Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

Melissa ISD

Collin County · Region 10: Richardson · 8,583 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
91/1002025-26
Change
+3 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+1.7 ptsvs 89.3 average · 66 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
23 of 66tied with 7 others
A91

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 95 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 89.3 average for 66 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Earned a level I or level II certificate above the similar-context average

3.3% +3.1 pts vs 0.2%

  • 3.3% is 3.1 percentage points above the 0.2% average among 61 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
  • 1st of 61 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
69%vs 67.9% avg · +1.1 pts
Masters
38%vs 33.8% avg · +4.2 pts

Among 66 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
74%vs 72.5% avg · +1.5 pts
Masters
41%vs 35.6% avg · +5.4 pts

Among 66 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

Melissa ISD is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 89.3 average for 66 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is up 3 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 23rd of 66 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 7 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this district serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Students crossing district lines
  10. Discipline and removal from class
  11. Community around the district
  12. 9 schools in this district
  13. Spending per student
  14. Teachers
  15. Where this district ranks best
  16. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMelissa ISD 8890909291 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 95 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9189.3 66 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25A9289.6 66 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24A9088.2 65 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23A9088.6 66 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22B8888.9 66 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement92 A+1.6 vs similar economic context · 66 reporting
  • School Progress80 B−1.8 vs similar economic context · 66 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps89 B+1.9 vs similar economic context · 65 reporting
  • Academic Growth80 B+0.5 vs similar economic context · 65 reporting
  • Relative Performance80 B+1.1 vs similar economic context · 66 reporting
  • Melissa ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (66 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement92A—
School Progress80B10
Closing the Gaps89B1
Academic Growth80B10
Relative Performance80B10

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 1 point below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this district that better measure is Student Achievement (92), so School Progress (80) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 92.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level86%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
  • Meets grade level69%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
  • Masters grade level38%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level88%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
  • Meets grade level74%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
  • Masters grade level41%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
  • Meets grade level62%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
  • Meets grade level74%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
  • Masters grade level47%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
  • Meets grade level62%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
  • Masters grade level33%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (66 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
98.6%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 60 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
99.5%+1.0 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
98.9%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
99.0%+10.3 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria99.0%88.7%+10.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 60 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course91.7%62.8%+28.9 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA46.6%48.7%−2.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)1.7%19.5%−17.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course44.7%46.2%−1.5 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification34.8%35.1%−0.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate3.3%0.2%+3.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%1.6%−1.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%7.3%−7.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness2.8%2.2%+0.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student8.0%6.3%+1.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces3.8%2.3%+1.5 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 61 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
377

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
155

41.1% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
208

55.2% of graduates

Not trackable
14

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
377
Selected comparison
598

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 48 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
155
Selected comparison
280

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 48 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
41.1%
Selected comparison
52.8%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 48 rated districts reporting

−11.7 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
55.2%
Selected comparison
41.8%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 48 rated districts reporting

+13.4 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
3.7%
Selected comparison
5.4%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 48 rated districts reporting

−1.7 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. COLLIN CO COMM COLL DISTRICT (023614)86
  2. TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY (003644)11
  3. U. OF TEXAS AT DALLAS (009741)8

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
8,583
Economically disadvantaged
18.2%−2.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
13.2%+7.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
17.5%+2.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.5%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
9.3%+0.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Melissa ISD

African American: 19.1%Hispanic: 17%White: 38.1%American Indian: 0.5%Asian: 17.8%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 7.3%
  • African American 19.1%
  • Hispanic 17%
  • White 38.1%
  • American Indian 0.5%
  • Asian 17.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 7.3%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting for every category shown · 66 in full cohort

African American: 3.3%Hispanic: 22.5%White: 64.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 5.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 3.8%
  • African American 3.3%
  • Hispanic 22.5%
  • White 64.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 5.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 3.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
8,560
Economically disadvantaged students
1,555
Emergent bilingual students
1,130
Special education students
1,494

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 8,583 students in 2025–26, an increase of 848 (11.0%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
8,583

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+848

Increase · +11.0%

Change since 2021–22
+3,709

Increase · +76.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
8,583
Selected comparison
5,929.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Melissa ISD
School yearStudents enrolledMelissa ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 4,874 First available year 5,752.2
2022–23 5,654 Increase of 780 (16.0%) 5,901.8
2023–24 6,735 Increase of 1,081 (19.1%) 5,976.3
2024–25 7,735 Increase of 1,000 (14.8%) 6,047.2
2025–26 8,583 Increase of 848 (11.0%) 5,929.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
234

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
374

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
−140

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
234
Selected comparison
259.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
374
Selected comparison
503.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 55 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
−140
Selected comparison
−235

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 55 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for Melissa ISD
School yearTransfers inMelissa ISDTransfers outMelissa ISDIn minus outMelissa ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 249 232 +17 220.1 366.2 −137
2022–23 194 250 −56 218.2 387.1 −164
2023–24 208 274 −66 217.4 429.6 −199
2024–25 220 327 −107 236.6 456.6 −210
2025–26 234 374 −140 259.1 503.3 −235

Largest reported origins for transfers in

  1. Anna ISD 04390276
  2. McKinney ISD 04390742
  3. Princeton ISD 04391116
  4. Trenton ISD 07491216
  5. Van Alstyne ISD 09190816

Top reported flows only. TEA published 6 of 26 counterpart counts and masked 20.

Largest reported destinations for transfers out

  1. Imagine International Academy of North Texas 04380185
  2. McKinney ISD 04390752
  3. Blue Ridge ISD 04391725
  4. Frisco ISD 04390522
  5. Texas College Preparatory Academies 22180120

Top reported flows only. TEA published 11 of 39 counterpart counts and masked 28.

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
549

6.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
1,168

14.17 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
8,245

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
6.7%
Selected comparison
5.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 51 rated districts reporting

+1.2 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
14.17
Selected comparison
10.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 54 rated districts reporting

+3.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Melissa ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 4,434 136 3.1% 222 5.01 4.1% 7
2021–22 5,266 280 5.3% 561 10.65 5.5% 10.3
2022–23 6,063 375 6.2% 750 12.37 5.8% 10.7
2023–24 7,227 490 6.8% 1,093 15.12 5.7% 10.8
2024–25 8,245 549 6.7% 1,168 14.17 5.5% 10.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Melissa ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 549 6.7% 1,168 14.17 5.5% 10.3
In-school suspensions 482 5.8% 822 9.97 4.9% 7.6
Out-of-school suspensions 170 2.1% 261 3.17 1.5% 2.1
DAEP placements 72 0.9% 79 0.96 1.0% 1.2
Mandatory DAEP placements 48 0.6% 50 0.61 0.7% 0.8
Discretionary DAEP placements 27 0.3% 29 0.35 0.4% 0.5
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
20,791

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
4,739

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
174

3.7%

School-age child poverty rate
3.7%

174 of 4,739

Boundary population

This district
20,791
Selected comparison
32,468.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
4,739
Selected comparison
6,233.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
174
Selected comparison
309.4

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
3.7%
Selected comparison
7.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated districts reporting

−3.5 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

9 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
9
Selected comparison
8.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
6
Middle / Jr. High
2
High School
1
Browse all 9 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Melissa HSHigh SchoolA952,202
Harry McKillop ElemElementaryA93815
Willow Wood ElemElementaryA92842
East Cardinal MSMiddle / Jr. HighA901,304
North Creek ElemElementaryB89790
Sumeer ElemElementaryB881,066
Sixth Grade CenterMiddle / Jr. HighB87652
Highland ElemElementaryB87884
Melissa Ridge Education CenterElementaryNot Rated—28

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$11k$23k$35k20182020202220242025
  • Melissa ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$31,878
Selected comparison
$32,899

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 rated districts reporting

−$1,021 vs similar economic context

This district spends $12,908 more per student than TEA's peer group, and $12,906 more per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMelissa ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$28,580$12,629$13,054$19,056 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated districts reporting
2019$14,730$12,702$13,108$18,317 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated districts reporting
2020$21,134$13,696$14,058$21,387 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated districts reporting
2021$25,419$14,225$14,797$25,145 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated districts reporting
2022$20,362$15,710$15,708$24,498 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 rated districts reporting
2023$30,029$17,110$16,792$29,130 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 rated districts reporting
2024$30,015$18,355$18,125$31,310 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 rated districts reporting
2025$31,878$18,970$18,972$32,899 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$67,214−$327 vs similar economic context
Teachers
549+152.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.6+1.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Melissa ISD

Beginning: 6.9%1 to 5 years: 31.3%6 to 10 years: 23.1%11 to 20 years: 26.6%21 to 30 years: 10.8%Over 30 years: 1.4%
  • Beginning 6.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 31.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 23.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 10.8%
  • Over 30 years 1.4%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting for every category shown · 66 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.1%1 to 5 years: 19.2%6 to 10 years: 19.2%11 to 20 years: 31.9%21 to 30 years: 20.2%Over 30 years: 4.4%
  • Beginning 5.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 19.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 20.2%
  • Over 30 years 4.4%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 21.9% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
21.9%
Selected comparison
18.7%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 rated districts reporting

+3.2 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Melissa ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateMelissa ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2113.2%12.6%
2021–2219.0%15.5%
2022–2321.0%19.5%
2023–2419.6%19.8%
2024–2521.9%18.7%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

3 measures

  • 1of 104

    College, career or military ready

    Similar size · of the 104 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 1of 104

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course

    Similar size · of the 104 that report this measure

  • 1of 61

    Earned a level I or level II certificate

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 61 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

6 measures

  • 2of 14

    Five-Year Graduation Rate

    Collin County (standard accountability only) · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 2of 14

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 3of 14

    Overall score

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 2 · full ranking

  • 3of 14

    Earned college credit for a dual credit course

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 3of 14

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 14

    Per-student spending

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

27 measures

  • 4of 14

    Science — Approaches

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 4of 14

    Attendance

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 5of 14

    Closing the Gaps

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 14

    Academic Growth

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 14

    Science — Meets

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 5of 14

    Science — Masters

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    All Subjects — Meets

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    All Subjects — Masters

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Reading — Approaches

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Reading — Meets

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Reading — Masters

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Math — Approaches

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Math — Meets

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Math — Masters

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 6of 14

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 7of 14

    Social Studies — Meets

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 14

    Six-Year Graduation Rate

    Collin County (standard accountability only) · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 8of 14

    Social Studies — Masters

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 8of 14

    Four-Year Graduation Rate

    Collin County (standard accountability only) · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 14

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 9of 104

    Student Achievement

    Similar size · of the 104 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 14

    Relative Performance

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 10of 14

    School Progress

    Collin County · of the 14 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset