Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Charter school system

Education Center International Academy

Administrative office: Sunnyvale · 144 students

Official charter system websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
67/1002025-26
Change
−2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−12.6 ptsvs 79.6 average · 21 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
20 of 21among reporting charter school systems
D67

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 70 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 79.6 average for 21 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

12.8% −6.1 pts vs 18.9%

  • 12.8% is 6.1 percentage points lower than the 18.9% average among 20 charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this charter school system.

Read the full rating context and placement

Education Center International Academy is rated D by TEA, scoring 67 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79.6 average for 21 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context. It is down 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 20th of 21 rated charter school systems serving a similar economic context.

1 consecutive year rated unacceptable.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this charter school system serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Students entering this charter system
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. 1 schools in this charter school system
  11. Spending per student
  12. Teachers
  13. Where this charter school system ranks best
  14. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this charter school system has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averageEducation Center International Academy 6984666767 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 70 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26D6779.6 21 reporting79.7 165 reporting
2024-25D6780.8 20 reporting79.2 160 reporting
2023-24D6678.8 20 reporting78.2 159 reporting
2022-23B8479.1 20 reporting77.4 158 reporting
2021-22D6980.8 20 reporting82.4 150 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement60 D−18.9 vs similar economic context · 21 reporting
  • School Progress66 D−9.4 vs similar economic context · 21 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps70 C−7.2 vs similar economic context · 20 reporting
  • Academic Growth66 D−5.9 vs similar economic context · 20 reporting
  • Relative Performance55 F−17.5 vs similar economic context · 21 reporting
  • Education Center International Academy
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (21 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement60D10
School Progress66D4
Closing the Gaps70C10
Academic Growth66D4
Relative Performance55F5

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 4 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this charter school system that better measure is School Progress (66), so Student Achievement (60) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 66.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level62%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 reporting
  • Meets grade level30%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level61%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 reporting
  • Meets grade level27%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level44%−27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 reporting
  • Meets grade level8%−36 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 reporting
  • Masters grade level0%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (21 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter school systems for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this charter school system serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
144
Economically disadvantaged
47.9%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
11.8%−3.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
11.1%−4.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.0%+0.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.8%−6.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Education Center International Academy

African American: 22.9%Hispanic: 43.8%White: 24.3%American Indian: 0.7%Asian: 6.3%Two or More Races: 2.1%
  • African American 22.9%
  • Hispanic 43.8%
  • White 24.3%
  • American Indian 0.7%
  • Asian 6.3%
  • Two or More Races 2.1%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 reporting for every category shown · 21 in full cohort

African American: 17.7%Hispanic: 45.5%White: 28.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 4.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4%
  • African American 17.7%
  • Hispanic 45.5%
  • White 28.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 4.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
144
Economically disadvantaged students
69
Emergent bilingual students
17
Special education students
16

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 144 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 77 (34.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
144

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−77

Decrease · −34.8%

Change since 2021–22
−357

Decrease · −71.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This charter school system
144
Selected comparison
2,038.2

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 rated charter school systems reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Education Center International Academy
School yearStudents enrolledEducation Center International AcademyChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 501 First available year 1,773.9
2022–23 461 Decrease of 40 (8.0%) 1,923.1
2023–24 438 Decrease of 23 (5.0%) 2,033.8
2024–25 221 Decrease of 217 (49.5%) 2,059.1
2025–26 144 Decrease of 77 (34.8%) 2,038.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter school systems in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this charter school system's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students entering this charter system

How many students live in a geographic school district and attend this charter system. These are movement counts, not a quality rating.

Transfers in
144

Live in a geographic district; attend this charter system · 2025–26

Transfers in · 2025–26

This charter school system
144
Selected comparison
2,038.2

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 rated charter school systems reporting

Official transfers into Education Center International Academy by school year
School yearTransfers inEducation Center International AcademyTransfers inselected charter comparison average
2021–22 501 1,773.9
2022–23 461 1,923.1
2023–24 438 2,033.8
2024–25 221 2,059.1
2025–26 144 2,038.2

Largest reported resident-district origins

  1. Mesquite ISD 05791463
  2. Garland ISD 05790952
  3. Dallas ISD 05790512

Top reported flows only. TEA published 3 of 10 counterpart counts and masked 7.

TEA does not publish a transfers-out total or a resident population for this charter system. A charter system is not a geographic attendance boundary, so a net transfer balance cannot be calculated and this page does not label the system a transfer gainer or loser.

Selected comparison figures are average reported transfer-in counts among charter systems, not rates; system size affects them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This charter system’s official total does not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The total and origin rows are TEA’s published charter-system figures; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer-in count does not say why a family chose the charter or whether one school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
246

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Education Center International Academy
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 610 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 565 20 3.5% 29 5.13 7.4% 12.3
2022–23 511 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 478 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 246 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Education Center International Academy in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter school systems can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this charter school system's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

1 schools in this charter school system

Number of schools in the charter school system

This charter school system
1
Selected comparison
5.4

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average charter school system size. This charter school system's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
1
Browse all 1 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this charter school system
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
SunnyvaleElementaryNot Rated—37

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$8k$18k$27k20182020202220242025
  • Education Center International Academy
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This charter school system
$14,761
Selected comparison
$14,528

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 rated charter school systems reporting

+$233 vs similar economic context

This charter school system spends $11,168 less per student than TEA's peer group, and $4,211 less per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearEducation Center International AcademyTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$9,016$13,378$13,054$10,181 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 rated charter school systems reporting
2019$9,915$14,225$13,108$10,440 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 rated charter school systems reporting
2020$9,988$15,250$14,058$11,139 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 rated charter school systems reporting
2021$11,522$15,636$14,797$12,678 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 rated charter school systems reporting
2022$10,723$16,982$15,708$13,598 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 rated charter school systems reporting
2023$12,259$21,827$16,792$13,375 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 rated charter school systems reporting
2024$10,722$23,517$18,125$14,057 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 rated charter school systems reporting
2025$14,761$25,929$18,972$14,528 average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 rated charter school systems reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$60,008−$7,494 vs similar economic context
Teachers
9−117.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16−9.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Education Center International Academy

1 to 5 years: 11.1%6 to 10 years: 33.3%11 to 20 years: 55.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 11.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 33.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 55.6%

Selected comparison average For charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 21 reporting for every category shown · 21 in full cohort

Beginning: 12.6%1 to 5 years: 30.1%6 to 10 years: 21.4%11 to 20 years: 24.7%21 to 30 years: 10.4%Over 30 years: 0.9%
  • Beginning 12.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 30.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 21.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 24.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 10.4%
  • Over 30 years 0.9%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 56.0% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This charter school system
56.0%
Selected comparison
31.0%

average for charter school systems with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 20 rated charter school systems reporting

+25.0 pts vs similar economic context
Charter-system teacher turnover rate by school year for Education Center International Academy
School yearTeacher turnover rateEducation Center International AcademyAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2131.7%28.3%
2021–2251.1%25.8%
2022–2346.6%34.3%
2023–2466.4%31.7%
2024–2556.0%31.0%

TEA defines this charter school system rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the charter school system in the current fall. That can include leaving the charter school system or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this charter school system's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this charter school system ranks best

Out of 63 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

4 measures

  • 5of 20

    Attendance

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 20 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 6of 20

    Per-student spending

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 20 that report this measure

  • 7of 26

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Similar size · of the 26 that report this measure

  • 9of 27

    Reading — Masters

    Similar size · of the 27 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this charter school system ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this charter school system; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no charter school system would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this charter school system as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset