5
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces
2.5%
3.1%
−0.6
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 83 rated districts reporting
Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of
meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this
district minus the average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate,
counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that
criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
After high school: the following fall
Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.
Graduates in the report
302
Class of 2023–24
Enrolled in Texas public higher education
162
53.6% of graduates
Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
132
43.7% of graduates
Not trackable
8
Fall 2024
Graduates in the report
This district
302
Selected comparison
557.6
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 70 rated districts reporting
Enrolled in Texas public higher education
This district
162
Selected comparison
233.3
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 70 rated districts reporting
Texas-public enrollment rate
This district
53.6%
Selected comparison
41.9%
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 70 rated districts reporting
+11.7 pts vs similar economic context
Not-found rate
This district
43.7%
Selected comparison
53.6%
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 70 rated districts reporting
−9.9 pts vs similar economic context
Not-trackable rate
This district
2.6%
Selected comparison
4.5%
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 70 rated districts reporting
−1.9 pts vs similar economic context
Most common named Texas public destinations
SOUTH TEXAS COLLEGE (031034)69
U. OF TEXAS-RIO GRANDE VALLEY (003599)61
TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY (003632)10
Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.
Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.
“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.
“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.
Who this district serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
3,305
Economically disadvantaged
94.6%+4.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
61.1%+33.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.0%−3.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.8%+1.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
19.2%−4.7 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Valley View ISD
Hispanic 99.9%
White 0.1%
Selected comparison averageFor districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting for every category shown · 85 in full cohort
African American 11.8%
Hispanic 76%
White 9.8%
American Indian 0.2%
Asian 0.5%
Two or More Races 1.8%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 37 reporting for every category shown · 37 in full cohort
African American 0.1%
Hispanic 97.2%
White 2.2%
Asian 0.3%
Two or More Races 0.1%
Selected comparison averageFor Hidalgo County · 15 reporting for every category shown · 15 in full cohort
African American 0.1%
Hispanic 98.2%
White 1.3%
Asian 0.2%
Two or More Races 0.1%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized districts · 138 reporting for every category shown · 138 in full cohort
African American 7.5%
Hispanic 48.9%
White 38.5%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1.3%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Statewide average1,019 reporting for every category shown · 1,019 Texas districts in full cohort
African American 6.3%
Hispanic 43.1%
White 45.4%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1.4%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.3%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
3,304
Economically disadvantaged students
3,124
Emergent bilingual students
2,019
Special education students
461
Early college pathways
Early College High School
482
TEA-published share: 14.6%
Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
46
TEA-published share: 1.4%
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 3,305 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 139 (4.0%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
3,305
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
−139
Decrease · −4.0%
Change since 2021–22
−485
Decrease · −12.8%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This district
3,305
Selected comparison
6,162.7
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Valley View ISD
School year
Students enrolledValley View ISD
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
3,790
First available year
6,598.2
2022–23
3,739
Decrease of 51 (1.3%)
6,624.8
2023–24
3,515
Decrease of 224 (6.0%)
6,517.7
2024–25
3,444
Decrease of 71 (2.0%)
6,409.2
2025–26
3,305
Decrease of 139 (4.0%)
6,162.7
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Students crossing district lines
How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.
Transfers in
516
Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26
Transfers out
1,705
Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26
Transfers in minus transfers out
−1,189
Arithmetic context only
Transfers in · 2025–26
This district
516
Selected comparison
433.5
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 69 rated districts reporting
Transfers out · 2025–26
This district
1,705
Selected comparison
1,428.8
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 84 rated districts reporting
Transfers in minus out · 2025–26
This district
−1,189
Selected comparison
−1,261
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 68 rated districts reporting
Official transfer totals by school year for Valley View ISD
School year
Transfers inValley View ISD
Transfers outValley View ISD
In minus outValley View ISD
Transfers inselected comparison average
Transfers outselected comparison average
In minus outselected comparison average
2021–22
510
1,373
−863
307.5
1,275.2
−1,170
2022–23
509
1,525
−1,016
370.5
1,337.9
−1,250
2023–24
488
2,049
−1,561
383.1
1,386.1
−1,218
2024–25
486
1,715
−1,229
397.9
1,424.6
−1,241
2025–26
516
1,705
−1,189
433.5
1,428.8
−1,261
Largest reported origins for transfers in
Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD 108909312
Hidalgo ISD 10890570
McAllen ISD 10890666
Edinburg CISD 10890416
Donna ISD 10890215
Top reported flows only. TEA published 7 of 10 counterpart counts and masked 3.
Largest reported destinations for transfers out
IDEA Public Schools 108807631
Hidalgo ISD 108905531
Vanguard Academy 108808306
Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD 108909141
McAllen ISD 10890645
Top reported flows only. TEA published 6 of 17 counterpart counts and masked 11.
Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.
Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
258
7.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment
Disciplinary actions
532
14.82 per 100 students
Cumulative year-end enrollment
3,589
2024–25
Share of students · 2024–25
This district
7.2%
Selected comparison
11.9%
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 79 rated districts reporting
−4.7 pts vs similar economic context
Actions per 100 students · 2024–25
This district
14.82
Selected comparison
28.4
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 81 rated districts reporting
−13.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Valley View ISD
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
4,311
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2021–22
4,135
375
9.1%
865
20.92
12.5%
29.6
2022–23
3,926
343
8.7%
772
19.66
13.6%
34.7
2023–24
3,732
240
6.4%
447
11.98
12.9%
31.7
2024–25
3,589
258
7.2%
532
14.82
11.9%
28.4
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Valley View ISD in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
258
7.2%
532
14.82
11.9%
28.4
In-school suspensions
175
4.9%
253
7.05
9.2%
17.8
Out-of-school suspensions
124
3.5%
174
4.85
5.3%
8.7
DAEP placements
83
2.3%
105
2.93
3.1%
3.8
Mandatory DAEP placements
46
1.3%
52
1.45
1.8%
2.1
Discretionary DAEP placements
46
1.3%
53
1.48
1.6%
1.9
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Community around the district
A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.
People living inside the district boundary
18,211
2024 Census estimate
Children ages 5–17
4,497
Living inside the boundary
Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
1,347
30.0%
School-age child poverty rate
30.0%
1,347 of 4,497
Boundary population
This district
18,211
Selected comparison
37,241
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
School-age population
This district
4,497
Selected comparison
7,388
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
School-age population in poverty
This district
1,347
Selected comparison
2,216
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
School-age child poverty rate
This district
30.0%
Selected comparison
27.0%
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
+3.0 pts vs similar economic context
Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.
6 schools in this district
Number of schools in the district
This district
6
Selected comparison
10.4
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.
Elementary
4
High School
1
Middle / Jr. High
1
Browse all 6 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Valley View ISD
TEA peer group
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This district
$17,031
Selected comparison
$22,044
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
−$5,013 vs similar economic context
This district spends $2,459 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $1,941 less per student than the state average.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Valley View ISD
TEA peer group
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$12,727
$12,629
$13,054
$14,432
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
2019
$13,166
$12,702
$13,108
$14,491
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
2020
$12,992
$13,696
$14,058
$15,452
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
2021
$13,345
$14,225
$14,797
$16,896
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
2022
$14,678
$15,710
$15,708
$21,439
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
2023
$16,008
$16,917
$16,792
$23,953
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
2024
$17,271
$18,225
$18,125
$21,634
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
2025
$17,031
$19,490
$18,972
$22,044
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers
Average salary
$68,243+$2,738 vs similar economic context
Teachers
216−213.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.3+2.0 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Valley View ISD
Beginning 0.9%
1 to 5 years 14.8%
6 to 10 years 12.5%
11 to 20 years 45.3%
21 to 30 years 24.1%
Over 30 years 2.3%
Selected comparison averageFor districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 reporting for every category shown · 85 in full cohort
Beginning 7.6%
1 to 5 years 26.8%
6 to 10 years 17.4%
11 to 20 years 26.8%
21 to 30 years 15.9%
Over 30 years 5.5%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 37 reporting for every category shown · 37 in full cohort
Beginning 4.1%
1 to 5 years 22.3%
6 to 10 years 18.1%
11 to 20 years 31.4%
21 to 30 years 18.9%
Over 30 years 5.3%
Selected comparison averageFor Hidalgo County · 15 reporting for every category shown · 15 in full cohort
Beginning 3%
1 to 5 years 21%
6 to 10 years 17.8%
11 to 20 years 35.5%
21 to 30 years 18.9%
Over 30 years 3.8%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized districts · 138 reporting for every category shown · 138 in full cohort
Beginning 4.9%
1 to 5 years 25.9%
6 to 10 years 18.9%
11 to 20 years 28.8%
21 to 30 years 16.8%
Over 30 years 4.6%
Statewide average1,019 reporting for every category shown · 1,019 Texas districts in full cohort
Beginning 6.4%
1 to 5 years 23.9%
6 to 10 years 17.7%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 17.7%
Over 30 years 5.5%
Teacher turnover over time
TEA reported a 13.4% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.
Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25
This district
13.4%
Selected comparison
21.3%
average fordistricts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 85 rated districts reporting
−7.9 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Valley View ISD
School year
Teacher turnover rateValley View ISD
Average turnover rateselected comparison
2020–21
3.4%
18.0%
2021–22
16.4%
20.9%
2022–23
10.9%
24.6%
2023–24
11.1%
23.0%
2024–25
13.4%
21.3%
TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.
Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
#1 rankings
First-place results
8 measures
1of 15
Overall score
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure · full ranking
1of 15
School Progress
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
1of 15
Closing the Gaps
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1
1of 15
Relative Performance
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
1of 15
Math — Approaches
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
1of 15
Math — Meets
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
1of 15
Science — Approaches
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
1of 15
Science — Meets
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
#2–3 rankings
Second- and third-place results
14 measures
2of 85
All Subjects — Approaches
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 85 that report this measure · tied with 2
2of 85
All Subjects — Meets
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 85 that report this measure
2of 85
All Subjects — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 85 that report this measure · tied with 2
2of 83
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 83 that report this measure
2of 15
Academic Growth
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 2
2of 15
Science — Masters
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
2of 15
College, career or military ready
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 2
3of 85
Student Achievement
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 85 that report this measure · tied with 1
3of 15
Reading — Approaches
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
3of 15
Reading — Meets
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
3of 15
Reading — Masters
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
3of 15
Five-Year Graduation Rate
Hidalgo County (standard accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure
3of 15
Six-Year Graduation Rate
Hidalgo County (standard accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1
3of 15
Earned college credit for a dual credit course
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
#4–10 rankings
Fourth- through tenth-place results
15 measures
4of 15
Four-Year Graduation Rate
Hidalgo County (standard accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure
4of 15
Dropout Rate (lowest is best)
Hidalgo County (standard accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1
4of 15
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
4of 15
Earned an industry-based certification
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
4of 15
Chronically absent (lowest is best)
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
5of 85
Math — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 85 that report this measure
5of 15
Attendance
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
7of 15
Earned an associate degree
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
8of 15
Social Studies — Masters
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
8of 15
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
8of 15
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
9of 15
Social Studies — Approaches
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1
9of 15
Social Studies — Meets
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
9of 15
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
9of 15
Per-student spending
Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above
this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears
once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any
tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones
no district would put in a press release.
Where this comes from
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.