Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

Howe ISD

Grayson County · Region 10: Richardson · 1,194 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
77/1002025-26
Change
−6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−5.2 ptsvs 82.2 average · 373 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
289 of 373tied with 18 others
C77

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 91 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 82.2 average for 373 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
66%vs 54.3% avg · +11.7 pts
Masters
34%vs 24.5% avg · +9.5 pts

Among 371 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Social Studies above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
54%vs 50.3% avg · +3.7 pts
Masters
27%vs 22.7% avg · +4.3 pts

Among 366 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Four-Year Graduation Rate above the similar-context average

98.8% +2.9 pts vs 95.9%

  • 98.8% is 2.9 percentage points above the 95.9% average among 364 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure (standard accountability only).
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

Howe ISD is rated C by TEA, scoring 77 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 82.2 average for 373 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 289th of 373 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 18 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this district serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Students crossing district lines
  10. Discipline and removal from class
  11. Community around the district
  12. 3 schools in this district
  13. Spending per student
  14. Teachers
  15. Where this district ranks best
  16. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHowe ISD 8384828077 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 91 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7782.2 373 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25B8081.3 373 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24B8279.3 373 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23B8480.0 373 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22B8380.8 372 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement78 C−4.6 vs similar economic context · 373 reporting
  • School Progress75 C−6.5 vs similar economic context · 373 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps74 C−5.9 vs similar economic context · 372 reporting
  • Academic Growth66 D−6.8 vs similar economic context · 373 reporting
  • Relative Performance75 C−5.8 vs similar economic context · 373 reporting
  • Howe ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (373 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement78C2
School Progress75C5
Closing the Gaps74C6
Academic Growth66D4
Relative Performance75C5

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 2 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this district that better measure is Student Achievement (78), so School Progress (75) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 78.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level76%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 reporting
  • Meets grade level56%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 reporting
  • Masters grade level20%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
  • Meets grade level66%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
  • Masters grade level34%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level75%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 366 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 366 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 366 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (373 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
98.8%+2.9 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 364 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
100.0%+3.8 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 361 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
98.8%+2.6 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 361 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
74.0%−14.8 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria74.0%88.8%−14.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 361 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course28.7%56.8%−28.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA21.8%27.8%−6.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)17.2%6.8%+10.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course25.3%35.7%−10.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification34.5%41.5%−7.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate2.3%1.5%+0.8 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%2.3%−2.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%3.3%−3.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness1.1%3.1%−2.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student8.0%8.1%−0.1 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces2.3%3.7%−1.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
75

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
31

41.3% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
40

53.3% of graduates

Not trackable
4

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
75
Selected comparison
427.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 279 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
31
Selected comparison
184.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 279 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
41.3%
Selected comparison
46.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 279 rated districts reporting

−5.2 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
53.3%
Selected comparison
50.3%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 279 rated districts reporting

+3.0 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
5.3%
Selected comparison
3.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 279 rated districts reporting

+2.1 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. GRAYSON COLLEGE (003570)17

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,194
Economically disadvantaged
52.7%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
13.1%+3.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
23.3%+4.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.8%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
13.8%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Howe ISD

African American: 2.1%Hispanic: 35.8%White: 55.5%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 6%
  • African American 2.1%
  • Hispanic 35.8%
  • White 55.5%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 6%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 reporting for every category shown · 373 in full cohort

African American: 4.9%Hispanic: 35.6%White: 54.2%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 1.1%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 4.9%
  • Hispanic 35.6%
  • White 54.2%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 1.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,191
Economically disadvantaged students
628
Emergent bilingual students
156
Special education students
278

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,194 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 71 (5.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,194

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−71

Decrease · −5.6%

Change since 2021–22
−55

Decrease · −4.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
1,194
Selected comparison
4,500

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Howe ISD
School yearStudents enrolledHowe ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,249 First available year 4,389.7
2022–23 1,283 Increase of 34 (2.7%) 4,477.2
2023–24 1,282 Decrease of 1 (0.1%) 4,505.9
2024–25 1,265 Decrease of 17 (1.3%) 4,536.7
2025–26 1,194 Decrease of 71 (5.6%) 4,500

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
176

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
125

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
+51

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
176
Selected comparison
239.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 354 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
125
Selected comparison
523.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 350 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
+51
Selected comparison
−298

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 336 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for Howe ISD
School yearTransfers inHowe ISDTransfers outHowe ISDIn minus outHowe ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 183 94 +89 196.9 411.4 −222
2022–23 190 86 +104 200.8 445.8 −255
2023–24 182 81 +101 207.3 462 −266
2024–25 185 89 +96 223.9 510.1 −296
2025–26 176 125 +51 239.8 523.5 −298

Largest reported origins for transfers in

  1. Sherman ISD 09190675
  2. Tom Bean ISD 09191834
  3. Van Alstyne ISD 09190827
  4. Denison ISD 09190312

Top reported flows only. TEA published 4 of 14 counterpart counts and masked 10.

Largest reported destinations for transfers out

  1. Van Alstyne ISD 09190822
  2. Tom Bean ISD 09191819
  3. Gunter ISD 09191716
  4. Hallsville ISD 10290410

Top reported flows only. TEA published 4 of 26 counterpart counts and masked 22.

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
152

11.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
292

21.50 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,358

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
11.2%
Selected comparison
10.3%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 329 rated districts reporting

+0.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
21.5
Selected comparison
22.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 337 rated districts reporting

−0.7 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Howe ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,356 119 8.8% 250 18.44 8.1% 15.8
2021–22 1,314 166 12.6% 328 24.96 10.3% 22.1
2022–23 1,381 141 10.2% 279 20.20 10.9% 23.6
2023–24 1,372 140 10.2% 269 19.61 10.6% 23.4
2024–25 1,358 152 11.2% 292 21.50 10.3% 22.2
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Howe ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 152 11.2% 292 21.50 10.3% 22.2
In-school suspensions 140 10.3% 260 19.15 9.0% 16.8
Out-of-school suspensions 11 0.8% 14 1.03 3.2% 4.6
DAEP placements 16 1.2% 18 1.33 2.4% 2.9
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements 16 1.2% 18 1.33 1.3% 1.4
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
6,761

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
1,468

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
183

12.5%

School-age child poverty rate
12.5%

183 of 1,468

Boundary population

This district
6,761
Selected comparison
27,560.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
1,468
Selected comparison
4,931.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
183
Selected comparison
638.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
12.5%
Selected comparison
15.8%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting

−3.3 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

3 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
3
Selected comparison
6.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
1
High School
1
Middle / Jr. High
1
Browse all 3 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Howe HSHigh SchoolB86346
Howe MSMiddle / Jr. HighC75281
Summit Hill ElemElementaryD68298

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$9k$18k$26k20182020202220242025
  • Howe ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$15,526
Selected comparison
$23,458

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting

−$7,932 vs similar economic context

This district spends $4,235 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $3,446 less per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHowe ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$10,486$13,246$13,054$14,068 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
2019$22,355$12,865$13,108$14,343 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
2020$14,541$13,729$14,058$15,496 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
2021$14,489$14,629$14,797$16,409 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
2022$13,975$15,859$15,708$17,993 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
2023$13,892$17,414$16,792$19,715 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
2024$14,859$19,844$18,125$22,189 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting
2025$15,526$19,761$18,972$23,458 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$69,098+$4,231 vs similar economic context
Teachers
96−212.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.4+0.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Howe ISD

Beginning: 4.1%1 to 5 years: 19.7%6 to 10 years: 22.5%11 to 20 years: 21.6%21 to 30 years: 26%Over 30 years: 6.2%
  • Beginning 4.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 19.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 22.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 21.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 26%
  • Over 30 years 6.2%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 reporting for every category shown · 373 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.1%1 to 5 years: 23%6 to 10 years: 17.5%11 to 20 years: 29.2%21 to 30 years: 18.2%Over 30 years: 6%
  • Beginning 6.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 23%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 18.2%
  • Over 30 years 6%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 16.8% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
16.8%
Selected comparison
20.1%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 373 rated districts reporting

−3.3 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Howe ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateHowe ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2114.7%15.8%
2021–2215.1%19.2%
2022–2318.0%22.5%
2023–2412.9%20.9%
2024–2516.8%20.1%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 13

    Earned a level I or level II certificate

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

2 measures

  • 3of 13

    Science — Approaches

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 13

    Science — Masters

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

23 measures

  • 5of 13

    Science — Meets

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 5of 13

    Social Studies — Masters

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 13

    Four-Year Graduation Rate

    Grayson County (standard accountability only) · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 5of 13

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 6of 13

    Social Studies — Meets

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 6of 13

    Six-Year Graduation Rate

    Grayson County (standard accountability only) · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 6of 13

    Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 7of 13

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 7of 13

    Attendance

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 13

    All Subjects — Masters

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 8of 13

    Reading — Masters

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 8of 13

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 13

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 13

    Relative Performance

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 9of 13

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 13

    All Subjects — Meets

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 9of 13

    Reading — Approaches

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 9of 13

    Reading — Meets

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 13

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 9of 13

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 10of 13

    School Progress

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 10of 13

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 10of 13

    Earned college credit for a dual credit course

    Grayson County · of the 13 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset