Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Charter school system · Alternative Education Accountability

The Excel Center (for Adults)

Administrative office: Austin · 1,252 students

Official charter system websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Change
−79 ptssince 2021-22
Not Rated

At a glance

TEA did not issue an overall rating for The Excel Center (for Adults) for 2025-26. Everything TEA did publish for this charter school system is below.

Read the full rating context and placement

TEA did not issue an overall rating for The Excel Center (for Adults) for 2025-26. Everything TEA did publish for this charter school system is below.

TEA did not issue an overall rating for this charter school system. Scores below are the figures TEA published; the letter grades are the state's where it issued them.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this charter school system serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Students entering this charter system
  10. Discipline and removal from class
  11. 7 schools in this charter school system
  12. Spending per student
  13. Teachers
  14. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this charter school system has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter average 79 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26Not Rated—77.1 52 reporting79.7 165 reporting
2024-25Not Rated—74.9 52 reporting79.2 160 reporting
2023-24Not Rated—75.0 51 reporting78.2 159 reporting
2022-23Not Rated—72.9 51 reporting77.4 158 reporting
2021-22C7981.9 48 reporting82.4 150 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 71.6 · 52 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 78.2 · 52 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 74 · 51 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 72.3 · 51 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 75.7 · 51 reporting
  • The Excel Center (for Adults)
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (52 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

The scores above are the ones TEA published. TEA did not issue letter grades for this charter school system, so none are shown: the A–F thresholds marked on the chart are the state's, but applying them here would produce a grade the state chose to withhold.

Student outcomes

Completion

Four-Year
19.1%−48.1 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 9 rated charter school systems reporting
Five-Year
28.9%−42.1 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 9 rated charter school systems reporting
Six-Year
17.6%−60.3 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 9 rated charter school systems reporting
Dropout Rate
41.9%+33.8 pts vs similar economic context average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 9 rated charter school systems reporting

These measures use TEA's alternative-education accountability population. Each comparison average includes only charter school systems in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported charter school system rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
2.0%−65.6 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria2.0%67.6%−65.6 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course1.7%40.4%−38.7 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA1.7%15.2%−13.5 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%11.4%−11.4 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course0.0%19.8%−19.8 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned an industry-based certification0.3%13.1%−12.8 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.3%0.7%−0.4 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%2.7%−2.7 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%6.9%−6.9 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%3.0%−3.0 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student0.0%8.7%−8.7 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces0.0%2.6%−2.6 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 25 rated charter school systems reporting

Every row is a share of this charter school system's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this charter school system minus the average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported charter school system percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter school systems for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
276

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
6

2.2% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
226

81.9% of graduates

Not trackable
44

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This charter school system
276
Selected comparison
273.8

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 19 rated charter school systems reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This charter school system
6
Selected comparison
111.7

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 19 rated charter school systems reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This charter school system
2.2%
Selected comparison
35.1%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 19 rated charter school systems reporting

−32.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This charter school system
81.9%
Selected comparison
59.4%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 19 rated charter school systems reporting

+22.5 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This charter school system
15.9%
Selected comparison
5.5%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 19 rated charter school systems reporting

+10.4 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. AUSTIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE (012015)5

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this charter school system serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,252
Economically disadvantaged
95.1%+2.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
22.5%−14.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
0.5%−13.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
66.5%−26.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
89.3%+65.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

The Excel Center (for Adults)

African American: 21.5%Hispanic: 58.1%White: 14.1%American Indian: 1.5%Asian: 3.9%Two or More Races: 1%
  • African American 21.5%
  • Hispanic 58.1%
  • White 14.1%
  • American Indian 1.5%
  • Asian 3.9%
  • Two or More Races 1%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 reporting for every category shown · 52 in full cohort

African American: 28.7%Hispanic: 64.9%White: 3.5%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 1.3%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • African American 28.7%
  • Hispanic 64.9%
  • White 3.5%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 1.3%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,031
Economically disadvantaged students
980
Emergent bilingual students
232
Special education students
5

TEA context labels

  • Adult Education High School Charter Program

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,252 students in 2025–26, an increase of 56 (4.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,252

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+56

Increase · +4.7%

Change since 2021–22
+329

Increase · +35.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This charter school system
1,252
Selected comparison
1,810

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 rated charter school systems reporting

Student enrollment by school year for The Excel Center (for Adults)
School yearStudents enrolledThe Excel Center (for Adults)Change from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 923 First available year 1,715.8
2022–23 1,060 Increase of 137 (14.8%) 1,752.1
2023–24 1,017 Decrease of 43 (4.1%) 1,834.4
2024–25 1,196 Increase of 179 (17.6%) 1,824.3
2025–26 1,252 Increase of 56 (4.7%) 1,810

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter school systems in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this charter school system's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students entering this charter system

How many students live in a geographic school district and attend this charter system. These are movement counts, not a quality rating.

Transfers in
1,252

Live in a geographic district; attend this charter system · 2025–26

Transfers in · 2025–26

This charter school system
1,252
Selected comparison
1,810

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 rated charter school systems reporting

Official transfers into The Excel Center (for Adults) by school year
School yearTransfers inThe Excel Center (for Adults)Transfers inselected charter comparison average
2021–22 923 1,715.8
2022–23 1,060 1,752.1
2023–24 1,017 1,834.4
2024–25 1,196 1,824.3
2025–26 1,252 1,810

Largest reported resident-district origins

  1. Austin ISD 227901359
  2. Lockhart ISD 028902160
  3. Overton ISD 201908144
  4. Diboll ISD 00390593
  5. Beaumont ISD 12391084

Top reported flows only. TEA published 14 of 37 counterpart counts and masked 23.

TEA does not publish a transfers-out total or a resident population for this charter system. A charter system is not a geographic attendance boundary, so a net transfer balance cannot be calculated and this page does not label the system a transfer gainer or loser.

Selected comparison figures are average reported transfer-in counts among charter systems, not rates; system size affects them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This charter system’s official total does not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The total and origin rows are TEA’s published charter-system figures; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer-in count does not say why a family chose the charter or whether one school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
12

0.70 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,706

2024–25

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This charter school system
0.7
Selected comparison
11.7

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 34 rated charter school systems reporting

−11.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for The Excel Center (for Adults)
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,587 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 1,776 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 1,892 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 1,779 12 0.7% 16 0.90 7.2% 11.4
2024–25 1,706 Suppressed — 12 0.70 — 11.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for The Excel Center (for Adults) in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — 12 0.70 — 11.7
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter school systems can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this charter school system's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

7 schools in this charter school system

Number of schools in the charter school system

This charter school system
7
Selected comparison
3.8

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average charter school system size. This charter school system's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

High School
7
Browse all 7 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this charter school system
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
The Excel Center (for Adults)High SchoolNot Rated—610
The Excel Center for Adults - LockhartHigh SchoolNot Rated—127
The Excel Center for Adults - South AustinHigh SchoolNot Rated—139
Billy MooreHigh SchoolNot Rated—135
DibollHigh SchoolNot Rated—88
ConnallyHigh SchoolNot Rated—69
StilesHigh SchoolNot Rated—84

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$13k$21k20182020202220242025
  • The Excel Center (for Adults)
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This charter school system
$11,321
Selected comparison
$16,097

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 rated charter school systems reporting

−$4,776 vs similar economic context

This charter school system spends $8,440 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $7,651 less per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearThe Excel Center (for Adults)TEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,019$14,290$13,054$10,316 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 45 rated charter school systems reporting
2019$7,283$14,384$13,108$10,355 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 48 rated charter school systems reporting
2020$7,957$15,250$14,058$11,028 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 49 rated charter school systems reporting
2021$8,811$15,636$14,797$12,165 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 49 rated charter school systems reporting
2022$8,877$16,982$15,708$15,211 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 51 rated charter school systems reporting
2023$11,114$18,148$16,792$15,087 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 51 rated charter school systems reporting
2024$11,737$19,844$18,125$15,475 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 51 rated charter school systems reporting
2025$11,321$19,761$18,972$16,097 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$71,651+$7,042 vs similar economic context
Teachers
56−48.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
18.5+2.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

The Excel Center (for Adults)

1 to 5 years: 19.7%6 to 10 years: 30.7%11 to 20 years: 37%21 to 30 years: 9%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 19.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 30.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 37%
  • 21 to 30 years 9%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 reporting for every category shown · 52 in full cohort

Beginning: 10.9%1 to 5 years: 37.9%6 to 10 years: 20.8%11 to 20 years: 19.4%21 to 30 years: 8.3%Over 30 years: 2.8%
  • Beginning 10.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 37.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 19.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 8.3%
  • Over 30 years 2.8%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 33.2% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This charter school system
33.2%
Selected comparison
33.4%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 51 rated charter school systems reporting

−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Charter-system teacher turnover rate by school year for The Excel Center (for Adults)
School yearTeacher turnover rateThe Excel Center (for Adults)Average turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2121.9%25.7%
2021–2221.1%31.6%
2022–2343.4%36.0%
2023–2424.6%34.9%
2024–2533.2%33.4%

TEA defines this charter school system rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the charter school system in the current fall. That can include leaving the charter school system or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this charter school system's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this charter school system as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset