+5.4 ptsvs 77.6 average · 2,201 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
674 of 2,201tied with 79 others
Score vs region
+3.0 ptsvs 80 average · 352 rated schools in Region 07: Kilgore
Region 07: Kilgore placement
157 of 352tied with 10 others
Score vs county
+0.6 ptsvs 82.4 average · 59 rated schools in Smith County
Smith County placement
36 of 59among reporting schools
Score vs similar-size group
+2.2 ptsvs 80.8 average · 2,033 similarly sized rated schools
Similar size placement
903 of 2,033tied with 62 others
Score vs state
+1.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 7,646 rated Texas schools
Texas placement
3,601 of 7,646tied with 244 others
B83
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 87 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.6 average for 2,201 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 80 average for 352 rated schools in Region 07: Kilgore.The current score is above the 82.4 average for 59 rated schools in Smith County.The current score is above the 80.8 average for 2,033 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
45%vs 42.2% avg · +2.8 pts
Masters
19%vs 16.5% avg · +2.5 pts
Among 2,036 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Winona MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 83 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.6 average for 2,201 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 674th of 2,201 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 79 others).
Winona MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 83 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80 average for 352 rated schools in Region 07: Kilgore. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 157th of 352 rated schools in Region 07: Kilgore (tied with 10 others).
Winona MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 83 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.4 average for 59 rated schools in Smith County. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 36th of 59 rated schools in Smith County.
Winona MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 83 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.8 average for 2,033 similarly sized rated schools. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 903rd of 2,033 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 62 others).
Winona MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 83 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 87 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement76 C+3.6 vs similar economic context · 2,036 reporting
School Progress86 B+7.1 vs similar economic context · 2,029 reporting
Closing the Gaps77 C+2.2 vs similar economic context · 2,015 reporting
Academic Growth81 B+8.8 vs similar economic context · 1,982 reporting
Relative Performance86 B+8.8 vs similar economic context · 2,029 reporting
Winona MS
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,201 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
76
C
4
School Progress
86
B
4
Closing the Gaps
77
C
3
Academic Growth
81
B
9
Relative Performance
86
B
4
Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 3 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (86), so
Student Achievement (76) is published above but does not enter the overall
score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 86.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level72%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,036 reporting
Meets grade level45%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,036 reporting
Masters grade level19%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,036 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level79%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,034 reporting
Meets grade level60%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,034 reporting
Masters grade level26%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,034 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level66%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,024 reporting
Meets grade level32%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,024 reporting
Masters grade level12%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,024 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level81%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,881 reporting
Meets grade level52%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,881 reporting
Masters grade level23%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,881 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
Approaches grade level62%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 812 reporting
Meets grade level29%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 812 reporting
Masters grade level11%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 812 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,201 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
259
Economically disadvantaged
80.3%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
17.8%−11.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
25.9%+7.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.6%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
25.7%+5.1 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Winona MS
African American 22.4%
Hispanic 40.5%
White 33.2%
Asian 0.4%
Two or More Races 3.5%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,201 reporting for every category shown · 2,201 in full cohort
African American 14%
Hispanic 68%
White 13.3%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1.7%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 2.6%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 07: Kilgore · 352 reporting for every category shown · 352 in full cohort
African American 13.6%
Hispanic 28.4%
White 52.2%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 0.8%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 4.7%
Selected comparison averageFor Smith County · 59 reporting for every category shown · 59 in full cohort
African American 17.9%
Hispanic 35.7%
White 40.6%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1.3%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 4.2%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 2,033 reporting for every category shown · 2,033 in full cohort
African American 10.1%
Hispanic 51.2%
White 33.6%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1.6%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.1%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
African American 11.5%
Hispanic 52.6%
White 27.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
259
Economically disadvantaged students
208
Emergent bilingual students
46
Special education students
67
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
66
Students in TEA mobility denominator
289
TEA-published mobility rate
22.8%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 259 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 6 (2.3%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
259
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
−6
Decrease · −2.3%
Change since 2021–22
+34
Increase · +15.1%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
259
Selected comparison
628.8
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,171 rated schools reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Winona MS
School year
Students enrolledWinona MS
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
225
First available year
653.1
2022–23
251
Increase of 26 (11.6%)
656.1
2023–24
263
Increase of 12 (4.8%)
650.3
2024–25
265
Increase of 2 (0.8%)
647.7
2025–26
259
Decrease of 6 (2.3%)
628.8
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
77
26.6% of cumulative year-end enrollment
Disciplinary actions
159
55.02 per 100 students
Cumulative year-end enrollment
289
2024–25
Share of students · 2024–25
This school
26.6%
Selected comparison
13.3%
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 rated schools reporting
+13.3 pts vs similar economic context
Actions per 100 students · 2024–25
This school
55.02
Selected comparison
32.3
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,725 rated schools reporting
+22.7 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Winona MS
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
252
47
18.6%
93
36.90
8.4%
16.7
2021–22
262
65
24.8%
141
53.82
12.9%
30.9
2022–23
277
72
26.0%
126
45.49
13.7%
34
2023–24
296
77
26.0%
152
51.35
13.7%
34
2024–25
289
77
26.6%
159
55.02
13.3%
32.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Winona MS in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
77
26.6%
159
55.02
13.3%
32.3
In-school suspensions
67
23.2%
108
37.37
11.7%
23.4
Out-of-school suspensions
23
8.0%
31
10.73
8.2%
13
DAEP placements
18
6.2%
20
6.92
5.4%
6.5
Mandatory DAEP placements
Suppressed
—
10
3.46
—
4.5
Discretionary DAEP placements
Suppressed
—
10
3.46
—
4
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Winona MS
Parent district: Winona ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$11,758
Selected comparison
$13,064
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,187 rated schools reporting
−$1,306 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $11,758 per student for this campus, $25,187 per student for its parent district, Winona ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Winona MS
Parent district: Winona ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$7,554
$12,547
$13,054
$8,135
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,069 rated schools reporting
2019
$7,822
$14,741
$13,108
$8,262
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,091 rated schools reporting
2020
$10,659
$15,446
$14,058
$8,770
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,107 rated schools reporting
2021
$10,969
$15,728
$14,797
$9,409
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,118 rated schools reporting
2022
$11,707
$16,227
$15,708
$10,841
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,136 rated schools reporting
2023
$10,599
$18,555
$16,792
$11,347
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,156 rated schools reporting
2024
$12,344
$25,619
$18,125
$12,292
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,172 rated schools reporting
2025
$11,758
$25,187
$18,972
$13,064
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,187 rated schools reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$65,777−$1,330 vs similar economic context
Teachers
26−17.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
9.9−4.4 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Winona MS
Beginning 2.3%
1 to 5 years 15.7%
6 to 10 years 19.5%
11 to 20 years 33%
21 to 30 years 18.8%
Over 30 years 11.1%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,201 reporting for every category shown · 2,201 in full cohort
Beginning 6.8%
1 to 5 years 27.7%
6 to 10 years 19%
11 to 20 years 27.1%
21 to 30 years 15%
Over 30 years 3.6%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 07: Kilgore · 352 reporting for every category shown · 352 in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 24.6%
6 to 10 years 17.7%
11 to 20 years 28%
21 to 30 years 17.3%
Over 30 years 6%
Selected comparison averageFor Smith County · 59 reporting for every category shown · 59 in full cohort
Beginning 7.5%
1 to 5 years 28%
6 to 10 years 18.3%
11 to 20 years 27%
21 to 30 years 15.3%
Over 30 years 3.8%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 2,033 reporting for every category shown · 2,033 in full cohort
Beginning 6.5%
1 to 5 years 24.6%
6 to 10 years 18%
11 to 20 years 28.6%
21 to 30 years 17.2%
Over 30 years 4.6%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 25.6%
6 to 10 years 19.2%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 15.9%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Winona MS in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classWinona MS · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 6
13.2
17.7
Secondary English
16.1
15.3
Secondary math
14.4
16.6
Secondary science
14
17.8
Secondary social studies
13.9
17.8
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 212910041.