Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Charter school system

Step Charter School

Administrative office: Houston · 723 students

Official charter system websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
80/1002025-26
Change
−13 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+2.9 ptsvs 77.1 average · 56 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
26 of 56tied with 4 others
B80

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 94 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.1 average for 56 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Relative Performance rose 3 points

81 to 84 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 84 is 8.3 points above the 75.7 average among 55 charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
48%vs 37.5% avg · +10.5 pts
Masters
21%vs 14.1% avg · +6.9 pts

Among 56 charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
44%vs 33% avg · +11 pts
Masters
16%vs 11.7% avg · +4.3 pts

Among 56 charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this charter school system.

Read the full rating context and placement

Step Charter School is rated B by TEA, scoring 80 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.1 average for 56 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context. It is down 13 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 26th of 56 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context (tied with 4 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this charter school system serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Students entering this charter system
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. 3 schools in this charter school system
  11. Spending per student
  12. Teachers
  13. Where this charter school system ranks best
  14. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this charter school system has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averageStep Charter School 9369788380 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 94 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26B8077.1 56 reporting79.7 165 reporting
2024-25B8374.9 56 reporting79.2 160 reporting
2023-24C7874.7 55 reporting78.2 159 reporting
2022-23D6973.3 55 reporting77.4 158 reporting
2021-22A9382.1 51 reporting82.4 150 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement76 C+4.4 vs similar economic context · 56 reporting
  • School Progress84 B+5.9 vs similar economic context · 56 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps72 C−2.1 vs similar economic context · 55 reporting
  • Academic Growth70 C−2.4 vs similar economic context · 55 reporting
  • Relative Performance84 B+8.3 vs similar economic context · 55 reporting
  • Step Charter School
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (56 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement76C4
School Progress84B6
Closing the Gaps72C8
Academic Growth70C10
Relative Performance84B6

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 6 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this charter school system that better measure is School Progress (84), so Student Achievement (76) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 84.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level74%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 55 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 55 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 55 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 48 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 48 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 48 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (56 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter school systems for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this charter school system serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
723
Economically disadvantaged
93.9%+2.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
63.3%+26.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
6.2%−7.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.4%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
15.4%−8.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Step Charter School

African American: 17.4%Hispanic: 68.7%White: 2.6%American Indian: 1%Asian: 9.1%Two or More Races: 1.1%
  • African American 17.4%
  • Hispanic 68.7%
  • White 2.6%
  • American Indian 1%
  • Asian 9.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.1%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 reporting for every category shown · 56 in full cohort

African American: 29.1%Hispanic: 64.5%White: 3.5%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 1.4%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • African American 29.1%
  • Hispanic 64.5%
  • White 3.5%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
723
Economically disadvantaged students
679
Emergent bilingual students
458
Special education students
45

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 723 students in 2025–26, an increase of 30 (4.3%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
723

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+30

Increase · +4.3%

Change since 2021–22
+165

Increase · +29.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This charter school system
723
Selected comparison
1,744.5

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 rated charter school systems reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Step Charter School
School yearStudents enrolledStep Charter SchoolChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 558 First available year 1,639.8
2022–23 569 Increase of 11 (2.0%) 1,678.6
2023–24 598 Increase of 29 (5.1%) 1,761.1
2024–25 693 Increase of 95 (15.9%) 1,757.4
2025–26 723 Increase of 30 (4.3%) 1,744.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter school systems in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this charter school system's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students entering this charter system

How many students live in a geographic school district and attend this charter system. These are movement counts, not a quality rating.

Transfers in
723

Live in a geographic district; attend this charter system · 2025–26

Transfers in · 2025–26

This charter school system
723
Selected comparison
1,744.5

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 rated charter school systems reporting

Official transfers into Step Charter School by school year
School yearTransfers inStep Charter SchoolTransfers inselected charter comparison average
2021–22 558 1,639.8
2022–23 569 1,678.6
2023–24 598 1,761.1
2024–25 693 1,757.4
2025–26 723 1,744.5

Largest reported resident-district origins

  1. Houston ISD 101912391
  2. Alief ISD 101903287
  3. Fort Bend ISD 07990733

Top reported flows only. TEA published 3 of 7 counterpart counts and masked 4.

TEA does not publish a transfers-out total or a resident population for this charter system. A charter system is not a geographic attendance boundary, so a net transfer balance cannot be calculated and this page does not label the system a transfer gainer or loser.

Selected comparison figures are average reported transfer-in counts among charter systems, not rates; system size affects them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This charter system’s official total does not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The total and origin rows are TEA’s published charter-system figures; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer-in count does not say why a family chose the charter or whether one school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
767

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Step Charter School
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 579 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 628 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 481 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 625 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 767 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Step Charter School in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter school systems can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this charter school system's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

3 schools in this charter school system

Number of schools in the charter school system

This charter school system
3
Selected comparison
3.7

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average charter school system size. This charter school system's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
3
Browse all 3 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this charter school system
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Step Charter ElemElementaryB86296
Step Charter IiiElementaryB8487
Step Charter IIElementaryC75340

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$9k$16k$23k20182020202220242025
  • Step Charter School
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This charter school system
$15,211
Selected comparison
$16,128

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 rated charter school systems reporting

−$917 vs similar economic context

This charter school system spends $6,264 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $3,761 less per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearStep Charter SchoolTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$10,930$14,290$13,054$10,324 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 48 rated charter school systems reporting
2019$11,456$14,225$13,108$10,372 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 51 rated charter school systems reporting
2020$12,686$15,250$14,058$11,154 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 rated charter school systems reporting
2021$14,112$17,863$14,797$12,257 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 52 rated charter school systems reporting
2022$13,347$16,982$15,708$15,671 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 55 rated charter school systems reporting
2023$15,604$18,148$16,792$15,430 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 55 rated charter school systems reporting
2024$16,224$19,654$18,125$15,696 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 55 rated charter school systems reporting
2025$15,211$21,475$18,972$16,128 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$71,538+$6,902 vs similar economic context
Teachers
48−52.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.2−0.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Step Charter School

Beginning: 28.6%1 to 5 years: 31.5%6 to 10 years: 10.5%11 to 20 years: 27.3%21 to 30 years: 2.1%
  • Beginning 28.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 31.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 10.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 2.1%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 56 reporting for every category shown · 56 in full cohort

Beginning: 10.6%1 to 5 years: 39.1%6 to 10 years: 20.9%11 to 20 years: 19.1%21 to 30 years: 7.7%Over 30 years: 2.6%
  • Beginning 10.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 39.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 19.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 7.7%
  • Over 30 years 2.6%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 15.7% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This charter school system
15.7%
Selected comparison
32.9%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 55 rated charter school systems reporting

−17.2 pts vs similar economic context
Charter-system teacher turnover rate by school year for Step Charter School
School yearTeacher turnover rateStep Charter SchoolAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2110.6%25.7%
2021–2219.5%31.9%
2022–2347.5%36.3%
2023–2429.0%34.9%
2024–2515.7%32.9%

TEA defines this charter school system rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the charter school system in the current fall. That can include leaving the charter school system or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this charter school system's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this charter school system ranks best

Out of 72 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

9 measures

  • 6of 55

    Science — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 7of 39

    Relative Performance

    Similar size · of the 39 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 8of 56

    Reading — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 56 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 56

    Reading — Approaches

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 56 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 55

    Science — Meets

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 55 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 39

    School Progress

    Similar size · of the 39 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 39

    All Subjects — Masters

    Similar size · of the 39 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 39

    Reading — Meets

    Similar size · of the 39 that report this measure

  • 10of 39

    All Subjects — Meets

    Similar size · of the 39 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this charter school system ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this charter school system; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no charter school system would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this charter school system as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset