Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Geographic public school district

Crane ISD

Crane County · Region 15: San Angelo · 1,228 students

Official district websiteEnrollment, registration and eligibility

Current score
69/1002025-26
Change
−16 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−11.0 ptsvs 80 average · 377 rated districts serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
349 of 377tied with 10 others
D69

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 85 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 80 average for 377 rated districts serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Six-Year Graduation Rate above the similar-context average

98.7% +2.2 pts vs 96.5%

  • 98.7% is 2.2 percentage points above the 96.5% average among 359 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure (standard accountability only).
See the full measure

Current strength

College, career or military ready above the similar-context average

92% +3 pts vs 89%

  • 92% is 3 percentage points above the 89% average among 362 districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this district.

Read the full rating context and placement

Crane ISD is rated D by TEA, scoring 69 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 80 average for 377 rated districts serving a similar economic context. It is down 16 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 349th of 377 rated districts serving a similar economic context (tied with 10 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this district serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Students crossing district lines
  11. Discipline and removal from class
  12. Community around the district
  13. 3 schools in this district
  14. Spending per student
  15. Teachers
  16. Where this district ranks best
  17. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Dated TEA notices for campuses in this district. They are shown separately from the district rating because they describe specific campuses, support programs and transfer eligibility.

Campuses identified for federal improvement support
1

2026 TEA list

Campuses on the final PEG transfer list
1

2026–27 school year

Share of campuses identified for improvement

This district
33.3%
Selected comparison
25.2%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting

+8.1 pts vs similar economic context

Share of campuses on the PEG list

This district
33.3%
Selected comparison
4.0%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting

+29.3 pts vs similar economic context
See the campuses and official reasons
Official improvement and Public Education Grant notices for campuses in Crane ISD
CampusNoticeOfficial status or reason
Crane ElemTSI + PEG transfer listTargeted Support and Improvement · Economically Disadvantaged, Continuously Enrolled
Final 2026-27 PEG list

Selected comparison percentages describe how common each dated campus notice is across reporting districts in that group. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes a campus's official status.

Sources: TEA's 2026 Schools Identified for Improvement and Public Education Grant program, fetched 24 August 2026. A PEG listing makes a student assigned to that campus eligible to request a transfer; it does not guarantee acceptance, available space or transportation.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this district has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageCrane ISD 8564767269 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 85 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26D6980.0 377 reporting81.7 1,019 reporting
2024-25C7278.4 377 reporting80.3 1,019 reporting
2023-24C7676.7 377 reporting78.7 1,017 reporting
2022-23D6477.4 377 reporting79.2 1,018 reporting
2021-22B8578.7 377 reporting80.6 1,017 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement70 C−9.2 vs similar economic context · 377 reporting
  • School Progress70 C−10.7 vs similar economic context · 377 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps68 D−9.1 vs similar economic context · 376 reporting
  • Academic Growth70 C−0.9 vs similar economic context · 377 reporting
  • Relative Performance69 D−11.3 vs similar economic context · 377 reporting
  • Crane ISD
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (377 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement70C10
School Progress70C10
Closing the Gaps68D2
Academic Growth70C10
Relative Performance69D1

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 2 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level63%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 reporting
  • Meets grade level37%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level59%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 374 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 374 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 374 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 371 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (377 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
97.0%+0.6 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 362 rated districts reporting
Five-Year
96.3%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 361 rated districts reporting
Six-Year
98.7%+2.2 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 359 rated districts reporting
Dropout Rate
0.3%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only districts in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported district rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
92.0%+3.0 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis district% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria92.0%89.0%+3.0 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 362 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course57.5%57.1%+0.4 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA11.0%24.2%−13.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%5.5%−5.5 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course45.2%32.6%+12.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting
Earned an industry-based certification6.8%44.0%−37.2 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate15.1%1.8%+13.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting
Earned an associate degree1.4%3.7%−2.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%2.5%−2.5 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%3.6%−3.6 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student5.5%9.2%−3.7 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces1.4%3.7%−2.3 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 365 rated districts reporting

Every row is a share of this district's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this district minus the average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported district percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only districts for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where district graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
82

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
34

41.5% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
46

56.1% of graduates

Not trackable
2

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This district
82
Selected comparison
415.9

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 274 rated districts reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This district
34
Selected comparison
177.8

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 274 rated districts reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This district
41.5%
Selected comparison
43.4%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 274 rated districts reporting

−1.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This district
56.1%
Selected comparison
53.1%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 274 rated districts reporting

+3.0 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This district
2.4%
Selected comparison
3.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 274 rated districts reporting

−1.1 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. ODESSA COLLEGE (003596)14
  2. U. OF TEXAS PERMIAN BASIN (009930)5

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this district serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,228
Economically disadvantaged
67.8%+1.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
29.6%+15.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
10.9%−7.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.5%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
18.2%+2.0 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Crane ISD

African American: 1.9%Hispanic: 85.3%White: 10.2%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.7%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 1.9%
  • Hispanic 85.3%
  • White 10.2%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.7%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 reporting for every category shown · 377 in full cohort

African American: 6.7%Hispanic: 47.6%White: 41.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 0.8%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 3.4%
  • African American 6.7%
  • Hispanic 47.6%
  • White 41.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 0.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 3.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,228
Economically disadvantaged students
833
Emergent bilingual students
363
Special education students
134

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,228 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 5 (0.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,228

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−5

Decrease · −0.4%

Change since 2021–22
+77

Increase · +6.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This district
1,228
Selected comparison
4,316.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Crane ISD
School yearStudents enrolledCrane ISDChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,151 First available year 4,410.9
2022–23 1,179 Increase of 28 (2.4%) 4,445.2
2023–24 1,211 Increase of 32 (2.7%) 4,419.3
2024–25 1,233 Increase of 22 (1.8%) 4,406.1
2025–26 1,228 Decrease of 5 (0.4%) 4,316.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting districts in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this district's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Students crossing district lines

How many students live in one public-school district and attend in another. These are movement counts, not a measure of family satisfaction or school quality.

Transfers in
21

Live in another district; attend here · 2025–26

Transfers out
26

Live here; attend in another public district or charter · 2025–26

Transfers in minus transfers out
−5

Arithmetic context only

Transfers in · 2025–26

This district
21
Selected comparison
291.5

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 354 rated districts reporting

Transfers out · 2025–26

This district
26
Selected comparison
693.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 362 rated districts reporting

Transfers in minus out · 2025–26

This district
−5
Selected comparison
−444

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 342 rated districts reporting

Official transfer totals by school year for Crane ISD
School yearTransfers inCrane ISDTransfers outCrane ISDIn minus outCrane ISDTransfers inselected comparison averageTransfers outselected comparison averageIn minus outselected comparison average
2021–22 Suppressed 12 Not available — 562 —
2022–23 13 22 −9 228.5 596 −411
2023–24 13 12 +1 246.7 647 −439
2024–25 22 25 −3 278.2 673.6 −429
2025–26 21 26 −5 291.5 693.1 −444

Selected comparison figures are average reported counts, not rates; group size and district enrollment affect them. They provide scale context and are not a performance judgment. This district's official totals do not change when the comparison does.

Source: TEA Student Transfer Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The totals are TEA's official district rows; this site does not add masked detail cells. A transfer records a mismatch between district of residence and public district or charter of attendance. It does not say why a family transferred, whether the move was optional, or whether either school is better.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
98

7.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
156

12.00 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,300

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This district
7.5%
Selected comparison
11.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 341 rated districts reporting

−4.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This district
12
Selected comparison
26

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated districts reporting

−14.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Crane ISD
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,187 37 3.1% 63 5.31 8.6% 18
2021–22 1,215 75 6.2% 116 9.55 11.8% 26.6
2022–23 1,241 70 5.6% 97 7.82 12.2% 28.5
2023–24 1,276 63 4.9% 83 6.50 11.9% 27.7
2024–25 1,300 98 7.5% 156 12.00 11.5% 26
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Crane ISD in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 98 7.5% 156 12.00 11.5% 26
In-school suspensions 80 6.2% 116 8.92 9.9% 19
Out-of-school suspensions 16 1.2% 21 1.62 3.9% 6.1
DAEP placements 17 1.3% 19 1.46 2.8% 3.4
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized districts can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this district's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Community around the district

A district serves a place as well as a roster. These Census estimates describe the resident community without treating its circumstances as an explanation or a verdict on students.

People living inside the district boundary
4,594

2024 Census estimate

Children ages 5–17
1,020

Living inside the boundary

Children ages 5–17 in families in poverty
149

14.6%

School-age child poverty rate
14.6%

149 of 1,020

Boundary population

This district
4,594
Selected comparison
27,788.2

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting

School-age population

This district
1,020
Selected comparison
4,931.6

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting

School-age population in poverty

This district
149
Selected comparison
972.1

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting

School-age child poverty rate

This district
14.6%
Selected comparison
19.5%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated districts reporting

−4.9 pts vs similar economic context

Population averages provide neutral scale context and can differ sharply across a region, county or the state. The poverty-rate comparison is the like-for-like percentage; none of these Census measures is treated as school performance.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, fetched 24 August 2026. These are modeled estimates for residents inside the geographic district, not the students enrolled by the district. A family's poverty status is context, never a school-quality measure.

3 schools in this district

Number of schools in the district

This district
3
Selected comparison
7.3

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting

The selected comparison is a neutral average district size. This district's school count and school-type mix remain its own facts.

Elementary
1
High School
1
Middle / Jr. High
1
Browse all 3 schoolsName, type, rating, score and enrollment
Schools in this district
SchoolTypeRatingScoreStudents
Crane HSHigh SchoolB82342
Crane MSMiddle / Jr. HighD65279
Crane ElemElementaryD63607

Spending per student

The selected txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference stay visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$12k$27k$42k20182020202220242025
  • Crane ISD
  • TEA peer group
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This district
$39,861
Selected comparison
$23,006

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting

+$16,855 vs similar economic context

This district spends $20,100 more per student than TEA's peer group, and $20,889 more per student than the state average.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearCrane ISDTEA peer groupTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$14,324$13,246$13,054$14,073 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting
2019$13,038$12,865$13,108$14,418 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting
2020$14,079$13,729$14,058$15,515 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting
2021$17,495$14,629$14,797$16,515 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting
2022$17,361$15,859$15,708$17,962 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting
2023$17,019$17,414$16,792$19,573 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting
2024$30,330$19,844$18,125$21,147 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting
2025$39,861$19,761$18,972$23,006 average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$73,610+$9,771 vs similar economic context
Teachers
74−214.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.6+3.5 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Crane ISD

Beginning: 8.4%1 to 5 years: 32%6 to 10 years: 16.7%11 to 20 years: 23.4%21 to 30 years: 14.5%Over 30 years: 5%
  • Beginning 8.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 32%
  • 6 to 10 years 16.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.5%
  • Over 30 years 5%

Selected comparison average For districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 reporting for every category shown · 377 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.3%1 to 5 years: 25.9%6 to 10 years: 17.5%11 to 20 years: 26.8%21 to 30 years: 16.9%Over 30 years: 5.7%
  • Beginning 7.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.9%
  • Over 30 years 5.7%

Teacher turnover over time

TEA reported a 28.1% teacher turnover rate in 2024–25.

Teacher turnover rate · 2024–25

This district
28.1%
Selected comparison
22.9%

average for districts with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 377 rated districts reporting

+5.2 pts vs similar economic context
District teacher turnover rate by school year for Crane ISD
School yearTeacher turnover rateCrane ISDAverage turnover rateselected comparison
2020–2119.2%17.9%
2021–2223.0%21.8%
2022–2336.9%25.3%
2023–2420.3%22.4%
2024–2528.1%22.9%

TEA defines this district rate as the share of teacher full-time equivalents from the prior fall who are not employed as teachers in the district in the current fall. That can include leaving the district or remaining in a different role; it is not a campus-level measure. The comparison average changes with the selected group; this district's reported rate does not.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this district ranks best

Out of 160 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 2of 44

    Earned a level I or level II certificate

    Region 15: San Angelo · of the 44 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 5of 45

    Per-student spending

    Region 15: San Angelo · of the 45 that report this measure

  • 9of 44

    Earned an associate degree

    Region 15: San Angelo · of the 44 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this district ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this district; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no district would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download this district as CSV · JSON · the whole dataset