Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

Mercedes ISD

Hidalgo County · Region 01: Edinburg · 3,941 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
73/1002025-26
Change
−1 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−4.1 ptsvs 77.1 average · 161 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
111 of 161tied with 7 others
C73

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 85 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.1 average for 161 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Four-Year Graduation Rate above the similar-context average

95.4% +1.6 pts vs 93.8%

  • 95.4% is 1.6 percentage points above the 93.8% average among 155 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure (standard accountability only).
See the full measure

Current strength

Five-Year Graduation Rate above the similar-context average

96.6% +1.6 pts vs 95%

  • 96.6% is 1.6 percentage points above the 95% average among 155 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure (standard accountability only).
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

Mercedes ISD is rated C by TEA, scoring 73 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.1 average for 161 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.

Ranks 111th of 161 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 7 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this district serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Students crossing district lines
  11. Discipline and removal from class
  12. Community around the district
  13. 9 schools in this district
  14. Spending per student
  15. Teachers
  16. Where this district ranks best
  17. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this district. They are shown separately from the district rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
2

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
0

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This district
22.2%
Selected comparison
31.7%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

−9.5 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This district
0.0%
Selected comparison
9.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

−9.5 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in Mercedes ISD
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
Sgt Manuel Chacon MSCSIComprehensive Support and Improvement · CSI Low Performance
Travis ElemTSITargeted Support and Improvement · English Learners

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting districts in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMercedes ISD 7473647473 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 85 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7377.1 161 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25C7474.7 161 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24D6473.0 160 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23C7373.3 160 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22C7476.8 160 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C−1.6 vs similar economic context · 161 reporting
  • School Progress76 C−2.2 vs similar economic context · 161 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps67 D−7.2 vs similar economic context · 161 reporting
  • Academic Growth71 C+1.9 vs similar economic context · 161 reporting
  • Relative Performance76 C−1.8 vs similar economic context · 161 reporting
  • Mercedes ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (161 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress76C4
Closing the Gaps67D3
Academic Growth71C9
Relative Performance76C4

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 3 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this district that better measure is School Progress (76), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 76.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level64%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 reporting
  • Meets grade level33%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level59%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 reporting
  • Meets grade level27%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 160 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 160 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 160 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level68%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 158 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 158 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 158 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (161 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
95.4%+1.6 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
96.6%+1.6 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
95.5%+0.8 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 156 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
1.0%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 156 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
91.0%+6.2 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria91.0%84.8%+6.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 154 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course17.8%48.8%−31.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA17.8%19.9%−2.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)1.2%6.4%−5.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course45.1%31.3%+13.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification52.5%41.8%+10.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate1.2%3.4%−2.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree13.8%5.4%+8.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit1.2%3.1%−1.9 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.9%3.3%−2.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student6.7%9.9%−3.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces3.7%3.1%+0.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 155 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
331

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
166

50.2% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
158

47.7% of graduates

Not trackable
7

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
331
Selected comparison
613.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 127 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
166
Selected comparison
260

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 127 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
50.2%
Selected comparison
42.3%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 127 rated districts reporting

+7.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
47.7%
Selected comparison
53.4%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 127 rated districts reporting

−5.7 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
2.1%
Selected comparison
4.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 127 rated districts reporting

−2.1 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. SOUTH TEXAS COLLEGE (031034)60
  2. U. OF TEXAS-RIO GRANDE VALLEY (003599)60
  3. TEXAS A&M UNIV-KINGSVILLE (003639)9

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
3,941
Economically disadvantaged
88.0%+2.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
27.9%+5.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.6%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
91.6%−1.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
28.2%+5.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Mercedes ISD

African American: 0.1%Hispanic: 98.2%White: 1.5%Asian: 0.1%Two or More Races: 0.1%
  • African American 0.1%
  • Hispanic 98.2%
  • White 1.5%
  • Asian 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 0.1%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 reporting for every category shown · 161 in full cohort

African American: 12.3%Hispanic: 69.4%White: 15.3%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.6%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2.2%
  • African American 12.3%
  • Hispanic 69.4%
  • White 15.3%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
3,940
Economically disadvantaged students
3,468
Emergent bilingual students
1,098
Special education students
734

Early college pathways

Early College High School
328

TEA-published share: 8.3%

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
156

TEA-published share: 4%

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 3,941 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 266 (6.3%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
3,941

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−266

Decrease · −6.3%

Change since 2021–22
−477

Decrease · −10.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
3,941
Selected comparison
6,670.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Mercedes ISD
School yearStudents enrolledMercedes ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 4,418 First available year 7,088.3
2022–23 4,457 Increase of 39 (0.9%) 7,105.6
2023–24 4,393 Decrease of 64 (1.4%) 7,007
2024–25 4,207 Decrease of 186 (4.2%) 6,922.2
2025–26 3,941 Decrease of 266 (6.3%) 6,670.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
245

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
1,077

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
−832

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
245
Selected comparison
346

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 136 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
1,077
Selected comparison
1,537.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 159 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
−832
Selected comparison
−1,423

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for Mercedes ISD
School yearTransfers inMercedes ISDTransfers outMercedes ISDIn minus outMercedes ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 90 940 −850 259.3 1,376.2 −1,309
2022–23 134 1,018 −884 298 1,440.4 −1,356
2023–24 164 1,008 −844 305.3 1,489.7 −1,352
2024–25 252 1,008 −756 329.6 1,536.7 −1,400
2025–26 245 1,077 −832 346 1,537.3 −1,423

Largest reported origins for transfers in

  1. Weslaco ISD 108913138
  2. La Feria ISD 03190529
  3. Progreso ISD 10891025
  4. Donna ISD 10890217
  5. Edcouch-Elsa ISD 10890315

Top reported flows only. TEA published 5 of 12 counterpart counts and masked 7.

Largest reported destinations for transfers out

  1. IDEA Public Schools 108807434
  2. Weslaco ISD 108913157
  3. South Texas ISD 031916132
  4. Triumph Public High Schools-Rio Grande Valley 10880476
  5. La Feria ISD 03190569

Top reported flows only. TEA published 12 of 31 counterpart counts and masked 19.

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
512

11.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
1,345

29.90 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
4,498

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
11.4%
Selected comparison
12.8%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 149 rated districts reporting

−1.4 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
29.9
Selected comparison
31.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 151 rated districts reporting

−1.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Mercedes ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 4,935 39 0.8% 57 1.16 7.3% 14
2021–22 4,799 453 9.4% 1,091 22.73 13.2% 31.2
2022–23 4,783 531 11.1% 1,340 28.02 14.0% 35.3
2023–24 4,708 559 11.9% 1,394 29.61 13.5% 33.4
2024–25 4,498 512 11.4% 1,345 29.90 12.8% 31.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Mercedes ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 512 11.4% 1,345 29.90 12.8% 31.3
In-school suspensions 343 7.6% 717 15.94 10.2% 20.3
Out-of-school suspensions 266 5.9% 470 10.45 5.5% 9.1
DAEP placements 131 2.9% 157 3.49 3.3% 4.1
Mandatory DAEP placements 62 1.4% 70 1.56 1.9% 2.2
Discretionary DAEP placements 76 1.7% 87 1.93 1.8% 2.1
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
21,764

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
5,098

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
1,794

35.2%

School-age child poverty rate
35.2%

1,794 of 5,098

Boundary population

This district
21,764
Selected comparison
43,394.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
5,098
Selected comparison
8,199.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
1,794
Selected comparison
2,139.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
35.2%
Selected comparison
25.6%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

+9.6 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

9 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
9
Selected comparison
11.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
4
High School
3
Middle / Jr. High
2
Browse all 9 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Mercedes Early College AcademyHigh SchoolA92328
Mercedes Academic AcademyHigh SchoolA91131
Sgt William G Harrell ElemElementaryB82424
Mercedes HSHigh SchoolB81853
Ruben Hinojosa ElemElementaryB80589
Mercedes Early Literacy ProgramElementaryC73137
Travis ElemElementaryD66617
Sgt Manuel Chacon MSMiddle / Jr. HighF55860
JJAEP-Southwest Key ProgramMiddle / Jr. HighNot Rated—2

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$11k$18k$25k20182020202220242025
  • Mercedes ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$16,791
Selected comparison
$24,101

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

−$7,310 vs similar economic context

This district spends $2,699 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $2,181 less per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMercedes ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$13,040$13,287$13,054$14,566 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting
2019$14,078$13,321$13,108$14,645 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting
2020$13,222$13,696$14,058$15,702 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting
2021$14,655$14,225$14,797$17,115 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting
2022$16,596$15,710$15,708$20,112 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting
2023$16,992$16,917$16,792$22,793 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting
2024$17,106$18,225$18,125$22,526 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting
2025$16,791$19,490$18,972$24,101 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$64,497−$62 vs similar economic context
Teachers
271−196.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.5+1.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Mercedes ISD

Beginning: 2.5%1 to 5 years: 21.7%6 to 10 years: 14.6%11 to 20 years: 36.2%21 to 30 years: 19.2%Over 30 years: 5.9%
  • Beginning 2.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 21.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 14.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 36.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 19.2%
  • Over 30 years 5.9%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 reporting for every category shown · 161 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.4%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 17.4%11 to 20 years: 26.3%21 to 30 years: 16.1%Over 30 years: 5.7%
  • Beginning 7.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.1%
  • Over 30 years 5.7%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 17.0% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
17.0%
Selected comparison
23.1%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 161 rated districts reporting

−6.1 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Mercedes ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateMercedes ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2112.9%18.3%
2021–2213.4%21.9%
2022–239.9%26.0%
2023–2413.9%23.8%
2024–2517.0%23.1%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

2 measures

  • 2of 15

    Earned college credit for a dual credit course

    Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 3of 15

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

11 measures

  • 5of 15

    Earned an associate degree

    Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 5of 15

    Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit

    Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 7of 15

    College, career or military ready

    Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 15

    Academic Growth

    Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 9of 15

    Four-Year Graduation Rate

    Hidalgo County (standard accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 9of 15

    Six-Year Graduation Rate

    Hidalgo County (standard accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 9of 15

    Dropout Rate (lowest is best)

    Hidalgo County (standard accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 9of 15

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 10of 15

    Five-Year Graduation Rate

    Hidalgo County (standard accountability only) · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 10of 15

    Earned a level I or level II certificate

    Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 10of 15

    Per-student spending

    Hidalgo County · of the 15 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset