Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Yantis School

Wood County · Region 07: Kilgore · 151 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
84/1002025-26
Change
+18 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+4.3 ptsvs 79.7 average · 2,009 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
682 of 2,009tied with 85 others
B84

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 71 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.7 average for 2,009 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
50%vs 45% avg · +5 pts
Masters
22%vs 19.9% avg · +2.1 pts

Among 1,742 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Overall score above the similar-context average

84 +4.3 pts vs 79.7

  • 84 is 4.3 points above the 79.7 average among 2,009 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Yantis School is rated B by TEA, scoring 84 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.7 average for 2,009 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 18 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 682nd of 2,009 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 85 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageYantis School 6679808384 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 71 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8479.7 2,009 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8379.4 1,987 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8077.5 1,972 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7978.1 1,940 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6682.2 1,919 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement84 B+6.7 vs similar economic context · 1,901 reporting
  • School Progress86 B+5.4 vs similar economic context · 1,894 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps80 B+3.1 vs similar economic context · 1,877 reporting
  • Academic Growth62 D−11.7 vs similar economic context · 1,835 reporting
  • Relative Performance86 B+7.0 vs similar economic context · 1,894 reporting
  • Yantis School
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,009 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement84B6
School Progress86B4
Closing the Gaps80B10
Academic Growth62D8
Relative Performance86B4

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 4 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (86), so Student Achievement (84) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 86.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level74%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,901 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,901 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,901 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,898 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,898 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,898 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,742 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,742 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,742 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 921 reporting
  • Meets grade level37%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 921 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 921 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,009 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
94.7%+1.1 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 447 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
97.1%+3.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 443 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
96.4%+4.0 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 443 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 449 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
94.0%+6.3 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria94.0%87.7%+6.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 481 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course44.4%59.5%−15.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA38.9%27.4%+11.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%11.1%−11.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course44.4%34.0%+10.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification77.8%37.9%+39.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.9%−1.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%7.4%−7.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%3.7%−3.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%3.3%−3.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student27.8%8.0%+19.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces0.0%3.2%−3.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
34

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
10

29.4% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
23

67.6% of graduates

Not trackable
1

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
34
Selected comparison
241.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
10
Selected comparison
106.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
29.4%
Selected comparison
43.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated schools reporting

−14.5 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
67.6%
Selected comparison
50.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated schools reporting

+16.8 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
2.9%
Selected comparison
5.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 389 rated schools reporting

−2.5 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. EAST TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY (003565)5

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
151
Economically disadvantaged
66.2%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
11.9%−6.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.2%−3.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.4%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
24.7%+7.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Yantis School

Hispanic: 35.1%White: 58.3%American Indian: 1.3%Two or More Races: 5.3%
  • Hispanic 35.1%
  • White 58.3%
  • American Indian 1.3%
  • Two or More Races 5.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,009 reporting for every category shown · 2,009 in full cohort

African American: 11.7%Hispanic: 53%White: 29%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 11.7%
  • Hispanic 53%
  • White 29%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
151
Economically disadvantaged students
100
Emergent bilingual students
18
Special education students
23

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
29
Students in TEA mobility denominator
168
TEA-published mobility rate
17.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 151 students in 2025–26, an increase of 1 (0.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
151

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+1

Increase · +0.7%

Change since 2021–22
−39

Decrease · −20.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
151
Selected comparison
629.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,975 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Yantis School
School yearStudents enrolledYantis SchoolChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 190 First available year 645.2
2022–23 195 Increase of 5 (2.6%) 651.1
2023–24 175 Decrease of 20 (10.3%) 648.8
2024–25 150 Decrease of 25 (14.3%) 645
2025–26 151 Increase of 1 (0.7%) 629.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
35

20.8% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
64

38.10 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
168

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
20.8%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,549 rated schools reporting

+7.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
38.1
Selected comparison
30.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,656 rated schools reporting

+7.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Yantis School
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 218 26 11.9% 39 17.89 9.7% 19.3
2021–22 217 Suppressed — 10 4.61 — 30.4
2022–23 210 32 15.2% 51 24.29 13.4% 32.3
2023–24 178 27 15.2% 45 25.28 13.2% 31.9
2024–25 168 35 20.8% 64 38.10 12.9% 30.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Yantis School in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 35 20.8% 64 38.10 12.9% 30.5
In-school suspensions 29 17.3% 44 26.19 11.5% 23.1
Out-of-school suspensions 10 6.0% 14 8.33 7.2% 10.7
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$14k$21k20182020202220242025
  • Yantis School
  • Parent district: Yantis ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$12,126
Selected comparison
$12,743

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,985 rated schools reporting

−$617 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $12,126 per student for this campus, $19,891 per student for its parent district, Yantis ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearYantis SchoolParent district: Yantis ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,550$10,075$13,054$7,965 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,850 rated schools reporting
2019$7,961$10,577$13,108$8,121 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,865 rated schools reporting
2020$7,440$12,257$14,058$8,693 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,884 rated schools reporting
2021$7,411$10,932$14,797$9,164 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 rated schools reporting
2022$9,068$13,830$15,708$10,464 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,918 rated schools reporting
2023$9,606$13,610$16,792$11,191 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,941 rated schools reporting
2024$9,629$16,316$18,125$12,079 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,969 rated schools reporting
2025$12,126$19,891$18,972$12,743 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,985 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,571−$1,909 vs similar economic context
Teachers
15−28.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
10.1−3.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Yantis School

Beginning: 6%1 to 5 years: 30.9%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 38.3%21 to 30 years: 6%
  • Beginning 6%
  • 1 to 5 years 30.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 38.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,009 reporting for every category shown · 2,009 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.3%1 to 5 years: 26.5%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 28%21 to 30 years: 15.7%Over 30 years: 4%
  • Beginning 6.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 28%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.7%
  • Over 30 years 4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Yantis School in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classYantis School · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 613.217.8
Secondary English7.915.1
Secondary languages other than English9.617.7
Secondary math8.116
Secondary science917.4
Secondary social studies5.417.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 181 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 101

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Region 07: Kilgore · of the 101 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 3of 17

    Per-student spending

    Wood County · of the 17 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

11 measures

  • 4of 16

    Math — Approaches

    Wood County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 16

    School Progress

    Wood County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 16

    Relative Performance

    Wood County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 16

    Math — Masters

    Wood County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 6of 17

    Overall score

    Wood County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 6of 16

    Closing the Gaps

    Wood County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 7of 16

    Student Achievement

    Wood County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 9of 16

    Reading — Meets

    Wood County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 15

    Science — Meets

    Wood County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 15

    Science — Masters

    Wood County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 10of 15

    Science — Approaches

    Wood County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 250905001.